We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience - Huge location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam to your Saves list
TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 44, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Acro Hotel Amsterdam)   |  
Ranked #213 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great experience - Huge location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Very good located hotel, near by the city center and local activities. The reception staff was friendly and the rooms where clean and comfortable. The basic proice included a continental breakfast. I recommend very much.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    218
    158
    53
    15
See reviews for
76
192
33
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

stayed for 5 nights with my daughter in a twin room we were both impressed with the hotel,the reception staff were very welcoming and our room was perfect for our needs clean and comfortable with a good shower room,we both enjoyed the inclusive continental breakfast too The hotel was once several Amsterdam houses and you get the sense of being somewhere different and quirky which we both loved Situated in the museum quarter it is great for the Van Gogh and other places of interest including a Diamond museum and the Bols museum with the street next to it having top end shops similar to London's Bond Street Would be happy to stay here again

Room Tip: use the lift to reach the rooms as the stairs are narrow and steep
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

2 of us stayed in the poet for one night in March 14. Very surprised when we arrived at the lovely location of the hotel as for the price we paid its in a perfect location right near the museums and only a 5 min walk to bars and shops. If you dont fancy walking plenty of trams which run through out the evening . Very friendly staff on arrival and somewhere you can leave bags until check in . Room was small but clean with a nice bathroom and lovely inspiring quotes on the wall gave it a unique feel. Wi fi available and tv in room. All in all I would recommend staying here and next time I visit Amsterdam I would definately stay there again

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Just came home after a two night stay at the Poet.

The biggest advantage is the location - 2 minutes away from both the Rijksmusem and Van Gogh Museums. Bus stop to take you to the airport is just down the street and costs 5 euros

Room was small but was clean. Bits were a little shabby. Reception staff were helpful when I asked for advice. Breakfast was basic but was adequate.

The hotel is reasonably priced.

Negatives - there is s steep flight of stairs to enter the hotel plus steep stairs to get to the breakfast room. Our room was also in the basement - so more steep stairs. Fine for me but could be a problem for many

My main issue was the bed - much smaller than a standard single bed. Also dipped in the middle. Kept on feeling I was falling out of bed when I turned as it was so narrow. I didn't sleep very well as a result of it.

Generally though a decent hotel - the location is the biggest plus

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed at this hotel unintentionally as it was part of the DFDS deal from Newcastle, wasn't expecting a much from this hotel was supposed to be 2* - it was much better than that in my opinion! The hotel was small but comfortable, the staff were very pleasant and the hotel itself was located 2 minutes away from the nearest tram stop, providing easy access to the City as well as the Amsterdam Arena.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The Hotel is located very close to Rijksmuseum and nearby Tramstation to get to central Amsterdam and Centraal Station. We were a family of three with our 15 months old son. The rooms are fairly small and so is the elevator but they are clean and comfortable. The hotel staff was very friendly and cooperative, although we could not check-in before 14:00 hours cause the room was supposedly not ready. The value for money is very good and I would book here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I stayed here for three nights on March 2014. The hotel is in a perfect out of town location, near the museums and it's easy to get to the city centre by tram which stops right at the end of the road. We stayed on the fourth floor, the room was small but clean, towels and hair dryer were in the room but no drink making facilities.
The 'free' breakfast was great, yogurt, fruit, toast, eggs, cheese and ham as options. Unfortunately the breakfast room so quite small so on our first morning (a Sunday morning) there was no where to sit so we had to miss out. The other days were fine though so I'm not sure if it was just a weekend thing.
Check out was at 11am but they kept our bags for free until we left in the afternoon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 44, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Acro Hotel Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acro hotel has 65 rooms, all with shower, toilet, TV, hairdryer and free wireless Internet. Centrally located in the Museum district with the Van Gogh museum, Rijksmuseum & Stedelijk Museum just around the corner. Within walking distance of all major tourist attractions like the Leidsplein (Leidsesquare) with its many bars and restaurants, the Holland casino and the famous P.C. Hoofstraat with its top designer shops. The Albert Cuyp open air market is less than 10 minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Wyndham, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Acro Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.