We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel left a big impression” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clemens Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clemens Hotel to your Saves list
Clemens Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuisstraat 39, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Small hotel left a big impression”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The Clemens Hotel is central to many things in Amsterdam. You can get to/from the following places on foot (or bike) quite easily - train station, restaurants, Red Light district, 9 Streets, Anne Frank House, Museums, pubs. The rooms were small but nicely designed with great showers and bathrooms. Reception was helpful and breakfast was good. For a taste of traditional Dutch architecture all you have to do is look up the steep stair case from the front door, it'll put a smile on your face (unless you have a huge suitcase).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    168
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
64
167
75
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights as part of a work trip. I had a single room on 2nd floor. Was a compact room but very clean and had lovely clean bathroom with waterfall shower. TV was as big as the wall!
Bed really comfy (single) and lovely view out the back. Nice to hear church bells each morning too.
Very friendly reception staff. Lovely greeting on arrival and offer of a drink. Were very accommodating to pull up the sofa to let my friend and I watch the penalties when stumbling in from a bar on the evening of the World Cup semis (shame Holland lost :()
Breakfast very nice. Loads on offer, cheeses, breads, toast, cereal etc.. and breakfast room very clean and bright and nice. 2 resident cats very sweet too.
If you want budget with cleanliness and friendliness this is the place to go.
Only downfall, the very steep stairs when you arrive but they are worth the climb and the staff are willing to help with bags etc..
Id probably return for short trips again as actually better than a 4 star I stayed in the month previous!
Location very good too!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Excellent location, staff lovely, breakfast very good, if you are missing your cats while away on holidays: stay here there are two lovely cats to smooch!!! As everyone else said the stairs are steep but even our 77 yr old mother in law managed them 2 to 3 times per dsy

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Me and other 4 people stayed at Clemens for 4 nights. The hotel is well loccated, The staff is kind and helpful. As Amsterdam is a historical city, the hotel buildind doesnt have elevator, the stairs are quite steep, however, if you aren´t a disability, yes, you can to climb it!!!
For the same reason, the bedrooms aren´t new ones, but the price diserves it.
Near to almost everything. Maybe the longest distance is to get Heinneken, 20 minuts walking!
Next time in Amsterdam, clemens will my my hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Had a lovely 3 night stay in this 'boutique' hotel. The location was perfect for Dam Square and the Anne Frank House. The room, although small, was clean and breakfast had everything you needed. We also found the staff very helpful with restaurant recommendations and other local information. The stairs were steep but did not cause a problem for us..in fact it was a source of amusement as well as good exercise! We would certainly stay here again should we re-visit Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden at the back of the hotel are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We spent three nights at Clemens Hotel and absolutely loved it. It has a very cozy, homey atmosphere and the staff is so friendly and helpful... the owner even fixed my broken suitcase for me! The beds are comfortable, the rooms are clean, and the breakfast is delicious. The only "negative" would be the steep and narrow staircases (37 steps from the entrance to reception and 19 steps to the next floor) that you have to navigate, but that is very typical of hotels in Amsterdam. The staff is very willing to carry suitcases up and down the stairs! We loved our stay at this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Very good location, a 5-minute walk from Dam Square and a 10-minute walk from De Wallen. Plenty of choice for breakfast for every taste - meats, cheese, fruit, pastries, juices. Friendly, helpful staff - in any case, suitcases up the stairs to the room we were dragged. The hotel has a lot of information booklets in Amsterdam and other Dutch cities. Near the reception are discount coupons for museums and cafes, the city plans, it was very helpfull. Wi-Fi perfect at any time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Clemens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clemens Hotel

Address: Raadhuisstraat 39, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Clemens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Clemens is a cosy two star hotel with a lovely service in the city centre of Amsterdam. Within walking distance you find the Dam square, the beautiful 'Jordaan area' and the famous '9 streets', Anne Frank house and the Westerchurch. The hotel is located in an amazing monumental building between the canals Herengracht and Keijzersgracht. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Clemens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clemens Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clemens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.