We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy with everything!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bob's Youth Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bob's Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Bob's Youth Hostel
Old Centre: New Side | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Happy with everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

I cant get over the previous comments! It's a cheap and cheerful hostel, not a 5* hotel!
The beds were clean and really comfortable, there was no signs of rats or anything like that!
A group of 7 of us went with no expectations at all and were pleasantly surprised! The shower in our room was private and lovely, it was a wet room and the toilet was just outside the door. The place was in a seriously good location, We stayed in the building behind and the cafe "The Doors" is just below and brilliant, can take your own smokes and is very cheap.
I can't fault bobs (except staying four floors up with the steepest stairs, bit tricky especially after a few!) Would stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    56
    62
    52
    74
See reviews for
1
14
39
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leyland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

After reading various online reviews I was unsure what to expect, considering the price I had paid for the rooms I can't complain, the place was tidy and the staff were friendly and helpful and the location of the hostel is great. The breakfast is very minimal (toast and a boiled egg) but this was made up for by the cheap beer prices!
I will definitely be staying here again if I make a return trip to Amsterdam.
Cheap and cheerful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

A place very much below any hostel standards. Although complaints about bed bugs from other guests, no action. In the first night mice and rats kept us awake in the room B. In the second night a guy kicked me out of bed and treated me like some criminal. having prolongued the bed, the night receptionist claimed i didnt, kicking me out of bed like a criminal in a prison cell. Overall - miserable - if you want to relax - not recommendable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Having read some of the reviews here I wonder what peoples expectations are for a hostel? The lounge is a little tired and the toilets used in that area are a bit grim but the rooms are top notch, I stayed in the other building across the road and it was really nice. Comfy beds, brand spanking new toilets and showers in my room ( F ). If there was a queue for the loo then you can just pop up a level and use the toilet there.
The staff are pretty cool, one douch bag, but other than that it was a cool way to spend a weekend. The location is awesome, about 8 mins walk from Centraal and on the edge of the RLD. Two realy good coffee shops within spitting distance and the tram stops out front.
The stairs could suck but its Amsterdam and thats how the buildings are built!
Plus with Amsterdam being on the water there are always gonna be rats and mice, however i never saw either.
Keep up the good work guys, see you in June!

Room Tip: Room F, few stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Awful experience. This place was disgusting, from the hallways to the lounge to the rooms.... It was dirty. Stayed on the top floor and had to endure a walk up a never ending flight of steep stairs. The lockers were tiny, there was no hot water, the rooms were cold, and the service sucked. I did not expect a 4 or 5 star hotel, however, I did expect some basic amenities and customer service. There are far better places to stay - I highly recommend avoiding this place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

I stayed there for 3 nights (16 beds). The location is great however locations of all the hostels in Amsterdam are great :)
One shower and toilet for 16 people. No shampoo and other staff. Not clean.
Breakfast sucks (2 slice of bread and jam). Emplooyes are not kind, not rude. Don't care for anything. I wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: All rooms suck
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Owing to the terrible reviews on this site, we went with no expectations whatsoever. Therefore, the place turned out to be a very pleasant surprise.
Very nice "reception" coffeeshop area, which is good to chill out in. Great music and you are allowed to eat your own food, drink your own drinks, and smoke your own stuff in there. They also sell cheap drinks. Great location, close to Dam square, supermarket, train station. Breakfast was satisfactory, two pieces of toast, some jam/peanut butter + a bolied egg. For the money we pay it's good.
Staff really helpful and ready to help in everything. Desk open from 8am to 3am. Luggage room very useful.
Bathroom is exceptionally clean and new. Soap provided, amazing shower. Beds are comfy.
Flexible check-in time too. Clean sheets provided, towels too for 1 euro!
All in all, awesome place. The place was a great surprise, excellent value for money.

Negative side is that there was no plug in our room so we had to charge our batteries at the reception and the floor was not always very tidy even though it was cleaned daily.

Room Tip: The 16 bed dorm on the first floor has an amazing new bathroom and no bedbugs! Great shower, soap pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bob's Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bob's Youth Hostel

Address: Old Centre: New Side | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Bob's Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bob`s Youth Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bob's Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.