We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What the cat?!?!??” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bob's Youth Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bob's Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Bob's Youth Hostel
Old Centre: New Side | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Austin, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What the cat?!?!??”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

I am staying in here right now, this place is terrible, the place is discusting, when you walk into the reception, the whole place already smells like weed and smoke. Ppl literally just smoke in the lobby area. What's worst is that everything is super dirty, as if they never scrub the place. The whole place looks like it hasn't been clean since the 80s, this morning I woke up with a CAT in my bed ?!?!??!???! I was freaking out? Especially since I am allergic. My friend went downstairs to inform the lobby and they just simply dismissed her when she asked for a new sheets for me! Then I went downstairs and they just told me to chill out and did not really care about it, they even ask us to shoo it away ourselves and they said is friendly, so it probably been in here quite a lot I have pictures to prove it!!! Don't stay here, you've been warned, unless u r high enough to think that a cat is a pillow!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    56
    62
    52
    74
See reviews for
1
14
39
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This place is ok if you just want to rest your head for the night. The beds are ok, we stayed in the 20 room dorm, I didn't see some of the people I was rooming with at all, for the whole 5 nights I was there, which is strange. Its a good place to meet fellow travellers but the room itself wasn't brilliant. The toilets and shower are ok, but not as clean as they could be. The 'security' is a small man watching TV at the bottom of the stairs, who doesn't even look at you when you walk in. Add to that a Turkish man who would walk into our dorm everyday to use the shower then leave again kind of says security isn't all that. The location is ok, its easy to get to from the station, and relatively close to the attractions. The reception room where you can mingle with other travellers was perhaps the best part of this hostel. I've stayed in another hostel in amsterdam since this trip, Hotel Croydon, and found that Croydon was pretty much better in everyway.

Room Tip: If you travel in a group of 5 be prepared that if your in a dorm, you may all be spread about the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Well... You pay the price and don't expcect much. Rooms - acceptable. Reception Desk - there is one. Bedlinen - OK, but blankets were stinky. Breakfasts in common area where many people smoke. Location however is a huge advantage. If you simply want an overnight in Amsterdam it is alright, but do not plan a longer stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Was very well located, but the bathrooms were dirty, and security was poor. pretty much anyone off the street could access any room. We were staying in an all girls dorm, but there were men in there all the time. Also, when we were trying to go to bed at 3am, a hostile older gentleman came round with a clipboard demanding to know which beds were ours. If you're going to offer female dorms, you should have female staff perform those kinds of tasks.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I've been there for a couple of days with friends, we were 9 of us, we booked 16 beds room...2 toilets for 16 people, very dirty, any sheets or blankets for beds, breakfast was a shame...very dirty place! We spent 35 euros a person a night! Unbelievable!!!! And at at the end of the trip, when we went to pick luggage up we saw mice...really bad experience!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

With a last minute and an even later booking at Bob's Youth Hostel I wasn't expecting much, but was pleasantly surprised. I arrived around 6pm, check-in was quick and informative (no curfew, breakfast times, allowance to smoke weed in the lobby but no cigarettes). I was staying in a 20 bed dorm, although there are several smaller ones, which had 2 bathrooms and 2 toilets and a window overlooking the street outside. The bed was comfy, the duvet thick and lovely, the pillow was a little thin but could folded over, none the less I had a great 4 nights sleep. The lobby is a great place to socialise with other travellers, it has 3 vending machines but various food and drink are available from reception, the music that plays in the lobby is varied and general really great. You can pay a deposit for a secure locker in your dorm and towels too (useful if you forgot yours like I did) with an optional €1 fee for washing.
A few things; bring your own soap and shampoo, earplugs are of great help, bring a pen and leave your mark in the lobby

Room Tip: All the dorms have at least 1 bathroom with shower and toilet then it's just a matter of how muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

The rooms and bathrooms were freezing cold and barely heated, and it's nearly June! No hot water comes out of the bathroom sinks and no handsoap is provided. The common area is great for hanging out, except they have a ridiculous no-outside-beer rule; they have signs that claim that the beer they sell in the hostel is a good price so you should buy it, but their beer costs 2€ for 33cl, whereas at the grocery store beer is as cheap as 0.59-0.70€ for 50cl. This policy is greedy and underhanded. Very disappointing. Other than a lot of minor frustrations, like 4 flights of narrow winding stairs to our rooms and consistently having to wait in a long line at reception to be assisted the hostel isn't bad for a short stay if your standards of upkeep aren't very high!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bob's Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bob's Youth Hostel

Address: Old Centre: New Side | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Bob's Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bob`s Youth Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bob's Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.