We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clemens Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clemens Hotel to your Saves list
Clemens Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuisstraat 39, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Very good hotel very clean had a mix up with booking but all sorted with no extra cost, the only let down really is the noise from the trams and traffic on the front facing rooms, but wouldn't hessitate too stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    168
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
64
167
75
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

The hotel is very well located closed to the Dam place and many restaurants and near canals too. The hotel members are really nice and try to help you all the time for any needs.
Rooms though they are small (characteristic from all Amsterrdam hotels) are very convenient, cosy and we loved decoration; bathroom is very clean and very new.
Food for breakfast is excellent quality and you can find everything (cheese, ham, fruits, cereals, yogurts...). They are very nice cats in the wecoming room which gives a cocooning effect.
Very good hotel for a romantic week end! We recommend and we will comme back for sure!

Room Tip: for the rooms ask for a room on the garden side = more peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Excellent location and good overall impression. Breakfast was really good and had all the stuff you could usually imagine eating for a breakfast. Besides stairs and room size which everyone mention, I would point out not consistent maintenance of cleanness and noise levels on the street side of the hotel.Even the beds were extra comofortable, trams and airplanes definitely did influence sleep, in a bad way ofcourse. :)

Room Tip: Select room with view on a garden side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

The Hotel is a 15 min walk away from Amsterdam Centraal. 3 Minutes to Madame Tussauds and the city center. Around the Hotel are Bakerys, a Supermarket, Tram Station...
I got a Singleroom, it was small but enough and nice with fridge and HD LCD. I think the whole Hotel is renovated in 2013, everything is clean and ok. The Breakfast ist good and there is the whole Day Cafe 4 free! If you pay thr room cash, you get a 5% discount!
If i stayed next time in Amsterdam is book this Hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Annecy, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Beautifull surprise for our first visit in Amsterdam. Very charming hotel, well located, renewed recently. We had a good welcoming with helpfull hosts. We asked for a double room with garden view, very quiet, clean and confortable. We recomend!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in a single room early in January and was so impressed I brought my husband back to stay in a double later in the month.

Upon my first arrival I was a little sceptical when I opened the door to 'that' staircase! I was however more than impressed when the lovely chap at reception came down to carry my 30kg suitcase up the stairs. You won me instantly!

I was too early to check in and while I waited in the lovely reception area I was offered a laptop and Internet access to help pass the time. The two beautiful cats also kept me entertained.

Yes the rooms are very cosy (both single and double) but they are also newly refurbished and immaculate. For a short stay this hotel is perfect, fantastic location, friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast, 24/7 tea and coffee in the reception lounge and excellent value for money!

Well done Clemens Hotel I will be back. (And I will try to pack lighter next time)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Clemens Hotel is very near from the center. Rooms are minimalists, but with all the necessary for a short stay. Breakfast is excellent. Clemens Hotel is very near from the center. Rooms are minimalists, but with all the necessary for a short stay. Breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Clemens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clemens Hotel

Address: Raadhuisstraat 39, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Clemens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Clemens is a cosy two star hotel with a lovely service in the city centre of Amsterdam. Within walking distance you find the Dam square, the beautiful 'Jordaan area' and the famous '9 streets', Anne Frank house and the Westerchurch. The hotel is located in an amazing monumental building between the canals Herengracht and Keijzersgracht. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Clemens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clemens Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clemens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.