We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 44, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Acro Hotel Amsterdam)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #198 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Decent hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Just came home after a two night stay at the Poet.

The biggest advantage is the location - 2 minutes away from both the Rijksmusem and Van Gogh Museums. Bus stop to take you to the airport is just down the street and costs 5 euros

Room was small but was clean. Bits were a little shabby. Reception staff were helpful when I asked for advice. Breakfast was basic but was adequate.

The hotel is reasonably priced.

Negatives - there is s steep flight of stairs to enter the hotel plus steep stairs to get to the breakfast room. Our room was also in the basement - so more steep stairs. Fine for me but could be a problem for many

My main issue was the bed - much smaller than a standard single bed. Also dipped in the middle. Kept on feeling I was falling out of bed when I turned as it was so narrow. I didn't sleep very well as a result of it.

Generally though a decent hotel - the location is the biggest plus

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    243
    160
    50
    13
See reviews for
69
186
32
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed at this hotel unintentionally as it was part of the DFDS deal from Newcastle, wasn't expecting a much from this hotel was supposed to be 2* - it was much better than that in my opinion! The hotel was small but comfortable, the staff were very pleasant and the hotel itself was located 2 minutes away from the nearest tram stop, providing easy access to the City as well as the Amsterdam Arena.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The Hotel is located very close to Rijksmuseum and nearby Tramstation to get to central Amsterdam and Centraal Station. We were a family of three with our 15 months old son. The rooms are fairly small and so is the elevator but they are clean and comfortable. The hotel staff was very friendly and cooperative, although we could not check-in before 14:00 hours cause the room was supposedly not ready. The value for money is very good and I would book here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I stayed here for three nights on March 2014. The hotel is in a perfect out of town location, near the museums and it's easy to get to the city centre by tram which stops right at the end of the road. We stayed on the fourth floor, the room was small but clean, towels and hair dryer were in the room but no drink making facilities.
The 'free' breakfast was great, yogurt, fruit, toast, eggs, cheese and ham as options. Unfortunately the breakfast room so quite small so on our first morning (a Sunday morning) there was no where to sit so we had to miss out. The other days were fine though so I'm not sure if it was just a weekend thing.
Check out was at 11am but they kept our bags for free until we left in the afternoon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Clean but tiny rooms,en-suite adequate but not much space to move. Hotel not suitable for people with mobility problems due to very steep staircases. Breakfast quite a good selection of breads,cheese,meat, eggs,jams etc. Very near to major museums which meant we could get there before the rush. Also close to street packed with selection of restaurants from many countries.

Room Tip: rooms very small, en suite shower room very compact.this hotel would not be suitable for people with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, East Sussex
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I stayed here for four nights on a University Study trip to visit the art museums and galleries. The front entrance was up some very steep steps, I'm not sure there's any disabled access. There is a lift inside to take you up to your floor but it only takes four people without luggage or it breaks down. The alternative is more steep stairs, manageable by me but tricky for anyone with health problems. My room was small but modern, I was pleased to see that there were duvets on the beds, my worst nightmare is blankets, sheets and bedspreads. The room was clean although there was dust in a couple of areas. The twin beds were tiny and the foam mattresses a bit sunken. I was comfortable enough but glad that I am a small person and that the sunken bit helped me stay in the middle of the bed and less likely to fall out!! Before embarking on this trip I checked out the reviews and noticed complaints about the breakfast, well I'm inclined to agree that compared to most hotel breakfasts it was disappointing; bread/toast, granola, ham, cheese, boiled eggs, yogurt and fruit cocktail (yes, the tinned stuff). I would have liked fresh fruit and a pastry, but settled for toast and jam. I enjoyed my stay but would probably book a different hotel in the same area if I return to Amsterdam, one with a good breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Would recommend this hotel to anyone, we were a group of 7 girls here for two nights, the staff were very helpful and the location was brilliant and in a nice area. I cant comment on breakfast as we were not up in time! The hotel was very quite (maybe because we were the ones making the noise?) there was a mixture of all ages and nationalities. Complain about the room size as much as you want because there was 3 of us in our room and the size was as standard and the other 4 of us were in a very decent size room. To be honest the room size should not matter you are in Amsterdam you should be out exploring. The hotel is very near the Hardrock Cafe and if you take the 197 bus from the airport the hotel is 2 mins from the bus stop.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 44, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Acro Hotel Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acro hotel has 65 rooms, all with shower, toilet, TV, hairdryer and free wireless Internet. Centrally located in the Museum district with the Van Gogh museum, Rijksmuseum & Stedelijk Museum just around the corner. Within walking distance of all major tourist attractions like the Leidsplein (Leidsesquare) with its many bars and restaurants, the Holland casino and the famous P.C. Hoofstraat with its top designer shops. The Albert Cuyp open air market is less than 10 minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Wyndham, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelsNL, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Acro Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.