We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good quality, quantity, and diversity” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SUMO Sushi & Grill Restaurant

SUMO Sushi & Grill Restaurant
Korte Leidsedwarsstraat 51, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020 42 35 131
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #371 of 2,445 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very good quality, quantity, and diversity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We are frequent sushi eaters, but tend to avoid sushi in Europe because of the prices. Sumo solves that problem. For 26 euro, you get all you can eat of nice quality sushi and a bunch of other Japanese dishes. Ordering is a bit complicated, but once you figure it out you can sit back and enjoy. This will become a regular part of our Amsterdam dining.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    120
    29
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delicious and not expensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Very good Japanese restaurant in the heart of Amsterdam,great value for your money functioning on All You Can Eat principle.The service is remarkably fast and very friendly.For those of you who drink beer my advice is to take Asahi beer with your sushi and rolls.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great atmosphere and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is really my first restaurant review but I have ate here 3 times already and always had great food at good value

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Went here last night for the all you can eat deal expecting it to be ok, it was literally stunning, fast service A-grade sushi, amazing range of dishes, lovely atmosphere, great location, ticked every box! Loved every minute of it. It's an Amsterdam must do.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sumo - loosen your belts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Yes our eyes WERE bigger than our stomachs - and we were tempted by the "all you can eat" sign! You could chose 5 dishes per round, and their were 6 rounds - but none of our group could manage the full 30 dishes, and believe me we tried!
Service was excellent, good quality food, and lovely decor & atmosphere made for a very enjoyable dining experience.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SUMO Sushi & Grill Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to SUMO Sushi & Grill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SUMO Sushi & Grill Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.