We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clemens Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Clemens Hotel to your Saves list
Clemens Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuisstraat 39, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #37 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“short trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

perfectly located place, cozy room, super quiet, very clean, nice garden view, had the best sleep in months there! adventurous staircase only suitable for light luggage and flat shoes, but very friendly staff offering assistance anytime! loved the cats! nice breakfast spread with typical dutch treats like pindakaas and stroop. would come back here anytime, thank you for making my bday trip even more special!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    216
    31
    12
    17
See reviews for
62
184
94
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Well located hotel for tourist attractions, with helpful staff. The décor is good, the rooms very clean, and breakfast more than adequate,

The Wi-Fi is good with a strong signal.

The rooms are small but again more than adequate.

I would use again and recommend to others.

The only caution is that there is not a lift so plenty of stairs.

Room Tip: choose the lowest floor possible if you don't like stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

It's a very nice hotel situated at about 5 minutes from dam Plaza. We love everything of this hotel!!! The room is small but clean and also romantic. The breakfast is good with a lot of type of bread, jam and nutella. We love also the stairs so high but very particular in Amsterdam. If we will return to Amsterdam we certanly return in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothwell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

The hotel was quite nice. However, I think I might have expected a little too much by reading the reviews on TripAdvisor. It's a perfectly adequate hotel if you're not expecting too many frills. It's basic accommodation and our room was pretty small.

I know everybody else has said about this but the stairs are a bit daunting to start off with. We had a room on the top floor and we nearly always had to take a break halfway up. You do get used to them a bit though. The staff were always very friendly.

The breakfast isn't much to write home about. It's pretty basic continental style. To be honest, I'm not a big fan of breakfast anyway but I did go down and try it out on the first day. I didn't bother after that. I've stopped in similar hotels with better breakfasts, i.e. a bit more choice.

I think probably the best thing about the hotel is its location. It's about a 10 minute walk from Amsterdam Centraal Station. It's only a couple of blocks from Dam Square. Most attractions are within a walkable distance.

As I said, it's a perfectly good, budget hotel but don't get too carried away with some of the reviews.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor at the front with a balcony. It was nice to have a balcony and be abl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Hotel was good with excellent location very near to Anne Frank House, Dam Square, Madame Tusauds etc. The nearest bus or tram stop is Westermarkt from where you can get connections to Central station and other major points. Breakfast was good. Only issue is hotel stairs are very steep with no lifts. Staff was also good.


  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This Hotel is in a brilliant location. Easy walking distance to Anne Frank House (make sure you book online a good few weeks in advance - the queue was at least 2 hours every day this week). Stairs to the hotel are very steep but the staff are adept in taking your cases up and down. The rooms are well appointed and clean, we were at the front of the hotel so tram and traffic noise was heard although we were so tired at the end of the day it didn't really affect us. Buffet style breakfast was average but plentiful. Staff are very helpful and recommended the Canal tour adjacent to Anne Frank House which was well worth the price of 32 euros hop on/off for 24 hours.

Make sure you check out the area Jordaan opposite Anne Frank house. Wonderful brown cafe Cafe 't Smalle was charming and the neighborhood is so pretty. Loads of very good places to eat and drink nearby - Vlaming eten & drinken on the Prisengracht was divine but make sure you book an online reservation due to its popularity and Trip Advisor rating (well deserved).

A mirror in the main room would have been good but the bathroom one was adequate. Be careful if using the Connexion return transport to airport. Airport to hotel was fine (27 euros return) and we dutifully booked the return journey via our hotel 24hours prior to transfer. The shuttle bus failed to turn up and I had to run back into the hotel, inform the manager on duty who complained and within 20 mins we were sent a taxi at no extra cost. Luckily I had allowed for extra time so even though it was rush hour in the morning we had ample time to check in.
All in all a very nice location at a good price.

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter location at the back of the hotel - noisy trams both day/night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We recently travelled to Amsterdam with friends for 2 nights and booked Hotel Clemens. It proved to be a very good decision. It is ideally situated for sightseeing, and everywhere we wanted to go was never far away. The hotel is clean, the staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful, and the breakfasts were plentiful and tasty. We also really appreciated the complimentary tea and coffee in the comfortable lounge after a busy days walking, also enjoying a drink on the balcony overlooking the street. There was lots of tourist info available to plan the next trip!
Our rooms were comfortable, clean and warm. The stairs were steep, but it was good exercise and after all, the building is historic and beautifully maintained. We would not hesitate to recommend this lovely hotel and hope to return one day!

Room Tip: We slept at the front overlooking the street which was not too noisy - it is a busy city but we slep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clemens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clemens Hotel

Address: Raadhuisstraat 39, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Clemens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Clemens is a cosy two star hotel with a lovely service in the city centre of Amsterdam. Within walking distance you find the Dam square, the beautiful 'Jordaan area' and the famous '9 streets', Anne Frank house and the Westerchurch. The hotel is located in an amazing monumental building between the canals Herengracht and Keijzersgracht. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Clemens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clemens Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clemens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.