We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 44, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Acro Hotel Amsterdam)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #210 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Delaware City, Delaware
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My friend and I stayed overnight at the Poet. The room was clean, and nicely decorated. There is a small lift, but it is a lift. Wi-Fi is available at a cost. The location is a short walk to the museum quarter and Vondel Park. I posted a review on Aadlers Hotel, which is located just across the street. The staff was friendly and the bed was comfortable. I would stay at this hotel again. We had breakfast, which consisted of a variety of cheese, juice, toast, eggs, either soft or hard boiled. I did not eat any, so I am not sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    213
    153
    50
    14
See reviews for
73
187
32
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

For a 2-night city break, both the location and the price of the Poet were perfect. Whilst there may be issues for people who have particular accessibility needs, once you are in the hotel there is a lift to all floors, so you don't need to attempt the steep spiral staircases (unless you're brave!) The room itself was small (but we didn't need any more space as we were in the hotel to sleep only), but it was clean and tastefully decorated. All facilities that we required were available and working.

Location-wise there is a tram stop 2 minutes' walk away, and the Museumplein is 5 minutes' walk away. If you're looking for a hotel that's walking distance to the main part of the city centre but away from the bustle of the city streets, then the Poet is perfect.

I'd definitely come back here for a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location! However, it is not a good hotel. The rooms have a reasonable size and they are sort of "clean". But the size of the corridors and the elevator is extremely small and very old. You get a creepy feeling walking around. Also, you can hear everything that happens in the corridors in your room, so the quality of sleep is terrible! The breakfast is average, but again the dinning place is very old and the toilets are horrible. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The location was wonderful. The staff was great and the room fine. The only drawback is the entrance. To get into the hotel, there is a flight of steep steps. When you are dragging luggage, this could be a problem, especially if the luggage is heavy or you are frail.

On the whole, good value for the money. The staff was wonderful, the location magnificent, and a good place to stay after a long flight.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed here for two nights this April, hotel is based in Museum area, which is a beautiful area to be located in, there are many places to visit near to the hotel, it is easy to get to hotel from central station, catch tram 2 or 3 and get off at Hobbemastraat and you are literally 50 odd yards away. Staff at hotel were very helpful and cheerful, we arrived early and was able to leave our bags at the hotel whilst our room was prepared, rooms were clean and ideal for what we wanted which was pretty much a place to put our heads down, breakfast was your typical continental, would I stay here again, yes most definitely.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed here for three nights while attending a conference. For the amount I paid I found the hotel offered poor value for money compared with another hotel where I stayed for one night, which was almost half the price and much more comfortable.

The Poet hotel was shabby throughout, the breakfast was poor and the shower was almost impossible to direct. The single room was very difficult to move around in because it was so narrow. The single bed was also exceptionally narrow and sagged in the middle. I slept poorly throughout my stay. I don't know why this hotel attracts such good reviews. The only positive thing I can say is that it is very close to the museums, tram stops ad restaurants, and in a nice neighbourhood.

Room Tip: Spend extra money on a larger room; single rooms are exceptionally cramped and uncomfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed as a family of 4 (with two children aged 11 and 9) in August 2012 for 2 nights. Our room was large, very clean, and modern. Double bed and two single sofa beds for the children - all very comfortable. Modern excellent bathroom. Breakfast was good. Location was great, easy to get a tram from there or walk. We would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 44, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Acro Hotel Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acro hotel has 65 rooms, all with shower, toilet, TV, hairdryer and free wireless Internet. Centrally located in the Museum district with the Van Gogh museum, Rijksmuseum & Stedelijk Museum just around the corner. Within walking distance of all major tourist attractions like the Leidsplein (Leidsesquare) with its many bars and restaurants, the Holland casino and the famous P.C. Hoofstraat with its top designer shops. The Albert Cuyp open air market is less than 10 minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Wyndham, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, HotelsNL and Venere so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Acro Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.