We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic but basic...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam to your Saves list
TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 44, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Acro Hotel Amsterdam)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #202 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Ayrshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Chic but basic...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The Poet Hotel is a recently renamed and refurbished hotel in an excellent location in a quiet residential street just a stone's throw from the Rijksmuseum and its tram stop, so access to public transport is virtually on the doorstep should you need it. It's actually just an easy walk to Museumplein, Leidseplein and into the centre, also close to Vondelpark, boat trips, numerous bars, restaurants in De Pijp – in short, an ideal holiday base.

The rooms are clean and comfortable but with what one might euphemistically describe as minimalist decor – this is where chic meets basic, right? I couldn't help feeling that perhaps a touch more could have been spent on home comforts rather than the large, trendy artworks adorning the walls. The long, narrow layout of the room also means that in a twin the beds are close together - let's just say you need to be on good terms with your room mate. Other members of our party had even smaller rooms.

In-room facilities are hit and miss – there's the ubiquitous flat screen TV but no tea & coffee. A free safe is an excellent feature but there's only a small shower room where I kept thinking I was going to stick an elbow through the mirror. The lack of air con could be a real minus in high summer. Wifi is available at €3 an hour but is free with any drink from the small but cool little bar in the book-lined lobby - hint hint.

I certainly found the staff to be helpful and personable, letting us check in early and leaving our bags on the day of departure. The breakfast buffet rates as than merely OK and the breakfast room seemed small – just about managing to cope with flow of hungry guests. I could foresee it being overrun. I suppose in the final analysis it was reasonable value for Amsterdam and for the location, but for me it seemed a touch expensive at this star rating – that's Amsterdam, I guess. As always – shop around first.

I should note that with a small, cramped lift, steep stairs, steep entrance stairway and confined corridors, I'm afraid it all adds up to a virtual no-go zone for disabled guests.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    251
    177
    56
    18
See reviews for
85
222
34
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stood at Poet Hotel for just one night. The room was modern, white, quite clean, but very small and uncomfortable. It is difficult to go to bed if you are by the side of the wall.
Also walls are tiny so you can hear everybody from other rooms.
In the bathroom we could hang our towels nowhere.
Breakfast was not great. The room is downstairs and it is reachable with steep stairs.
Staff is young and nice. Wi-fi costs 3 euros a day.
Just in front of the hotel there is the Rijksmuseum. In a few minutes there is the Van Gogh Museum and you can reach the center of Amsterdam by feet.
We think it is a little expensive.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metz, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Thanks to everyone in the Poet Hotel. The renovation of this hotel has been perfectly done, the family was great for us 4, not noisy at all, and we really appreciated our arrival withthis smiling guy ! Breakfast was a bit poor for us, but sufficiant anyway. Very well located in the heart of the Museum Quarter.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

For a budget hotel this was superb. The family room was spacious and clean. The staff was excellent and friendly and the breakfast was adequate. It is set in a nice location with trams a minute away and the centre a 15 minute walk. Only drawbacks are that noise from other guests can disturb your sleep as the walls are not very thick and I would have liked tea/coffee making facilities. Will definately stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I found this hotel to be very good for what I paid. Basic but clean and in a nice and quiet area of Amsterdam.
Walking to many parts of amsterdam was in my opinion very easy. I walked it to Central station in under half an hour which I belive was the other side of the city.
The staff at the hotel were very friendly as were pretty much all the duch people I come across. The hotel had a little bar whcih was good to finish off the night.
Breakfast was conitinental and I thought was very good.
The heiniken experience isnt too far from the hotel and is well worth a tour.
If i return to Amsterdam I shall certainly consider this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

The hotel was accommodating, but if you are more than two in a room (which many of us were), 3rd and 4th guest get uncomfortable chair bed/coffin. The rooms were tiny, and the shower, although powerful, would not remain appointing down once turned on, so the entire shower room was blasted with water each time! This was only funny the first time! The staff were tolerant of students (27 of them), and the atmosphere was relaxed and laid back. It's close to the main tram and not a long walk from Dam Square.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 44, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Acro Hotel Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acro hotel has 65 rooms, all with shower, toilet, TV, hairdryer and free wireless Internet. Centrally located in the Museum district with the Van Gogh museum, Rijksmuseum & Stedelijk Museum just around the corner. Within walking distance of all major tourist attractions like the Leidsplein (Leidsesquare) with its many bars and restaurants, the Holland casino and the famous P.C. Hoofstraat with its top designer shops. The Albert Cuyp open air market is less than 10 minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Acro Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.