We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst accomodation over, AVOID it” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bob's Youth Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bob's Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Bob's Youth Hostel
Old Centre: New Side | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
feltre
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst accomodation over, AVOID it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

dirty rooms, no breakfast, annoying room-mates, and the unfair staff sold our beds during the second night.

that's my suggestion: AVOID BOB'S YOUTH HOSTEL!!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — more than nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    56
    62
    52
    74
See reviews for
1
14
39
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

Bob's is a great hostel for solo travelers. I went there alone and met tons of people in the 'lounge', there were lots of young people and solo like me. The location is good too. Close to central station and the tram is litterally right out front.
With all the young travelers there was also some pot smoking in the lounge so if that will bother you this is not the right hostel for you ;) There tiny little stair cases like with so many hostels and the rooms arent the classiest but it was the atmosphere of this chill hostel that will have me book there again and again.

  • Liked — The lounge to meet people
  • Disliked — A little run down
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, USA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

This was the very first hostel I every stayed at. As such, I did not know how to compare it to others. At the end of my month's stay in Europe I came back to Amsterdam fly back home and ended up staying here again! First, the place is definatly "NOT" for everyone! It is a laid back kind of place that allows the smoking of marijuana and tobacco in the lobby and the use of "soft" drugs. Second, it is not new or modern and has very little amenities compared to most hostels. Third, all the beds are in same-sex shared dorms with at least 14 other people and some dorms are in a different building from the main one. Fourth, it's cleaning staff were extremely rude and the breakfast (included) could easily be missed. Finally, if you are not fit then forget about it. The dutch stairs are hellish as you try to breath the smokey air. Even though this place was primative and not as nice as other hostels I ended up staying at, it ended up being my favorite. This place is cheap, has an excellent location, is clean enough, not "too" loud at night, the reception workers are amazing (they were very kind), it has cheap drinks and snacks, and it adds that funkiness that just is so "Amsterdam"! Again, this was not the "Best Overall Hostel" I have ever stayed at, but it was my first and sentimentally it will always be a favorite in my book! I also met some great friends at this place! This place deserves at least one night of any young travelers itinerary!

  • Liked — It put's the "Fun" in the word "Funky", the pot, the music, a great place to meet people, great location, cheap beer and snacks, and kind reception!
  • Disliked — There are 2 seperate buildings, rude cleaning staff and small breakfast!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2008

I didn't book my stay i really just walked in and i found the people working there to be really helpful. For a hostel is is a bit overpriced for what you get. (around 22 euro per night)I didnt shower while i was there becuase it was pretty dirty. The FREE breakfast is just two pieces of bread, jam and butter, a hardboiled egg and tea. The atmosphere there was okay but some of the other guests seemed to be closer to squatters than backpackers. ... oh and the top bunks have no railings, you could be on a bunk in the middle of the room with no side support what-so ever... this didnt make much sense to me as most of the people who will be sleeping in those beds will be HIGH! bob's is in a good location though. Bob's was my first time in a hostel and it definitly did not leave a nice taste in my mouth

  • Liked — nothing really, the staff were quite helpful
  • Disliked — it was dirty and the rooms were quite unwelcoming
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

This hostel is the WORST place I have stayed in.
It's completely dirty, the staff is not really friendly, the reception is through a bar which smell to marihuana constantly and it's small and dark.
I shared the room with 14 people more in a kind of block separately from the rest of the building. That was worse than to be in a prison! We shared a few showers which were completely dirty, filthy and repulsive and you did not have enough space to leave your clothes or the towel! (and the showers are inside the room). Everything is quite narrow and dirty to be more or less comfortable.
I wouldn't recommend this hostel even to my enemy!

  • Stayed March 2004, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2008

I think that tells you all you need to know about this place. Ugh, I got locked out once because of their stupid curfew!! I'm not sure if they still have that. Oh, and come prepared to deal with bedbugs. No, those aren't mosquito bites!! In all my return trips to Amsterdam, I've steered way clear of this [--].

  • Liked — checking out
  • Disliked — hmmm...i'm reallly not sure where to begin!!!
  • Stayed June 2004, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2008

To be perfectly honest this place is hell! The people at reception were terrible unfriendly, the room that we were in was filthy and the bathroom was worse- any of the people that had stayed there before us who had left toothbrushes/ clothes- all of their stuff was still in the room! So the bathroom was complete with 13 complimentary toothbrushes! The breakfast consisted of 2 boiled eggs which, to be honest, when you have the munchies, it pretty awesome! There was another place nearby called the flying pig or something and it looked SO nice, especially when compared to Bobs- we hadn't booked anything when we arrived- so I'd definately reccommend having some place to stay before you get there. The benefits of Bobs is that its right in the centre of Amsterdam, in a kinda mini red light district. There was a red light window right across the road, don't worry the red light district is fun and not scary at all! We'd run out of money by our last night so we just hung out in the doorway of our hostel getting wasted, and any random person who walked past us joined us- GREAT FUN!

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bob's Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bob's Youth Hostel

Address: Old Centre: New Side | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Bob's Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bob`s Youth Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bob's Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.