We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small & snug for a little get away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam to your Saves list
TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 44, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Acro Hotel Amsterdam)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #217 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Small & snug for a little get away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, and found it very nice. It's in a great location right next to the museums and a tram stop at the end of the road.
The rooms were snug, a little small but manageable and comfortable with a window and a TV, bathroom etc.
The breakfast was a good little extra to have although the stairs down were a bit steep but they could be avoided by using the lift. It was a little warm in the rooms at night, but it is immensely hot in Amsterdam at the mo, and the walls were a bit thin but didn't keep us awake at night.
Overall I would revisit!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    223
    164
    56
    17
See reviews for
81
197
34
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Considering this hotel cost over £300 for 3 nights it was very poor value. More like a backpackers hostel than a hotel. Shabby foyer...male receptionist not at all helpful...extremely hot with no air con, anywhere. The rooms have seen better times. Near the museums & clean Towels every day is the only positive I could find. Breakfast included is a bun fight to find a seat & food very very poor quality. I would say do not touch this hotel/hostel !!!!

Room Tip: The nearer the ground the better as the stairs are a nightmare
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Great location in the museum district. Close to public transportation. Traditional dutch building with steep and narrow stairs. No air conditioning. Simple but filling breakfast. The Poet offered us what we needed for a long weekend in Amsterdam when we spent most of our time sightseeing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tbilisi, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

nice hotel, rooms with modern photos, good location, a lot of museums, and interesting places nearby. good service, clean rooms and fresh food. most important- not very expensive. i recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Had a lovely stay at The Poet Hotel in Amsterdam. Staff were brilliant and very helpful. Thought it was going to be a bit far out from the centre, but then found we were just around the corner from the Van Gogh Museum, the Rijksmuseum and Vondel Park. An easy tram ride into the centre. Plenty of places to go for something to eat near the hotel.
Breakfast Continental but plenty of choice. Brilliant coffee.
Stairs very steep and windy so maybe not suitable for everyone, but the comfy bed made up for that. Never slept so well.

Room Tip: Our room was in the basement and you could hear noise from upstairs although this didn't even bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder Creek, California, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This was booked without doing much research, and with the knowledge that we could take a chance for just one night (in transit from ship to plane home). We wanted something centrally located, with some character, and the property certainly delivered. We arrived several hours early, but the desk manager was not disturbed in the least! Although a room was not ready (and we had NO expectation that it would be at 9 in the morning), we were offered a place to park our luggage until it would be ready in the early afternoon. Be aware that it is watched, but not closely: the shelves are in a public hallway that many use to get to rooms. We were too tired to do much, but we received a discount coupon for a canal cruise and then got a small meal close by to spend the time. Had it been necessary, we could have hung out in their small and pleasant bar, and had reasonably priced wi-fi to spend the time (3 euros/24 hours). Be aware that the steps from the street to the lobby (about 10 of them) are steep, and it is not clear that there is an elevator for heavy luggage. We would have been given any help needed, but were grateful to be on the same level as the lobby. Our room was very small by American standards, but not far off from the cruise cabin we'd just left. Very efficient layout, pleasant modern clean decor, basic clean shower, sink and toilet, but nothing extra. This is to be expected in older buildings in the museum district and are perfectly in character with the area. Nicely centrally located, this is perfect if you expect to be spending the majority of your time doing the museums and others sites. Very kind, efficient and friendly staff, we would stay again on the right trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We spent there 2 nights before Christmas, the rooms are quite tight, but very clean. The elevator is old and it didn't work once, so we had to take the stairs which were very tight as well, a bit difficult climbing. Also, to enter the hotel you need to climb sone steps, not at all wheelchair friendly. The breakfast was ok, personnel helpful enough. The location is very good, close to museums, but also shopping/going out center. Easy to reach fron the airport.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 44, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Acro Hotel Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acro hotel has 65 rooms, all with shower, toilet, TV, hairdryer and free wireless Internet. Centrally located in the Museum district with the Van Gogh museum, Rijksmuseum & Stedelijk Museum just around the corner. Within walking distance of all major tourist attractions like the Leidsplein (Leidsesquare) with its many bars and restaurants, the Holland casino and the famous P.C. Hoofstraat with its top designer shops. The Albert Cuyp open air market is less than 10 minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Acro Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.