We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid it.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bob's Youth Hostel

Save Saved
You added Bob's Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bob's Youth Hostel
Old Centre: New Side | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Avoid it.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We were in the second building, in Spuistraat.
20-people room: the hell. Dirty, poky, stinky. Just two power outlet, one lavatory, one shower.
Yes, you can survive as we did, nothing impossible: if one would like to spent not too much to have more possibilities in spending around in Amsterdam, it could be a reasonable choice, nothing to disprove. The price maybe could be discussed: it's not so cheap as it appear (consider the 5,5% tourist tax). But if you want a good place, where to rest in an human way, avoid it.
One star just for the reception, notwithstanding the dirtiness, a relaxing place for smoking.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    51
    59
    47
    65
See reviews for
1
14
32
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I spent the summer bagpacking Europe on a budget, and stayed in a fair few hostels, but this one was in a league of its own. The room was absolutely boiling with no means of cooling it down, which meant lying awake for the majority of the night (despite being ridiculously stoned). The shower had packed in, and the place stunk. The service was abysmal, with everything obviously being too much of an effort for the staff. The atmosphere was somewhat added to by a box sitting in the common room entitled "Free dirty clothes". Far from a hippy commune, this was quite simply a hell hole.
To add insult to injury, it was the most expensive hostel we stayed in all trip, absolutely no idea what planet these muppets are living on.
Visit Amsterdam every year, and would cross the road to avoid this dump.

Room Tip: Sleep rough if this is your only choice, seriously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Bob's is in a really great location in walking distance of many museums, shops, eating establishments and other attractions.
Our room was clean and the shared toilet and showers on our floor were cleaned daily and in good condition.
I found the bed comfortable, but very short and very narrow. The bunks had no ladders or guardrails either.
In terms of a place to sleep and shower, it is a good venue in a fantastic location and I did enjoy my stay there.
However, what my girlfriend and I didn't realise when we booked was that the smoker-friendly lobby was in fact the hostel's only common area and only place with wi-fi. This meant that everything smelled of marijuana (yes, that includes the ginger cat who likes to visit from time to time) so bear this in mind if you aren't particularly fond of the smell.
I'd recommend this as a great place to stay if you're out to party, but it's not really a place suited to couples looking to explore the city.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Bob's youth hostel has one good thing going for it - prime location. Apart from that the wi-fi works intermittently (don't count on it working if you need to book things) but there's a good cafe nearby with free wi-fi so that didn't bother us too much. The price was a bit too much for what we got (a broken locker which we had to pay a €10 deposit for the key, no towel - but you can pay for one which wreaks of smoke and no common areas that aren't smoking areas). Bed was comfy, shower hot but I would not return.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Myself and 5 of my close friends stayed at Bob's. After booking the trip last minute and arriving without accommodation sorted we roamed the streets until we found Bob's.

Well .. it was an interesting stay. It was cheap which was great, so we weren't expecting the Ritz as we walked upstairs. We shared a room with 11 other people (one of which was a VERY loud snorer) the beds were comfortable and the atmosphere was a laugh. We also had some very trippy paintings all around our bunks which made for an interesting nights sleep after taking some happy pills.

The state of the bathroom was pretty poor and with only 1 toilet to share between 16 .. it could be an awkward wait sometimes. The shower was pretty poor as well, I may as well have had my mates spit in my hair as that would have been more powerful and soaked me more effectively.

Breakfast. Now that was hilarious .. not just because we were on a come down and sometimes higher than a Somali on midday munchies.

The location however was great. Pretty much central to all the bars and coffee shops so you don't need to worry so much about taxi's and buses etc.

Cant complain all in all .. did what it said on the tin. Cheap stay, reasonable rooms, great location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

All 8 of us who stayed here got bed bugs, and it has been a major source of stress. (This was the only place we travelled to) The hostel itself felt very unclean and rundown but the location was good. The lobby and the place you can store your luggage are QUITE dingy. I've realized that bed bugs are a huge issue as a traveller, and so much harder to detect and get rid of than I ever thought. Bob's Hostel has obviously been affected by this issue that affects all travellers, and I want to tell everyone, if you sleeping in any bed other than your own at own - know how to look out for bed bugs and what to do to prevent them travelling with you!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Internet rarely works. Matresses are very narrow. Terrible feet smells. Weed smoke at lounge all day. Humiliating breakfast - tea, bread and jam, and egg. Same everyday. The staff is ok and the location is great. But for 32 euro a weekend night for a tiny bed with 20 ppl in a smelly room...i wouldnt bother unless optionless.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bob's Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bob's Youth Hostel

Address: Old Centre: New Side | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Bob's Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bob`s Youth Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bob's Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.