We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clemens Hotel

Save Saved
You added Clemens Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Clemens Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuisstraat 39, Amsterdam 1016 DC, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Lancs
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Lovely clean hotel - very impressed. Typical steep Dutch stairs to the reception & rooms so not for the infirm. Friendly staff, good location, on the whole I would stay here again. However breakfast left a lot to be desired not a lot of choice would of liked something a bit more substantial to start the day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    177
    29
    11
    19
See reviews for
46
153
84
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for one night whilst heading back from a business trip elsewhere in Holland. The staff in the hotel were very friendly and always willing to help. I had a single room which was very small but perfectly comfortable. The en-suite again was very small but well finished. Breakfast was a buffet with a nice selection but with no hot option. Overall a very nice a comfortable hotel in a very lovely area of Amsterdam (nice and central).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This January was the second time I stayed in Clemens Hotel. It is centrally located.The rooms are small, but convenient; they have been reinnovated and they are stylish in a simple way. The personnel is friendly, polite, discreet. The breakfast much better than the last time I visited (July 2013): they even offer peanut butter now! As a returning customer I had a discount, booking with them I had a price that was even better than the one I found in booking sites. I will certainly book a room again in Clemens Hotel next time I visit Amsterdam.

Room Tip: don't be afraid of the stairs! the rooms on the third floor overlooking Raadhuisstraat are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We just got back from New Years Eve at the Hotel Clemens on our way home from East Africa. If you are over nighting in Amsterdam and do'nt need a lot of space, rooms are small, this is a great hotel. Everything is spotless, you have everything you need, staff are extremely helpful and its central location makes it easy to visit down town. we walked from Central Station and the price is right! We will stay here again while in Amsterdam..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bornem, Belgium
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Very friendly staff, cosy atmosphere (the two cats give it an extra homey feeling). We have counted the steps of the staircase: there were 53 to our room! But the staff helps you with your luggage, you don't have to carry them yourself. When I visit Amsterdam again, I shall certainly book this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Very friendly and helpfull staff, beautiful hotel and rooms, excellent location.
I stayed here for a 3 nights and 4 day mini break. It was in a very good location for just about all you can see in Amsterdam, from shopping, bus trips, canal boat trips and Dam square. On the main road you can get buses or trams to everywhere and the main train station is a good fifteen minute walk and 3 minutes to Anne Frank House.
My room was comfortable, modern and clean. There is coffee and tea available all the time in the lobby. The breakfast was fantastic which a rather nice way to start the day is! There were cheese, fruit, eggs, bacon, sausage, cakes, pastries, juices, etc.
Enjoyed the local’s sense of humor, found them to be very warm and friendly.
I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Just arrived back from a short stay at Hotel Clemens. Beautiful boutique hotel. Rooms are small but what else do you need to sleep & shower in. Very steep steps so not recommended if u struggle with stairs. Very central & lovely location. Breakfast was lovely. Staff were very nice & helpful. Would totally recommend this hotel & I would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clemens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clemens Hotel

Also Known As:
Clemens Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Raadhuisstraat 39, Amsterdam 1016 DC, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Clemens Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Clemens is a cosy two star hotel with a lovely service in the city centre of Amsterdam. Within walking distance you find the Dam square, the beautiful 'Jordaan area' and the famous '9 streets', Anne Frank house and the Westerchurch. The hotel is located in an amazing monumental building between the canals Herengracht and Keijzersgracht. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Clemens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clemens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.