We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam to your Saves list
TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 44, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Acro Hotel Amsterdam)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #215 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I stayed here for three nights on March 2014. The hotel is in a perfect out of town location, near the museums and it's easy to get to the city centre by tram which stops right at the end of the road. We stayed on the fourth floor, the room was small but clean, towels and hair dryer were in the room but no drink making facilities.
The 'free' breakfast was great, yogurt, fruit, toast, eggs, cheese and ham as options. Unfortunately the breakfast room so quite small so on our first morning (a Sunday morning) there was no where to sit so we had to miss out. The other days were fine though so I'm not sure if it was just a weekend thing.
Check out was at 11am but they kept our bags for free until we left in the afternoon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    227
    167
    56
    17
See reviews for
82
205
34
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Clean but tiny rooms,en-suite adequate but not much space to move. Hotel not suitable for people with mobility problems due to very steep staircases. Breakfast quite a good selection of breads,cheese,meat, eggs,jams etc. Very near to major museums which meant we could get there before the rush. Also close to street packed with selection of restaurants from many countries.

Room Tip: rooms very small, en suite shower room very compact.this hotel would not be suitable for people with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, East Sussex
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I stayed here for four nights on a University Study trip to visit the art museums and galleries. The front entrance was up some very steep steps, I'm not sure there's any disabled access. There is a lift inside to take you up to your floor but it only takes four people without luggage or it breaks down. The alternative is more steep stairs, manageable by me but tricky for anyone with health problems. My room was small but modern, I was pleased to see that there were duvets on the beds, my worst nightmare is blankets, sheets and bedspreads. The room was clean although there was dust in a couple of areas. The twin beds were tiny and the foam mattresses a bit sunken. I was comfortable enough but glad that I am a small person and that the sunken bit helped me stay in the middle of the bed and less likely to fall out!! Before embarking on this trip I checked out the reviews and noticed complaints about the breakfast, well I'm inclined to agree that compared to most hotel breakfasts it was disappointing; bread/toast, granola, ham, cheese, boiled eggs, yogurt and fruit cocktail (yes, the tinned stuff). I would have liked fresh fruit and a pastry, but settled for toast and jam. I enjoyed my stay but would probably book a different hotel in the same area if I return to Amsterdam, one with a good breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Would recommend this hotel to anyone, we were a group of 7 girls here for two nights, the staff were very helpful and the location was brilliant and in a nice area. I cant comment on breakfast as we were not up in time! The hotel was very quite (maybe because we were the ones making the noise?) there was a mixture of all ages and nationalities. Complain about the room size as much as you want because there was 3 of us in our room and the size was as standard and the other 4 of us were in a very decent size room. To be honest the room size should not matter you are in Amsterdam you should be out exploring. The hotel is very near the Hardrock Cafe and if you take the 197 bus from the airport the hotel is 2 mins from the bus stop.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torun, Poland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Localisation is very good! It is around 2 minute walk to the tram which can take you to CS in 15 minutes. A lot of museums nearby. Breakfast buffet was good and food was fresh. Room was small but very clean and the view from our room at last floor was outstanding! Too bad there weren't any vegetables/fruits durning the breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Hotel has great location but that is only thing going for it .Bedrooms are very clean and tidy but even smaller than rooms in Paris double beds in rooms fit for singles. Public areas and corridors are tatty and and old has the feel of hostel because suits young people who can climb very steep stairs would hate to have to get out of here in a hurry as lift only takes three people and the fire alarm did go off one morning while we were there. Breakfast is just alright nothing special - bar area is not great for comfort and overall not great value for money 105 euro for single.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This hotel is situated round the corner from the Van Gogh museum in the ritzy area of Amsterdam. The hotel is good value for money @ 65euro per room per night including breakfast.
We managed to check in early as our room was ready. We were on the 3rd floor so going up and down the very steep stairs was a bit of a pain but its Amsterdam all stairs are like that in this country. There is a lift but it is very small maybe not an ideal location for disabled people. if you are a bit funny about lifts like me the lift doesn't have a door so its just a bit freaky.
Our room was lovely a very narrow room with all the amenities, a shower, safe, wardrobe, desk, mirror and phone. It was lovely and clean with a basic clean white decor. we didn't notice any grime anywhere. the only downside is that the walls are very narrow and you can hear what people are up to around you.
The breakfast was lovely, a typical continental service of toast, boiled egg, fruit juice, fruit cocktail, yogurt, cereal, tea and coffee. the only downside to breakfast is it isn't controlled and its in a small room. so you turn up when you want too, the first morning we went down at 8.30am and it was so busy with some guests hogging tables we got the last table and had to share there was soon a massive queue. however the second morning we went down at 7.30am and there was only a couple of others there.
The hotel has 24hour reception and the receptionist were very helpful and friendly. i would recommend this hotel for convenience but its maybe a bit too far away from the party area if that's what your going for.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 44, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Acro Hotel Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acro hotel has 65 rooms, all with shower, toilet, TV, hairdryer and free wireless Internet. Centrally located in the Museum district with the Van Gogh museum, Rijksmuseum & Stedelijk Museum just around the corner. Within walking distance of all major tourist attractions like the Leidsplein (Leidsesquare) with its many bars and restaurants, the Holland casino and the famous P.C. Hoofstraat with its top designer shops. The Albert Cuyp open air market is less than 10 minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Acro Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.