We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poet Hotel, Amsterdam” 3 of 5 stars
Review of TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam to your Saves list
TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 44, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Acro Hotel Amsterdam)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #215 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Poet Hotel, Amsterdam”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The Poet is ideal if you like being woken on successive nights by the jolly sound of drunken yobs singing and shouting throughout the small hours. If like me, you're a bit more boring and prefer to be asleep at 3 a.m., you should look for a hotel where this sort of behaviour is not tolerated by the management. Apart from that, it was adequate.

Room Tip: As far away from the bar as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    216
    156
    53
    15
See reviews for
76
190
33
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Only stay in this hotel if you need to visit the museums (Rijks and Van Gogh) as so close. Lethal steep stairs to pokey reception. No service from reception staff. Tiny rooms and only stay if in a couple or single as no room between twin beds at all ! Dark basement breakfast room serving below average food. Steep step access not suitable for elderly or infirm. Clean yes - smells of bleach everywhere. They charge for wifi use. Very pricey for what should be a low budget hotel !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

The Poet is in an excellent location on a smart street around the corner from the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum, and the tram stop for the 2 and 5 which go to some of the city's main attractions. Comfort level is fine but rooms are as small as they can be, in that they have squeezed in as many as possible in the four storey building. Stayed in a twin room and the bed was very narrow. The stairs are also very steep - this is not a hotel for those with mobility problems (there is a lift though).

The staff are helpful and there is a smart bar/reception area. Wi-Fi is only included if you buy a drink, otherwise it's 3 euros a day. TVs in the room have lots of channels including BBC World News and BBC1. Breakfast is served in a compact basement room (reached by very steep stairs), and options are limited: toast, cereal, eggs. No croissants and the coffee is not good. However, overall our stay was fine - we were hardly there during the day and the place was clean and modern with friendly staff.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purmerend, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The hotel is located in walking distance of Leidseplein, the Rijksmuseum, The Van Gogh Museum and lots of other attractions. And their prices vary according to the day of your stay (Saturday is more expensive than Wednesday) and how far in advance you book. So it is possible to get a very good price.

The staff is friendly.
The rooms are tiny. Really tiny. And noisy, really noisy. I didn't sleep at all. I could not only hear all the other hotel guests, I could actually understand what they were talking about.
The bathroom was also tiny and could have been cleaner (though I know I am a bit difficult on this subject).
The breakfast was very minimal and in a cramped and smelly cellar.

So if you are going to stay at this hotel: bring earplugs and don't pay extra for breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I was looking for romantic sense in this 'poets' hotel, but was surprised by its masculinity characteristic. The wooden hunting voyage style lobby is unique in its way, I cannot help but felt bit scared when seeing a female lion head hanging on the wall. The furnitures and spaces in the room functioned well, the black and white photo and writing also impressive; maybe the dark blanket on bed can be changed as it drops small black-dust-balls on bed. The room I stayed in was on ground floor, right next to the luggage storing area. conversation in lobby and foot steps in the corridor can be heard clearly and louder than they really are. I can't remember how many times I woke by the noisy at night, which makes me feeling tired and nervous during the stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We booked this place sort of last minute and weren't sure what to think. I'm with a group and this ended up being a dream; and our new home in Amsterdam. Location is wonderful; right near Museumplein, the #5 tram, and the Leidseplein. Gorgeous tree-lined street without too much noise, and Steve (manager) and the boys treated us extremely well. its not a 5***** hotel, but the rooms are clean and have great bedding. Water pressure and heat are solid. Elevator is small but efficient and breakfast is legitimate. Yes, they have hagelschlag too.Wonderful experience..

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Great little hotel next door to the Van Gogh and Rijkesmuseum, tram station approx 100 yards away that takes you into the middle of Amsterdam.

Round the corner is the longest road of designer shops I've ever seen, everyone seems to be there.

Steps into and in the hotel are very steep, but thats quite normal here. The breakfast was very good, cereal, toast, cheese and ham etc.

Rooms very clean and shower was excellent.

We will certainly stop here again when visiting this brilliant and lively city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 44, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Acro Hotel Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acro hotel has 65 rooms, all with shower, toilet, TV, hairdryer and free wireless Internet. Centrally located in the Museum district with the Van Gogh museum, Rijksmuseum & Stedelijk Museum just around the corner. Within walking distance of all major tourist attractions like the Leidsplein (Leidsesquare) with its many bars and restaurants, the Holland casino and the famous P.C. Hoofstraat with its top designer shops. The Albert Cuyp open air market is less than 10 minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Wyndham, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Otel, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Acro Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.