We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the economy traveller without the economy digs.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam to your Saves list
TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 44, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Acro Hotel Amsterdam)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #213 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Catania, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value for the economy traveller without the economy digs.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

What can I say - this hotel was a great find! I was initially concerned about being too far on the fringes, but this turned out to be a wonderful location steps away from the Museum park and an easy 20 minute walk to the center. I highly recommend renting a bike, and if you do everything around Amsterdam is easy access!

This hotel was clean, warm, friendly, and surprisingly comfortable for the price! As a solo traveller the double room was comfortable and perfectly sized - I'd be dubious about having two people in there though. Otherwise, it was a great value for the money and I enjoyed great comfort in the room during a chilly, moderately wet November.

The stairs are very narrow, but the elevator is spacious and functional. My booking included free breakfast, but after taking a look one morning I was underwhelmed and opted for a Dutch pancake out in town.

Overall I was very happy with my experience. The ambiance is cozy with the boutique-hotel library inspired style and the staff were accomodating.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    218
    157
    53
    15
See reviews for
76
192
33
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel many times when it was The Acro so we were interested to see if it had maintained it's friendliness after it's make-over. We are pleased to say it has. All the rooms are fresher and modern and the lobby is much better too. The breakfast area is much the same and still offers a typical continental breakfast. The joy of this hotel however, is its location. It is situated within easy walking distance of the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Leidseplein and many other attractions, as well as being on frequent tram routes. The Poet is not a luxury hotel but still has lots to offer for short breaks in Amsterdam and we would definitely recommend it to first time as well as frequent visitors to the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The plus: Good location. 100m from Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Concertgebouw and tram / buses (direct to schipol airport). The room have a good decoration, despite of its size. Plenty of tv channels (none of them portuguese, thou) and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is ok.

The minus: The hotel needs a remodelation, specially the lobby and corridors. The furniture and carpets look very old and dirty. The room also needs some maintenance (footer and window locker broken). The breakfast could have fresh fruit and croissants. The steps are really steep, but that's normal in Amsterdam. The luggage storage is not very safe, it's accessible to anyone who passes in the corridor to the rooms.

In overall, it's a overpriced hotel for 2 stars (135€ for a double room)

Room Tip: Not a room tip. But there's a direct bus to and fro the airport that stops very close to this ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

A small well run little 2 star a 20 minute light walk from the center of the city, with lots to see on the way. Most impressed as it is only a 2 star. Modern feel to the rooms, clean, tidy and well maintained. Extremely polite helpful staff. Excellent value for money. It's also in a very quiete street. Popular with school parties, who were very well behaved. The nature of Dutch houses means the steep narrow stairs may be a problem for people with poor mobility. All in all a little gem.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Nice lobby but very small rooms and need a refresh. No space, hooks to hang your towells . Leaking toilet and the room 101 need to be repainted. Bed ok and Great location. A pitty that they don take care enough about their rooms and that they are so small but if they would repaint it and repair the holes in the walls and the Leaking toiletspiegel it would be a nice hotel because the lobby and breakfast room is looking very nice . Als o a good location . Very naar to the Rijksmuseum van Gogh museum and just a street behind the PC hoofdstraat. Also near Leidseplein and very good restaurants nearby. Try MOMO vey good food .

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles, Belgique
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

When we made the check in the lady was kind and helpfull. Then we discovered the room (which was supposed to be a triple room, as booked through internet) and it was in fact a double room where they put a "sofa bed". We couldn't leave our luggages on the floor otherwise it was not possible to live in this room. It was so small we thought there was a mistake so we decided to verify their website where you can see a much bigger room called a triple room (what we booked...). We went to the reception to check what happened and the staff, espacially the man, was so rude! They told us first that the triple rooms are most of the time booked by a family with a baby (but on the website you can book it for 3 adults), then they said "you are not even in the smallest triple room we have" and at the end "if you are not happy I suggest you to find another hotel". I told them I want to speak with a manager or even someone else, and they simply denied my request without saying a word like if we do not exist. Is it normal to have such bad employees?! Never again in this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed here Oct 25 and 26 2013. Struggled with luggage up steep and shallow front steps, tripping hazards everywhere, watch your step, no help here or getting luggage to room. Lobby is dumpy with a worn out rug and wood floor badly in need of refinishing, stuffed lion head and some weird chairs made of antlers for decor. Lift, hallways, and breakfast room dingy and depressing. Room 210 is tiny, not even a nightstand, IKEA type furniture, curtain dirty and torn, towels worn, some with holes, I'd guess there weren't enough towels to restock so clean ones weren't available until late afternoon. Shower plumbing leaked.

$200 per night?????

I can't believe the photos are of the same place we stayed in, good photographer or photoshopper; or Wyndham would put their name on the place, or we stayed in the same place as other reviewers.

Employees seemed to be doing their best with what they had to work with which wasn't much.

This hotel could be made into something decent and charming without a lot of work and money, until then, skip it.

Rijksmuseum was a big disappointment, overly crowded, poorly organized with some viewers moving right to left, others left to right, some just pushing from back. It was closed for eight years and it's already obsolete.

I'd never recommend the Poet Hotel or Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 44, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Acro Hotel Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acro hotel has 65 rooms, all with shower, toilet, TV, hairdryer and free wireless Internet. Centrally located in the Museum district with the Van Gogh museum, Rijksmuseum & Stedelijk Museum just around the corner. Within walking distance of all major tourist attractions like the Leidsplein (Leidsesquare) with its many bars and restaurants, the Holland casino and the famous P.C. Hoofstraat with its top designer shops. The Albert Cuyp open air market is less than 10 minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Wyndham, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Acro Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.