We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice & comfy hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clemens Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clemens Hotel to your Saves list
Clemens Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuisstraat 39, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“very nice & comfy hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We spent 2d-1n in Amsterdam and stayed one night in this cute 2-star hotel. Only 25-min walk from the Central train station. If you don't like walking, there are Tram stations near by. The hotel is located at a very nice and beautiful neighborhood and make you feel like you're living in the center of the city:
. 5-min walk to the Anne Frank house
. 25-min walk to Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum
. 25-min walk to Rembrandt House Museum
. 20-min walk to Red-light Dist.

As we expected, we needed to climb up the two stories in order to get to the hotel lobby and cafe, and climbed two more stories up to get to our room; good thing that we don't have any luggage; only backpacks. The hotel staffs and cats are all very friendly. There are free coffee and tea provided to all customers at the cafe which you can enjoy your afternoon tea and take a short break at the balcony right next to the cafe. Room was tiny, but comfortable.

We didn't take any public transportation during our two-day stay and visiting around this beautiful city on foot; which we did enjoy a lot.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    179
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
75
180
79
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I didn't like the fact that my Macbook Air was stolen from my room the first night I was there and the hotel receptionist and owner tried to imply that I was pulling a fast one. They had CCTV and door entry swipe card system which records everything but they did not provide the information and assistance I needed. I asked them to phone the police and they refused at first and only rang when I asked them for the number. The owner said that he would look through the CCTV evidence and let me know what they found. He also said that he would leave the hotel's insurance details. The following morning when I went to check out the morning receptionist didn't have anything for me. Their whole behaviour is suspect and I do not advise staying there. I had to go to the local police station to report the theft and they couldn't understand why the hotel had not provided me with the door entry report to my room at the very least.

Room Tip: The best tip I can give is don't stay there. The room was tiny and I've no reason to believe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelClemens, General Manager at Clemens Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on tripadvisor about our hotel. We appreciate every feedback. We sincerely regret that your Macbook was lost/missing during your stay in Amsterdam. We did everything possible to assist you and to find the laptop for you. Our staff and the management checked the CCTV system second by second from the moment you checked in till the moment you informed us about your missing Macbook and also we ask you to check the system yourself. Also our keycard system was checked and our conclusion was, as we informed you personally, that we can only confirm the laptop was not stolen in our hotel. We even checked these systems more than once following your three different versions of what happened with you Macbook. Possible that you lost it elsewhere in Amsterdam but we are 100% sure that it cannot have happened in our hotel. We informed the police with these conclusions, as you requested, and offered them to pass by to check the system by themselves.
Like many of our guests can confirm we do always everything in our power and even more to assist our appreciated guests. So if there is still something we can do for please contact us any time.
Again and again we welcome any investigation by your insurance company or and other official authorities, any time you like.
We hope that you will return to our lovely city and our great small hotel.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We were made feel very welcome by the staff. The breakfast options were good with no problem providing Gluten Free options. Stairs to reception and rooms would be a challenge for most people but staff very obliging with carrying bags. Dining room open all day was a plus. Rooms are very small and particularly some garden rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauf
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Spent two nights here and everything was great. Very central for Sightseeing, lovely Restaurants nearby. Delicious breakfast and spotless room. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Steep staircase could be Problem for elderly People. Lovely small balcony out front.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We've just came home from Amsterdam, we had two nights in this hotel. Stuff was extremely friendly and so helpful, they help to find a cheap parking place to our car .We got a small, but nice room at the third floor. There is a lovely breakfast place on the balcony on the first floor.If somebody has problem with stairs, I don't recommend this hotel, cos there are many many steep stairs and no elevator. Hiking these stairs was a good fun for us.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Clemens for 5 nights. The staff are all very friendly and we loved their two cats Michael and Porcelina. Breakfast is buffet style and there is a good selection. The room was spotless as was the reception and breakfast area. It is in an excellent location, near the Anne Frank House and the general area is very picturesque and you can have some lovely walks nearby along the canals. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to everybody. The only problem could be somebody elderly as they have very steep stairs.
Fab hotel in a wonderful city.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This is a budget hotel, but, for the price, I thought the quality was excellent. All the staff were very friendly - even the cats. The bedroom was tastefully and thoughtfully furnished and spotlessly clean. Would happily go again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#99 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,340 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#9 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 861 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#44 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel De Hallen
#29 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Hotel Restaurant Larende
#34 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#46 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clemens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clemens Hotel

Address: Raadhuisstraat 39, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Clemens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Clemens is a cosy two star hotel with a lovely service in the city centre of Amsterdam. Within walking distance you find the Dam square, the beautiful 'Jordaan area' and the famous '9 streets', Anne Frank house and the Westerchurch. The hotel is located in an amazing monumental building between the canals Herengracht and Keijzersgracht. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Clemens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clemens Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clemens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.