We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my stay 12-16 July,2014” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Trianon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Trianon Hotel to your Saves list
Trianon Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Willem Brouwersstraat 3-7, 1071 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #329 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“my stay 12-16 July,2014”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The location is very good, very close to the main museums and to the city centre. Rooms are quite narrow but essential. Definitely, value for money. What I liked best: location, what I liked least: breakfast.



  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    59
    131
    100
    207
See reviews for
37
147
48
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
189 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is one terrible hotel…if it can be called one. The only positive thing about this place is the location since it is very close to the Van Gogh Museum, Museumplein and the Rijksmuseum and the tram stop.

Tiny rooms (and that is not the issue) with no A/C or even a fan. Rooms need cleaning and well as bathrooms. Mattresses are quite old and really soft and deformed. This place does not have a cafeteria and just vending machines although there are cafeterias and a supermarket very close by.

Service is terrible…you really are just a number here since they know the next tourist is coming right behind you.

I would stay away if I were you.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

For me and my friends going to Amsterdam on a budget, this hotel was perfect for what we needed. It offers breakfast included in the price and considering it is fairly cheap to book, we were very impressed. The room itself was an adequate size and suitable for us as we planned to sightsee the majority of our trip. The staff too were friendly and advised us on what was popular when it came to nightlife. Our bathroom however had a large hole in one of the internal walls and the walls of the room are very thin so you can hear EVERYTHING in the neighbouring rooms. Ultimately, it is perfect if you plan to just sleep there however it is fairly dirty.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This is probably one of the worst hotels that I've ever been to, and I've been to some pretty bad ones. Don't get me wrong, my expectations were really low after I had read some of the reviews here so I was prepared for the worst, but still I was amazed by the extremely low standard. I and my parents had (unfortunately) booked a stay of four nights in a triple bed room at Trianon. When we there was a huge scaffolding surrounding the whole hotel and if it hadn't been for the characteristic entrance we would have missed it.

The reception was actually pretty nice, but don't let this fool you, it's merely a facade. After climbing the extremely steep stairs with loads of luggage (there was an elevator, but none of us dared use it). At last we got to our room, and let me put it like this, either the hotel managers have some pretty awesome photo techniques, or the photos on the website were fabricated/taken from an other website. I'd go for the latter one. Our triple room were more like a 0,5 room with three beds cramed into it. You literarily had do crawl over at least one bed to get to any of the two others (there were no space inbetween the beds). The only "free" space in the room were just large enough to stack your luggage on, the hope of being able to move freely around the room was since long gone.

Except for the fact that you felt like you were living in your mothers old wardrobe, the room was pretty scruffy, and you had no view whatsoever thanks to the scaffolding outside. There was no air condition in the room, so if you can't afford a tropical vacation but still want to experience the heat, I highly recommend this. If you don't feel like living in a miniature sauna when staying in Amsterdam, you might consider choosing an other alternative.

We hadn't paid for any breakfast, but they insisted we had, so we didn't argue with that. I'm sincerely happy that we hadn't paid for it, since it wouldn't had been worth the money. They called it a breakfast buffet, but that's an insult to the word buffet, so I will call it just breakfast. It was served in the Chinese restaurant next door (which also provided the whole hotel with a pleasant smell of fried noodles), it consisted of a couple of bread slices, some yogurt, tinned fruit, corn flakes, egg and juice or coffee.

The personnel didn't speak much English and even though they were pretty polite and nice, they didn't really get what we were saying. BUT we got a free map, which was nice I suppose. There was WiFi, but only in the reception, and it only worked sometimes. And oh yes, to end the whole trip we also found bed bugs in the room during the last night. If you already have booked this hotel, I do hope that you paid for some sort of right to cancelation, otherwise I do feel sorry for you. Only positive thing is that the hotel is very close to the city, and Museumplein.

Summary: It was terrible.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We were asked to stay here after I had a booking at Inner Hotel Amsterdam, they were overbooked (?) and moved us to Trianon on arrival (no email etc to warn us).

When we arrived (at the time I had specified in my booking), housekeeping was in full effect with dirty laundry littered all over the corridors (not a welcoming sight). We got offered a room on the third floor. The lift was used by housekeeping, so we used the very steep stairs.

Room was a tiny twin room with a very small bathroom (with a sort of sit-bath instead of shower). There were ongoing noisy building works with scaffolding in front of the window, and a builder on the balcony straight in front of the room.

Consequently, we asked to change rooms. The next room we were offered was a small double, which stank of frying fat. The reason was obvious: the vents from the Chinese restaurant downstairs were just outside the window.

We are not fussy travellers, but this hotel was unclean, not like the descriptions on the booking website at all, and the service was very unhelpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

If you are OK with the absolute bare minimum in accommodations, book this hostel (NOT hotel). I shared a cramped room with 9 other people with barely enough room to walk around the beds, 1 shared bathroom with 1 shower, 1 toilet, etc.. Bathroom was COVERED in mold and mildew and the sheets smelled like they had never been washed. Breakfast consisted of corn flakes, powdered milk, and bread (no toaster). The people at the concierge desk were unhelpful and sometimes flat out rude. If you get back to the hostel after 1 AM the front door will be locked and you have to cross your fingers that the person at the front desk isn't asleep or hasn't wandered off. I had to wait outside for almost 30 minutes one night. The "free-wifi" is terrible and does not extend past the lobby. The ONLY positive is the location, right across the street from the Museumplein in the center of the museum quarter.

Room Tip: Room 405 is actually on the fifth floor up the steepest set of stairs I have ever seen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We just returned from Amsterdam after a long weekend on a stag do ! The hotel was perfect for this type of trip , cheap , close to tram line , nice big park opposite to relax in ! Certainly helped with the hangover !! The room had two bunks and two singles (6 people ) and was perfect . Yes the room/hotel is dated but we were only interested in getting our heads down for the night. Bathroom dated and untidy but it was fine enough to shower in and get out and about. Overall a great place to stay if your only interested in sleeping/showering and getting out and about .

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor and had a little balcony it enabled us to have a crafty smoke ! Alt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#133 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 568 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#221 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Side Inn Hotel
#266 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 1,346 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#207 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 412 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#237 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trianon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trianon Hotel

Address: Jan Willem Brouwersstraat 3-7, 1071 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #329 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Trianon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Trianon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trianon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.