We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and breakfast were decent...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Trianon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Trianon Hotel to your Saves list
Trianon Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Willem Brouwersstraat 3-7, 1071 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #322 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Location and breakfast were decent...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The room was pretty poor though. Literally tiny, with a tinier bathroom which barely accommodated a shower. Having said that we were backpacking and didn't spend much time there, so it served its purpose. The location is excellent by the way if you are considering spending a lot of time around Museumplein (Reich Museum, Van Gogh Museum, etc are all within 10 mins walk), and if you want to go back into town to nearer central station its about a 15 minute tram ride. The breakfast was included and was among the better breakfast buffets we had on our tour of Europe, so worth it on that front too.

Ultimately you get what you pay for and if you're not overly fussy then this place is fine. Wouldn't recommend a non-a/c room in July again though!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    55
    123
    93
    190
See reviews for
33
139
46
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portugal
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We think this hotel must be closed!

We stayed in this dump in March, but never forget the manager: a small oriental man like the reviews said...A good nickname to a man who looks like joking all the time with travelers.

We had a problem in our room: the wc was not working, so this man shows up and pressed the button and aparently all its ok, but not! Was extremely dificult to use those wc!

About BED BUGS: Yes, we also been bitten by bedbugs!

The balcony had waste in the floor!The towels were dirty!

So, its incredible how this hotel still working and the booking.com still cheating people - selling rooms in this type of hotel!

Room Tip: Don't make a reservation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

A friend and I recently stayed at this hotel. The room and bathroom were small and not the cleanest. There was a ton of mold in the bathroom as well. But the biggest problem was that there were bed bugs! My friend got bit so many times, it was awful! When I mentioned it to the hotel staff, they said that they were not aware. I don't believe it. The only good thing about the hotel is the location. I never complain about hotels, but the bed bugs are a HUGE problem.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Our double room, #319, was tiny with no clearance around the bed which filled the room. Their web site shows a much larger room with a double bed with proper clearance around it and an attractive wood wall behind the bed. This larger room was obviously room #302 as indicated on the drawing on the inside of the entry door. When we complained about the room size we were told we had the largest room. The desk clerk suggested we leave our suitcases in their luggage room. This was impossible to do, because there was no dresser or shelves to store clothing for every day use.

There was a large sink in the room that jutted into the small entry way to the room, which obviously could not be placed in the tiny bathroom which had a half-sized tub. The bathroom did not have a towel rack, it had been torn away and the rod and tile were missing.

Bed sheets were never changed during our five nights there (6/02 to 6/06, 2012). Also, there was no telephone in the room. We were told by the desk clerk that all the phones had been removed. There was also an unpleasant odor in the room. The whole atmosphere was dirty and dingy.

Their web site was totally misleading and false.

Very Important: the exit stair in the corridor was completely unsafe; it was a winding stair with high steps making it unsafe for emergency evacuation. Also, there were no fire doors.

This hotel is a complete failure--avoid it at all costs!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Be warned and do not stay in this hotel. Do not be tempted by central location or cheap rates if you value your health and a modicum of comfort. We were bitten by bed bugs. We did not dare walk on the carpet in bare feet. We had to demand that the toilet be cleaned again but it was all so stained it would need to be replaced. Sheets, even after laundry, had large dark stains on them. We have had no response from the Manager to our complaints. Booking.com are attempting to follow this up. I have concerns that this hotel continues to be advertised on a number of travel sites. I will be reporting the hotel to Environmental Health. Our medical treatment for the bites is on-going. Do NOT stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I stayed Trianon Hotel this weekend. I choosed this hotel because there is not bad review on the other web site.(Booking.com) and I wanted to stay somewhere near the tram station and easy to go everywhere. I should have checked this web site as well... because many people complain about bedbug!! and I am going to say the same thing now.I have been bitten more than 150 places over my body! This hotel is really awful!! It's impossible to say I could have perfect holiday in Amsterdam....because of this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trianon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trianon Hotel

Address: Jan Willem Brouwersstraat 3-7, 1071 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #322 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Trianon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Trianon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trianon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.