We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam to your Saves list
TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 44, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Acro Hotel Amsterdam)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #215 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Doncaster
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

After reading the mixed reviews I wasn't expecting a lot from this hotel but was pleasantly surprised. Yes The stairs in the hotel are steep and some of the rooms are small but its what you expect from a typical Dutch place. every place I visited had small rooms steep stairs. There is a lift which worked fine. Our room was clean and quiet and the housekeeping was done to a high standard. Yes the beds were small but comfortable with clean bedding. The bathroom was a good size and had everything we needed. Breakfast was good too, I do not know what people expect reading the other reviews. selection of cereal, toast, boiled eggs, meat and cheese. What more do you need? Staff were friendly and helpful. One thing I learnt about Amsterdam if you put effort in with the locals they make effort with you. The location of this hotel is perfect. I would stay again.

Room Tip: 310 was a nice twin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    227
    167
    56
    17
See reviews for
81
205
34
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The room we booked was a room for four people. There was no air conditioning and there was only one small window that opened. Absolutely zero air flow. There was a very strong odor of sewage in the room. Not sure if there was an issue in the hotel and the system had backed up or if was something else. Steep entry stairs with your 22KG. bag and the elevator starts on the 2nd floor plus the "lift" can hold 3 people and we waited for two trips till we could fit from the 3rd floor. The hotel and it’s appearance is very dirty. From the lobby to the elevator to the carpets throughout the hotel and in the stair wells. Then there were the impossible stairs to navigate that were ridiculously steep. There is no way these stairs meet code. The information on the print outs that we received made the hotel look much nicer then is actually was as well as the amenities. In addition, the information was very outdated and not accurate. I would not recommend this hotel and when we asked at the front desk, they said it was a 2.5 stars hotel.

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

As far as location goes, this hotel couldn't be better. It is just across the road from the Museumplein, where the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh and Stedelijk Museum can all be found. It is also a short walk to the canal, restaurants, shops and parks. However, the hotel itself is rather disappointing. Having stayed here several times I have sadly watched its decline over the last few years and we have decided to look for an alternative hotel next year. Despite being regular visitors, the staff fail to remember us and instead appear completely uninterested in their guests, often being very grumpy and unapproachable. We were not made to feel particularly welcome, instead we felt like we were an inconvenience to them, and a bit of a hassle. This is a shame as the hotel has great potential and we have certainly had some enjoyable trips in the past.

The hotel was refurbished about 3 years ago, but the decor in the reception and hallway is beginning to look a little tired. Carpets and walls are all black, so getting around is pretty difficult and potentially hazardous on the steep stairs. The rooms that we have stayed in have certainly been on the small side - but perfectly adequate if you do not plan to spend much time in your room. Shower rooms are equally small and narrow. Rooms are generally very clean, however our shower had clearly not been cleaned on arrival. Beds are made every day, and clean towels every day too which is lovely. Sadly there are no hooks at all, so there is nowhere to hang up wet towels, we just hooked ours over the door or on the back of the chair - not ideal.

The breakfast buffet is simple and has everything we would want, but anyone looking for a cooked breakfast will be very disappointed. However there is a good selection of bread, jams and spread and some nice cheese and ham slices too. Getting down to the breakfast room is always an adventure, stairs are very steep and there is no lift. It is always best to go down for breakfast early as it can get very crowded, especially when large groups of students etc are staying.

Overall this is an adequate place to stay, but we have been sadly disappointed on this visit. Staff really need to improve their customer service and it would be nice if they looked like they enjoyed their job.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Don't expect air con, don't expect a fridge, don't expect coffee/tea facilities in your room. This really is a two star hotel and to be honest i'd rate it one star. The staff were very friendly. As you enter the hotel you are faced with an extremely steep flight of stairs ,so, if you're disabled or unable to climb stairs then forget this hotel. The same is said for the stairs within the hotel itself as they are extremely steep. Fortunately there is a lift BUT, it does not serve the breakfast room which is on the ground floor, so, if you're having breakfast you HAVE to tackle the steps. The website for this hotel does paint a very glossy picture, leaving you wondering where the two stars apply. This is discovered once you enter reception and then your room. If you are unfortunate, like us, to have noisy neighbours then the whole experience is made worse. This hotel is best catered for young people who aren't fussed about comfort. As we entered the hotel we had to side step the people smoking on the steps which was a regular occurrence ,so much so, that they could make it a feature ! :) If you're anywhere above 5ft then expect to be extremely cramped when on the loo, theres a facing wall that loves to hit your knees. The staff were friendly though. Our first room, a family room (number 303) was so hot !!...and there was just one small window that could be opened but gave no relief at all. I did mention this and the next day they moved us to another family room (number 109) which had a balcony and doors that opened thankfully. Breakfast consists of a buffet of cereals, continental meats and two types of sliced cheese and various spreads. In addition there is ample bread for toast making and lots of hard boiled eggs. Would be nice to have seen some sausages and alternate options for eggs but this is certainly a no frills hotel where they do not cook anything(except boiling hard boiled eggs) there is also a coffee machine and fruit juice type drinks. This is a two star hotel so expect two star facilities. Just would have been nice to have air con at the very least. Location is fantastic though, right there in the middle of the museum quarter with easy access to trams.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I dont think it lives up to the glitz of its website. Rooms very small but usable, reception staff quite helpful and a nice little bar area. The Wi Fi is not free as stated above and the breakfast was really disappointing. The upside is that its located in a nice quite street unfortunately some noisey American guests did not realise that others might be trying to sleep st 3.30 am. Great location for the museums snd tram stop 2 mins away.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Near museums, nite life, bus and trams. Easy to get to from airport. But, hotel is older, steep stairs, hot! Not for older or those that will have a hard time carrying bags up a narrow, dark, stairs. There is a lift but you have to climb stairs to get there. Can't open window. Smallest room we've seen. Also, since this is a budget hotel, there are a lot of young party guys that get noisy. Wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, and found it very nice. It's in a great location right next to the museums and a tram stop at the end of the road.
The rooms were snug, a little small but manageable and comfortable with a window and a TV, bathroom etc.
The breakfast was a good little extra to have although the stairs down were a bit steep but they could be avoided by using the lift. It was a little warm in the rooms at night, but it is immensely hot in Amsterdam at the mo, and the walls were a bit thin but didn't keep us awake at night.
Overall I would revisit!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 44, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Acro Hotel Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acro hotel has 65 rooms, all with shower, toilet, TV, hairdryer and free wireless Internet. Centrally located in the Museum district with the Van Gogh museum, Rijksmuseum & Stedelijk Museum just around the corner. Within walking distance of all major tourist attractions like the Leidsplein (Leidsesquare) with its many bars and restaurants, the Holland casino and the famous P.C. Hoofstraat with its top designer shops. The Albert Cuyp open air market is less than 10 minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Acro Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.