We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but rooms very smaal and need a refresh” 2 of 5 stars
Review of TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 44, Amsterdam 1071 CR, The Netherlands (Formerly Acro Hotel Amsterdam)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #193 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good location but rooms very smaal and need a refresh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Nice lobby but very small rooms and need a refresh. No space, hooks to hang your towells . Leaking toilet and the room 101 need to be repainted. Bed ok and Great location. A pitty that they don take care enough about their rooms and that they are so small but if they would repaint it and repair the holes in the walls and the Leaking toiletspiegel it would be a nice hotel because the lobby and breakfast room is looking very nice . Als o a good location . Very naar to the Rijksmuseum van Gogh museum and just a street behind the PC hoofdstraat. Also near Leidseplein and very good restaurants nearby. Try MOMO vey good food .

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    239
    158
    48
    12
See reviews for
67
182
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bruxelles, Belgique
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

When we made the check in the lady was kind and helpfull. Then we discovered the room (which was supposed to be a triple room, as booked through internet) and it was in fact a double room where they put a "sofa bed". We couldn't leave our luggages on the floor otherwise it was not possible to live in this room. It was so small we thought there was a mistake so we decided to verify their website where you can see a much bigger room called a triple room (what we booked...). We went to the reception to check what happened and the staff, espacially the man, was so rude! They told us first that the triple rooms are most of the time booked by a family with a baby (but on the website you can book it for 3 adults), then they said "you are not even in the smallest triple room we have" and at the end "if you are not happy I suggest you to find another hotel". I told them I want to speak with a manager or even someone else, and they simply denied my request without saying a word like if we do not exist. Is it normal to have such bad employees?! Never again in this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed here Oct 25 and 26 2013. Struggled with luggage up steep and shallow front steps, tripping hazards everywhere, watch your step, no help here or getting luggage to room. Lobby is dumpy with a worn out rug and wood floor badly in need of refinishing, stuffed lion head and some weird chairs made of antlers for decor. Lift, hallways, and breakfast room dingy and depressing. Room 210 is tiny, not even a nightstand, IKEA type furniture, curtain dirty and torn, towels worn, some with holes, I'd guess there weren't enough towels to restock so clean ones weren't available until late afternoon. Shower plumbing leaked.

$200 per night?????

I can't believe the photos are of the same place we stayed in, good photographer or photoshopper; or Wyndham would put their name on the place, or we stayed in the same place as other reviewers.

Employees seemed to be doing their best with what they had to work with which wasn't much.

This hotel could be made into something decent and charming without a lot of work and money, until then, skip it.

Rijksmuseum was a big disappointment, overly crowded, poorly organized with some viewers moving right to left, others left to right, some just pushing from back. It was closed for eight years and it's already obsolete.

I'd never recommend the Poet Hotel or Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed on the 4th floor this time we visited and the rooms are small but considering we were on a city break in Amsterdam, the size of the room didnt bother us one bit. The bathroom has a very nice hot shower, all brand new fixtures and fittings since the last time we stayed were of a good quality. Had a 32" lcd tv on the wall with a few english channels (comedy network,disney,news) so all was ok there for when we came back in from a night out. Breakfast was very good, plenty of different cheeses, hams and eggs to add to fresh toast. Different varieties of bread also. Jams and various preserves including a dutch favourite, chocolate sprinkles! The usual cereals were also there with orange juice, tea and coffee. It really set us both up for the day out walking around. The lift is small, it always has been and the stairs are very narrow and curvy so if you have mobility issues, bear this in mind!
Overall, The Poet Tryp in Amsterdam is a great hotel to stay in and its literally minutes from the Van Goch Museum and The Diamond Trip (which is great!) Hard Rock Cafe is about 3 minutes walk away and does amazing blue cheese burgers!!
Great for couples and stag/hen parties, the hotel welcomes all. You will have a good stay here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just had 3 nights .Had room 105 small but had a very comfortable bed but with access only on 1 side.Bathroom small but very clean and had everything you need.Room was at the back so no noise and a perfect nights sleep.Arrived in Amsterdam by train to central station and the day had shocking bad weather so no taxis.Used tram 2 which leaves you off 3 minutes from the hotel.
Breakfast was excellent as a continental breakfast .Plenty of choice to suit most tastes.
I love the narrow stairs but it is not for everyone.But full of the charm of dutch houses.
Location is excellent for all the museums minutes of a walk.Or minutes to the bus tram to any where .
Staff on reception were so pleasant and helpfull at all times,and being able to get a drink 24/7 was great.
Excellent coffee!!!!
Would go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: got bus back to the airport.Bus 197 every 15 mins 3 minutes from hotel for 4 euro!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is located ideally for a city trip Amsterdam with the van Gogh, Stedelijk and Rijkmsmuseums nearby. For shopping there is the famous PC Hooftstraat. Culture fans have the Concertgebouw nearby so you will find something for every taste
On the downside you have tot acknowledge that it is a city hotel, so cramped space, hotel rooms and corridors..It is an old building so you hear every guest arriving in the night.
Room is small but clean, bathroom small but tidy, beds are o.k.
The most negative is the breakfast, very simple no English breakfast, only some bread, boiled egg and yoghurt.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for two nights with a friend in October, nothing to grumble about at all.

The location was excellent, a two minute walk from Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum, Vondelpark and Central Amsterdam. It's located on a relatively quiet side street so external noise isn't as bad as you'd expect for the city centre.

The hotel has a nice boho feel, wooden floors and a small reading corner next to the entrace, the staircase to the first floor is steep and winding but they have a small lift.

The breakfast room wasn't as bad as people are making out, it can be crowded at times but it's served from 7-10 so plenty of time for everyone to get served. It's an ordinary continental buffet, tea - coffee - toast - eggs - crackers - cereal - fruit juice - cheese etc.

Stayed in a twin room and it was on the small side but the low price reflects this. Stayed in October so the room temperature wasn't too bad but I can imagine it being humid in summer.

All in all, nice bohemian hotel and good value for money, staff were very pleasant, would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 44, Amsterdam 1071 CR, The Netherlands (Formerly Acro Hotel Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acro hotel has 65 rooms, all with shower, toilet, TV, hairdryer and free wireless Internet. Centrally located in the Museum district with the Van Gogh museum, Rijksmuseum & Stedelijk Museum just around the corner. Within walking distance of all major tourist attractions like the Leidsplein (Leidsesquare) with its many bars and restaurants, the Holland casino and the famous P.C. Hoofstraat with its top designer shops. The Albert Cuyp open air market is less than 10 minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Wyndham, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, HotelsNL and Venere so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Acro Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.