We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clemens Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clemens Hotel to your Saves list
Clemens Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuisstraat 39, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I was a little wary approaching the hotel because it didn't look too promising. But once inside it was lovely and (writing in June 2014) obviously pretty recently refurbished. The staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. The breakfast room was big and airy and beautiful in the morning sun (you can also sit on the terrace overlooking the road). The room was small (minor contortions required to sit on the toilet!) but comfortable. My only tiny gripes: the sound of the nearby musical church bells every 15 minutes became wearing; and the pillow was a little lumpy (but I'm fussy about pillows). I'd happily stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    150
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
52
151
70
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
staffordshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Spent 2 nights at the hotel and really enjoyed our stay. Room was small but clean and modern and with us not spending much time there was fine for our stay. Location is perfect - close to dam square, Anne Frank house and RLD. Staff helpful and free tea and coffee (even after we had checked out) was an added bonus. We were able to leave our luggage with the hotel as we had a late flight. The only thing that could be a negative if you were staying more than a couple of nights is the lack of storage (just a narrow cupboard).
People comment on the steep stairs (yes they are steep!) but this just added to the charm of it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The location was excellent: near Anne Frank's house, the Royal Palace and trams to other attractions. I am reasonably fit and was prepared for the 37 steps up to reception and 19 up to my room. So not recommended if you are not fit or have heavy luggage. As requested on booking, my single room was away from the street and quiet. It was definitely small but its unusual long shape made it functional and a big window (which could be opened) looked onto a large tree in a courtyard. The fittings and decor were modern and fresh. Storage was limited but I had only a small suitcase. The drink on arrival was very welcome and I enjoyed the communal area for guests at various other times. Breakfast was very good and having it on the balcony was a plus. I found the staff pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

The location was great for us, close to sites and train station. After a long trip with two young kids, we were greater with a drink of our choice on arrival. We had our drink on the lovely balcony overlooking the hustle and bustle of everyday Amsterdam.
The stairs leading up to reception are steep (understatement) but at least the receptionist offered to bring our bags up.
Overall, we were very pleased with this hotel, it is obvious that they going the extra step to make the guest comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We spent 2d-1n in Amsterdam and stayed one night in this cute 2-star hotel. Only 25-min walk from the Central train station. If you don't like walking, there are Tram stations near by. The hotel is located at a very nice and beautiful neighborhood and make you feel like you're living in the center of the city:
. 5-min walk to the Anne Frank house
. 25-min walk to Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum
. 25-min walk to Rembrandt House Museum
. 20-min walk to Red-light Dist.

As we expected, we needed to climb up the two stories in order to get to the hotel lobby and cafe, and climbed two more stories up to get to our room; good thing that we don't have any luggage; only backpacks. The hotel staffs and cats are all very friendly. There are free coffee and tea provided to all customers at the cafe which you can enjoy your afternoon tea and take a short break at the balcony right next to the cafe. Room was tiny, but comfortable.

We didn't take any public transportation during our two-day stay and visiting around this beautiful city on foot; which we did enjoy a lot.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I didn't like the fact that my Macbook Air was stolen from my room the first night I was there and the hotel receptionist and owner tried to imply that I was pulling a fast one. They had CCTV and door entry swipe card system which records everything but they did not provide the information and assistance I needed. I asked them to phone the police and they refused at first and only rang when I asked them for the number. The owner said that he would look through the CCTV evidence and let me know what they found. He also said that he would leave the hotel's insurance details. The following morning when I went to check out the morning receptionist didn't have anything for me. Their whole behaviour is suspect and I do not advise staying there. I had to go to the local police station to report the theft and they couldn't understand why the hotel had not provided me with the door entry report to my room at the very least.

Room Tip: The best tip I can give is don't stay there. The room was tiny and I've no reason to believe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelClemens, General Manager at Clemens Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on tripadvisor about our hotel. We appreciate every feedback. We sincerely regret that your Macbook was lost/missing during your stay in Amsterdam. We did everything possible to assist you and to find the laptop for you. Our staff and the management checked the CCTV system second by second from the moment you checked in till the moment you informed us about your missing Macbook and also we ask you to check the system yourself. Also our keycard system was checked and our conclusion was, as we informed you personally, that we can only confirm the laptop was not stolen in our hotel. We even checked these systems more than once following your three different versions of what happened with you Macbook. Possible that you lost it elsewhere in Amsterdam but we are 100% sure that it cannot have happened in our hotel. We informed the police with these conclusions, as you requested, and offered them to pass by to check the system by themselves.
Like many of our guests can confirm we do always everything in our power and even more to assist our appreciated guests. So if there is still something we can do for please contact us any time.
Again and again we welcome any investigation by your insurance company or and other official authorities, any time you like.
We hope that you will return to our lovely city and our great small hotel.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clemens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clemens Hotel

Address: Raadhuisstraat 39, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Clemens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Clemens is a cosy two star hotel with a lovely service in the city centre of Amsterdam. Within walking distance you find the Dam square, the beautiful 'Jordaan area' and the famous '9 streets', Anne Frank house and the Westerchurch. The hotel is located in an amazing monumental building between the canals Herengracht and Keijzersgracht. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Clemens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clemens Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clemens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.