We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel, reasonable for the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clemens Hotel

Save Saved
You added Clemens Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clemens Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuisstraat 39, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
American living in Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Budget hotel, reasonable for the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

We chose Clemens hotel because it was cheap, centrally located, and the reviews here on Tripadvisor looked reasonable. Plus they let us book only one night on a weekend, when most hotels in Amsterdam require minimum two nights. We stayed in a triple "deluxe room" that was on the same level as the check-in desk. It cost 150 euros a night for three single beds. It's definitely a budget hotel, but it was reasonable given the price.

Pros:
+ they give you a set of keys so you can come and go as you please
+ the room and bathroom were clean
+ the shower had good water pressure
+ free wireless internet that worked fine
+ in April, the room was quiet and the temperature was comfortable
+ room came with extra blankets
+ the staff greeted us with coffee and/or tea
+ breakfast was included, and was perfectly fine

Cons:
- steep, long entry stairway (not a big deal for us, since we're used to stairs)
- a dead insect on our mirror (probably they spray the rooms)
- room was very small and quite crowded with three twin beds
- bathroom was tiny; it was almost impossible to close the door when you were on the toilet
- sheets weren't very high quality--slightly stiff and scratchy, although my friends didn't seem to notice and I still slept fine
- they only gave us one key, and there's no phone in the room and no one at the desk in the evening, so if one person wants to go home before the others, letting them in can be a problem

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    199
    29
    12
    19
See reviews for
57
166
89
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

My flight arrived early, was hoping to drop my bags off when I arrived. It was around 10 am before they answered the phone. Once I made contact with the staff they more than willing to help.

The stairs are steep and long, 30 to reach the reception area. Staff was pleasant and always willing to help in anyway

The room was a economy single and was much larger than I had envisioned. It was the length of the bed and more than twice as wide. Any one that is looking at a budget Hotel should know that shared toilet and showers are a given. I stayed in room #8 which had a balcony.

I do not recommend this property for obese or elderly .

Would definitely stay there again.

All in all its a good location and the room was clean

  • Liked — Location and price.
  • Disliked — Its Amsterdam-the stairs.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2009

We booked this hotel after reading about it in a well-known travel guide.
First thing I have to comment: if you are that person who scares just thinking of stairs, be very away from this place! Their "welcome-stair" can really take any breath away. But if you remember you're in Amsterdam, where probably 99% of the buildings don't have lifts, that will be ok!
Now, let's point the facts: this hotel has a great location, easily reached by tram from any place you are. You can even walk directly from main train station (about 15 to 20 minutes on foot).
Anne Frank's house stands no more than 5 minutes from there.
Staff were friendly. We were given some maps and a kind of cultural agenda, showing several events that would take place in Amsterdam along the week ahead.
Rooms are good, confortable and everyday cleant. Our room was equipped with fridge and strongbox.
Breakfast is excellent.
In my opinion this is a good place where money really values!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Stairs
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA USA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at the Clemens Hotel. The room was great. Very clean and quaint. We had a private room with a shower and toilet. Excellent location with a great balcony view - within walking distance of most of the big tourist activities. Friendly staff. I would definitely come back!

  • Liked — Location, price,
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenmont, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2008

We really enjoyed the Hotel Clemens because it was clean, cheap, had a delicious breakfast and is in a great location.

The staff was helpful and friendly too.

  • Liked — price, cleanliness
  • Disliked — very small rooms
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2008

I think this hotel may have recently changed ownership because their website seems to be written by a woman named Dee. Our very negative experience with the Clemens Hotel was with a male owner who refused to tell us his name when I asked! We booked this hotel for 2 nights after the review in the Rough Guide called it "excellent." I would say this is not at all the case anymore. We had some problems with the room and tried to talk to this man who said he was the owner and he was incredibly rude, unhelpful, and disrespectful to us. Alarmed by his reaction to our request for a change of room, we asked to get our money back for the second night of our stay, which he promptly refused. In a second incident, on the last morning we were there we had another terribly unpleasant encounter with this same man. The hotel's website says all over the place that breakfast is served until 10:30. We came downstairs at 10:15 and he said breakfast ended at 10 and he refused to even give us a cup for the coffee machine that was still sitting out. He sarcastically asked if we thought that he was supposed to come up and wake us up in time for breakfast. When we said we would just check out then he followed us to the door shaking his keys at us in an extremely bizarre manner. His behavior seemed very threatening and perhaps mentally unstable. I can see no other explanation for a hotel owner to treat customers in this way. I would strongly NOT recommend the Clemens Hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bizarre Owner
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2007

When we booked, we didn't know anything about Queen's Day. We were there the day before Queen's Day until the day after Remembrance of the Dead (like Memorial Day in the U.S.) We were so close to all the action. The night before Queen's Day there is lots of partying, and it seemed especially gregarious by the Homomonument, which is quite close to the Hotel Clemens and the Anne Frank house. Our room, #7, was on the top floor overlooking the main street. The room was quite small, but clean. The bathroom was clean. We had no problem with anything going missing. The main staff member, a young man, was very helpful, and took our bags from the front door up the 37 stairs to reception. He may even have taken them up the next two flights to our floor. I just can't remember now. We were told when we made the reservation that they wanted full payment in cash (Euros) upon checking in. The stairs are not very wide so if you have any balance problem or vertigo, this is not the place for you. In fact, most of the old hotels are like that. We rented the laptop, and it worked nicely, with their wireless internet. We would stay there again.

  • Liked — The location and the staff
  • Disliked — All those stairs, but that's to be expected. At least you get excercise.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clemens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clemens Hotel

Address: Raadhuisstraat 39, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Clemens Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Clemens is a cosy two star hotel with a lovely service in the city centre of Amsterdam. Within walking distance you find the Dam square, the beautiful 'Jordaan area' and the famous '9 streets', Anne Frank house and the Westerchurch. The hotel is located in an amazing monumental building between the canals Herengracht and Keijzersgracht. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your Clemens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clemens Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clemens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.