We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you need from budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam to your Saves list
TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 44, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Acro Hotel Amsterdam) (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #222 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“All you need from budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

I booked the flights to Amsterdam but then panicked when looking at which hotels to stay in. All the reviews for the budget hotels mentioned dirty rooms- which is an absolute no no for me. I am so thankful we found Hotel Acro. It is a budget hotel so is very basic. The rooms are very small- smallest I have seen. However the plan for this trip was to be out and about- not staying in our room, hence the budget hotel. The stairs are very steep but this is common in Amsterdam. The main thing for me was the room was clean. The room had all we needed. The staff were very helpful and on arrival they gave us a map which was used all weekend. The hotel is in a good location- the tram system in Amsterdam is fantastic but you can walk everywhere too from the hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    257
    188
    62
    21
See reviews for
91
236
34
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

The Acro hotel is very well located. The Van Gogh's
museum is just around the corner.
The neighbourhood is safe and silent. There are a lot of
restaurants and fancy shops one block up the hotel.

The rooms are tight, but they are very clean, well
decorated and cousy.
The breakfast is very good with good options as fruits,
breads, juices and cheeses.

The staff is very helpful, with a good english and can
give you information about the transportation, food and
culture as well.

I've been there with my wife and was a great stay.

P.S.: The lift without inner door is a pitoresque point. Very interesting.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

Great for a short stay, clean, warm and friendly..loads of stairs and very small lift.
Rooms are a little small but got what you need in them, it was only a short break but I wouldn't want to stay there for a week. breakfast was ok, not cooked breakfast but it was edible, meats, cheeses, cereal, toast and hard boiled eggs with tea/coffee/juice. Value for money and near tram stop to get into the centre

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

Stayed here for four nights in November. Our room was small but it was fine. Very very clean, cleaners would come in every day. Weather was freezing however the room was always really warm. Breakfast was good, just what you need and would expect. Close the the museums and a very posh shopping street, Gucci, Louis Vuitton etc. Will definately be staying here again. Dont let the reviews about small rooms put you off. Yes we have a few bruises from stepping over the corner of the bed but its definately value for money compared to some other hotels. There was a double bed and a seperate dressing area if you like with a dressing table, chairs and enough room for large suitcases and to move about comfortably. There is a TV in the room but we never even bothered to swtich it on. Hair dryer in the bathroom so dont waste your suitcase space taking one!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

Near to the Van Gogh museum Rijksmuseum, Vondespark and Liedesplein and well out of the dodgy part of town (though still within walking distance of a coffeeshop should you fancy some cannabis) the Acro is a nice enough hotel in an old Amsterdam 5 story building. The building is very charming though be careful of the bannisters on the stairs as I managed to get a nasty splinter one night.

Rooms are rather small though very clean and comfortable enough. The bathrooms in some rooms are extremely small (specifically room 202, though the bathrooms in 204 and 209 were of a decent size). I'm a big guy and I had to shave with the bathroom door open so that I could fit in front of the sink. 3 of our party managed to bump our heads on the TV shelves in our rooms though as were out most of the day small room size wasn't a big problem.

It's a budget hotel in Amsterdam so obviously prone to lively groups of young people holidaying together. The sound proofing isn't great and the beds can be a little creaky so not exactly the place for a romantic getaway.

Breakfast is self service in the normal Dutch style and what it lacked in choice it made up for in quantity and quality.

All the staff except one were extremely friendly and the only grumpy one was a deadpan comedic genius and still helpful enough. I was a bit disappointed we didn't see him again after the first day.

Would definitely stay here again if in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

Good sized room but all a bit shabby. Van gogh museum really close which was great. Best thing was the price and the included breakfast, although they ran out of tea and coffee due to the scrum on Sunday morning. Friendly reception staff just generally a bit run down.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

This hotel is converted from an older building on a street of row houses, likely from the 19th century (newer for Amsterdam). It is just south of the system of semi-circular canals that make up the old core of Amsterdam, and is practically next door to the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum. I really liked the location this hotel. It is on a tree-lined street that is very quite, mostly residential, and has very little traffic. It feels like Brooklyn Heights or the older portions of the Upper East Side.

And yet as soon as you start working north from this area, you begin to enter the core areas of the old city. The Leidesplein area, which is thick with bars, restaurants, and shops is basically a couple of blocks away, but none of its commotion is evident from this hotel's quiet street. Continue north the Leidesplein to explore the rest of Amsterdam.

The downsides of this hotel also stem to the fact that it's an older building. Rooms are quite small. My double was about 2 meters / 7 feet wide, leaving about 45 cm / 18 inches to walk by the double bed. Rooms also don't have great sound separation, so you should talk to your neighbors and kindly ask them to refrain from sex during your stay. But these little rooms are clean and have a modern minimalist design which I liked. And the free Wi-Fi internet, a great benefit, was fast and reliable. I made calls to the US on Skype using the free internet connection and it worked fine.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Museumzicht
Hotel Museumzicht
#162 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#56 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 928 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#198 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#74 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 609 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#174 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 560 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
#240 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 44, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Acro Hotel Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acro hotel has 65 rooms, all with shower, toilet, TV, hairdryer and free wireless Internet. Centrally located in the Museum district with the Van Gogh museum, Rijksmuseum & Stedelijk Museum just around the corner. Within walking distance of all major tourist attractions like the Leidsplein (Leidsesquare) with its many bars and restaurants, the Holland casino and the famous P.C. Hoofstraat with its top designer shops. The Albert Cuyp open air market is less than 10 minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Acro Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.