We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little jewel, but be ready to climb narrow and steep stairs!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clemens Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clemens Hotel to your Saves list
Clemens Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuisstraat 39, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #35 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A little jewel, but be ready to climb narrow and steep stairs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We loved this little hotel, perfectly situated in the heart of Amsterdam literally a few minutes' walk from the Anne Frank Huis. Rooms were very small but comfortable and laid out well -- we got our best sleep of our trip here -- but those stairs two flights up to check in are not for the faint of heart (we had no problem with them, but they are not stairs our septuagenerian and octogenarian parents could handle). Nice breakfast, very nice staff, and a welcome change from chains. Highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    220
    31
    12
    17
See reviews for
64
188
96
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with my husband this January. If you're looking for cosy, friendly with all the basics this place is perfect. It's centrally located so great for sightseeing. Very clean and tidy, nicely decorated and often had flowers out, and we found all the staff to be very courteous and helpful. The room was quite small but comfortable and had an ensuite. Good continental breakfast buffet offered in the morning. Also, our flight wasn't leaving Amsterdam until 9pm and they were quite happy to store our bags all day after we checked out which was very convenient. Overall, highly recommend as a cheap and cheerful place to stay and enjoy Amsterdam!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Hotel Clemens is a great hotel nearby “De Dam” and not far from the Jordaan. The employees are friendly and helpful. Everything is clean and well maintained. The rooms are quite small, and in room 203 isn’t space for a big suitcase. Breakfast is basic but complete. To enter the hotel, you need to climb a narrow, and quite steep staircase. For less able people this can be a problem. The hotel has 2 sweet cats which walk around freely in the lobby annex breakfast room. If you are allergic, this might be a problem.

Room Tip: I think 203 is one of the smallest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Lovely clean hotel - very impressed. Typical steep Dutch stairs to the reception & rooms so not for the infirm. Friendly staff, good location, on the whole I would stay here again. However breakfast left a lot to be desired not a lot of choice would of liked something a bit more substantial to start the day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for one night whilst heading back from a business trip elsewhere in Holland. The staff in the hotel were very friendly and always willing to help. I had a single room which was very small but perfectly comfortable. The en-suite again was very small but well finished. Breakfast was a buffet with a nice selection but with no hot option. Overall a very nice a comfortable hotel in a very lovely area of Amsterdam (nice and central).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This January was the second time I stayed in Clemens Hotel. It is centrally located.The rooms are small, but convenient; they have been reinnovated and they are stylish in a simple way. The personnel is friendly, polite, discreet. The breakfast much better than the last time I visited (July 2013): they even offer peanut butter now! As a returning customer I had a discount, booking with them I had a price that was even better than the one I found in booking sites. I will certainly book a room again in Clemens Hotel next time I visit Amsterdam.

Room Tip: don't be afraid of the stairs! the rooms on the third floor overlooking Raadhuisstraat are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We just got back from New Years Eve at the Hotel Clemens on our way home from East Africa. If you are over nighting in Amsterdam and do'nt need a lot of space, rooms are small, this is a great hotel. Everything is spotless, you have everything you need, staff are extremely helpful and its central location makes it easy to visit down town. we walked from Central Station and the price is right! We will stay here again while in Amsterdam..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clemens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clemens Hotel

Address: Raadhuisstraat 39, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Clemens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Clemens is a cosy two star hotel with a lovely service in the city centre of Amsterdam. Within walking distance you find the Dam square, the beautiful 'Jordaan area' and the famous '9 streets', Anne Frank house and the Westerchurch. The hotel is located in an amazing monumental building between the canals Herengracht and Keijzersgracht. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Agoda, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Clemens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clemens Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clemens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.