We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, small rooms, not as cosy as it looked from outside” 3 of 5 stars
Review of TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam to your Saves list
TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 44, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Acro Hotel Amsterdam)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #202 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
sydney
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good location, small rooms, not as cosy as it looked from outside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Rooms are small but clean and comfortable enough but not especially good value. Breakfast was standard and served downstairs in a dark room, not a place to linger. Had to pay extra for basics like wifi. Just okay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    252
    177
    56
    18
See reviews for
86
222
34
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glenwood, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We were 4 female relatives traveling by train and stayed two nights at this hotel. It was comfortable, although our room had a double bed and two fold out single beds that were very near the floor. It worked for us, but might not work for everyone. It had a small balcony out french doors on the second floor. It had rather unusual wall decor (sort of "artsy"). The breakfast was served in the basement, which was very warm and crowded the first day and a little cooler the second day. We loved the location and the price was good. We like old buildings. It was clean. If you purchased a drink at the bar, you could have an hour of internet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Week-end rates in Amsterdam appear to be at quite a premium in late August/early September. After spending 4 nights at another hotel where week-end accommodations were unavailable we were quite fortunate to have stopped by the Poet where another guest had just cancelled. Based on the high differential between the week-day rates and week-end rates I recommend all week-end visitors to Amsterdam either book several months in advance or plan visits for week-days. Based on Poet rates doing so could save 180% on the room rate and it appears the same differential could exist at other hotels as well.

Weaknesses of this hotel:
No air conditioning.
Breakfast is fairly basic continental although bread consists of toast.
Steep steps into entry.
No wash clothes.
No towel racks--only two hooks.
Limited space for toiletries.

Strengths:
Desk personnel extremely helpful.
Location in Museum quarter and on a lovely street the best in Amsterdam.
Room and bath size highly satisfactory.
Beautifully comfortable bed!





  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

As previous review said, was unsure if I should change hotel after reading previous negative comments.However as only staying for one night as part of hotel break with dfds thought as long as room clean would be fine.For a 2 star hotel only fault I experienced was the toilet lid would not stay up!stayed in room 111, narrow modern room with big cosy double bed, clean linen and towels.Breakfast is continental variety of breads, cheese, meats, cereal, yogurt, fruit juice,tea and coffee, nice start to the day.this is our 4th visit to Amsterdam and have never stayed this side before.hotel situated in the museum district.lovely area.Fashion boutique shops street behind hotel, you will find Louis Vuitton, Chanel,Boss, Armani etc. (would be lovely if had the money, a girl can dream!)Heinken experience short 10min walk, we'll worth the 18 euros to get in or 25 euro with a burger drink on the rooftop terrace.Dam square longer walk 25 mins and then further 5 to red light district.There is a tram stop at end of hotel street but did not use as don't mind walking.Overall was a wonderful short stay and hotel is definitely worth the money we paid to stay here.Would recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lublin, Poland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a two day stay.
Pros:
- cleanliness (maybe except net curtains but no big deal)
- nice bathroom
- good location
- nice design (although too erotic photos on the walls)

Cons:
- noise from the street, loudly talking people outside in the late night
- lack of air conditioning
- not listening to our wish - we wanted two single beds and we got a double, fortunately it was possible to separate it by ourselves

We had good luck with the staff (maybe except the Asian guy who wasn't really friendly but we didn't have to deal with him really often), which was quite surprising, when looking at rudeness of people in Amsterdam...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone Kent UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Having booked this hotel I almost cancelled having read other reviews!

I can only say either other posters stayed in a different hotel or had some bad experiences.

All in all this is a small hotel, very typical of buildings found in Amsterdam.

Staff were very friendly and we were able to check in early. The lift is old and again typical of those found in older buildings in Holland and Belgium. It works which is the main thing.

The room was long and narrow, large double bed at the end very well decorated and very clean. Clean and new towels every day of our stay.

British TV in terms of ITV & BBC available on the in-room television. Our room even had an ipod/iphone docking station, which was great for charging the phone and listening to music.

I agree with others that the rooms can be very hot, although we found we were able to open the window much wider than others had been able to. turn the handle to 9 oclock and the window opens in a conventional manner giving more fresh air.

Whilst the rooms are narrow we found they were fine for our needs.

Breakfast was a fairly typical continental including cold meats, cheeses, bread, rolls, jams and cereals, unlimited tea or coffee, juices and water.

Location was fantastic for Van Gough museum, Bols experience etc. Trams, 2 & 5 stop at the bottom of the road and 2 euros 80 gives you an hours travel on public transport. Less than 5 minutes walk is a multitude of bars an restaurants, selling everything from steaks to Indonesian.

Loads of bars and clubs in the immediate vicinity, as well as excellent shopping.

The hotel arranged our return journey to the airport using their preferred taxi firm which cost 37 euros saving about 5 euros were you to hire a taxi outside.

We did use the hotel bar and found the staff again courteous and efficient. Prices were similar to those charged elsewhere with a pint of Heineken being about 4 euros 50.

I am glad we didn't change hotel and would have no hesitation in returning here or in recommending the hotel to others.

Room Tip: we had room 213 and it was plenty big enough for 2 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

the positives are: Excellent location for museums. A safe area and hotel felt safe with free safe in the room. The hotel was clean and quiet with helpful staff. Negatives: very small room (i have stayed in Amsterdam many times and know this is usually the case but the room was especially small for 3 adult, over 3 nights the room didn't receive any service and we had to use the same towels every day. The major issue was the heat. 4th floor no air con in a too small room. Spent the 3rd night hanging out of the window trying to cool down instead of sleeping. Not worth the £200 a night price tag. there's just too many rooms squeezed in and shouldn't have a boutique title.

Room Tip: ask for the basement in hot weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 44, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Acro Hotel Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acro hotel has 65 rooms, all with shower, toilet, TV, hairdryer and free wireless Internet. Centrally located in the Museum district with the Van Gogh museum, Rijksmuseum & Stedelijk Museum just around the corner. Within walking distance of all major tourist attractions like the Leidsplein (Leidsesquare) with its many bars and restaurants, the Holland casino and the famous P.C. Hoofstraat with its top designer shops. The Albert Cuyp open air market is less than 10 minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Acro Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.