We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A kozy hotel near "everything"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clemens Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clemens Hotel to your Saves list
Clemens Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuisstraat 39, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bergen, Norway
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A kozy hotel near "everything"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Short walking distance around the city, 15 min to centralstation, 10 min to Damplass, 5 min to Jordan and Anne Franks house.
The staff is excellent and helpful, Danielle adviced us to walk around the city and told us were to go, and we did. Canalboat, Jordan and Canalhouse ... a long day inculding lunch and pitstops (bier and genever). Danielle called around and booked table at very good indonesian restaurant (Long Pura).
Breakfast is good and the rooms are spacious enough. The hotel is not suitable for disable people because of the long stairs and no elevator.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    149
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
51
148
70
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Hotel was clean which is the most important point for me.

Staff were very friendly!

Location was very good, three blocks from shopping street. And the area was safe. Only issue was the traffic noise for the street side rooms.

And wifi worked really well.

Room Tip: As for the non-street side rooms or the room with roof window to get more silent room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kufstein, Austria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in a tiny, but well equipped, stylishly furnished room. It is ideally located just off the busy Dam Square. Because the room was on the garden side, it was quiet (except for church bell chimes) and I could sleep comfortably with the window open. It was very clean and the entire staff was friendly. Breakfast was superb with a fresh and broad assortment of good quality food to choose from. Fresh flowers on the table, too. Wifi was constant and strong everywhere. The only negatives: the stairs up are very, very steep and could pose a challenge for some people, but the staff does offer to carry your luggage. The bathroom lacked shelf space for toiletries. The chair just barely fits under the desk, so I could sit next to, but not at the desk. All in all this was really an incredible value and I shall stay here again next time I visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It would be hard to fault this small hotel. It's official rating may be 2-star but it was nearer 5-star for service, and a lot else besides. Very friendly, helpful staff. Little touches like the welcome ( non-alcoholic ) drink on arrival. As we left after a 2-night stay, we were told " look on this as your home away from home". Compact but very comfortable bedroom. Excellent en-suite shower and facilities. Spotlessly clean. Pleasant reception/lounge area. Extensive and plentiful continental breakfast. Steep, narrow stairs from the street. Conveniently located, 20 minute walk from Centraal Station. As another reviewer said, this is THE place to stay in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Rooms facing street subject to traffic noise but not intrusive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned back to the UK after a brilliant couple of days at this hotel. I checked the reviews before we booked and I'm gonna agree that this hotel is THE place to stay if you, like me, want to avoid the soulless big name alternatives. A soon as we arrived at reception (after climbing the steepest stairs in Europe) we were treated like royalty. Nothing is too much for the reception staff. There's loads of tourist info in reception including a pad of Amsterdam maps from which you can tear off your own copy of which is really handy. We had the double balcony room (301) on the top floor so I was able to smoke on the balcony without needing to climb up and down the three flights of incredibly steep stairs. There used to be a tax based on the width of a house in Amsterdam so as a consequence, in order to make the rooms as big as possible (I use the word big loosely) the stairs are narrow and steep, That's just the way it is.....The hotel is in a great position to explore the city. Dam Square being a 5 min walk away and the Red Light Area around a pleasant 10 min walk, if that. The breakfast is pretty good as well. it's a continental breakfast, as you would expect. I'm a full English breakfast lover myself but even without bacon and sausages I liked it. Whatever you are in the city for, a trip as a couple, boys weekend away etc, this hotel ticks all the boxes. There was a mild down side to our trip I would like to warn you about. We brought advance tickets to the Van Gogh Museum to avoid the queue and walk straight in. This didn't work..... Outside the museum in the morning was around 2 thousand people trying to fit through the entrance. It was a complete free for all with a teenage member of museum staff trying their hand at riot control..... unsuccessfully. We decided to come back later in the afternoon when it was, we were told, likely to be less busy. Yes, it was less busy. Only 1,500 or so people trying to squeeze through any turnstile they could reach at 3.30pm. We gave up. Still have two unused tickets we have paid for in advance we simply could not use. If anyone wants them......

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were in Amsterdam for two nights and stayed in this sweet little hotel. The stairs were definitely steep (but they gave us fair warning of this), and the room was small, but everything was super clean and comfortable. The main lobby was very welcoming, and breakfast was great; there was a small balcony with tables we could sit at for breakfast. There were also two cute cats, and everyone we encountered was very friendly and polite. You can't beat this location - right in Jordaan, not to far from the Anne Frank House.

We would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I realize this sounds a lot like other recent reviews, but I was so pleased I'm writing it anyway.

First, I can't say enough about the service. It's a small hotel and the desk clerk is often the only employee, but both of the ones I encountered were incredibly friendly and helpful, and insisted on helping me with my bags.

The location was great as well. A block from the Anne Frank house, and just a few blocks from the center and the Jordaan. The museums were a bit farther but still within walking distance (and there was public transport nearby). The immediate street wasn't so great because it was a busy thoroughfare, but it had grocery stores, drug stores, etc., plus the charming canal streets were just block or two in every direction.

Finally the value. It looked a lot nicer on TA than similarly-priced hotels, and the pictures were accurate. My friends stayed at a beautiful luxury hotel two blocks away, but I was very happy to have this hotel at half the price in the same area.

The only downside is the stairs, which might be difficult for someone older or with health issues. But again, the employees are happy to help with your bags. And yu are likely to encounter steep stairs anywhere in AMS, especially in the smaller and/or budget hotels which tend to be above ground-floor stores or restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clemens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clemens Hotel

Address: Raadhuisstraat 39, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Clemens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Clemens is a cosy two star hotel with a lovely service in the city centre of Amsterdam. Within walking distance you find the Dam square, the beautiful 'Jordaan area' and the famous '9 streets', Anne Frank house and the Westerchurch. The hotel is located in an amazing monumental building between the canals Herengracht and Keijzersgracht. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Clemens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clemens Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clemens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.