We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clemens Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clemens Hotel to your Saves list
Clemens Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuisstraat 39, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Bornem, Belgium
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Very friendly staff, cosy atmosphere (the two cats give it an extra homey feeling). We have counted the steps of the staircase: there were 53 to our room! But the staff helps you with your luggage, you don't have to carry them yourself. When I visit Amsterdam again, I shall certainly book this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    159
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
58
159
72
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Very friendly and helpfull staff, beautiful hotel and rooms, excellent location.
I stayed here for a 3 nights and 4 day mini break. It was in a very good location for just about all you can see in Amsterdam, from shopping, bus trips, canal boat trips and Dam square. On the main road you can get buses or trams to everywhere and the main train station is a good fifteen minute walk and 3 minutes to Anne Frank House.
My room was comfortable, modern and clean. There is coffee and tea available all the time in the lobby. The breakfast was fantastic which a rather nice way to start the day is! There were cheese, fruit, eggs, bacon, sausage, cakes, pastries, juices, etc.
Enjoyed the local’s sense of humor, found them to be very warm and friendly.
I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Just arrived back from a short stay at Hotel Clemens. Beautiful boutique hotel. Rooms are small but what else do you need to sleep & shower in. Very steep steps so not recommended if u struggle with stairs. Very central & lovely location. Breakfast was lovely. Staff were very nice & helpful. Would totally recommend this hotel & I would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

I booked this hotel solely based on location and was very pleasantly surprised at how great this hotel was. I stayed in a single room overlooking the garden (rather than the main street). The room is a bit on the small side but very cozy, clean, with good wifi, tv with plenty of stations, and lastly (definitely not least, to me) a nice bathroom.

The breakfast offering is a nice plus, the staff are very friendly - really fantastic to deal with. If you like cats - there are a couple roaming around reception for you to meet.

The hotel is located just outside of what I call "the busy side" of central Amsterdam. It's about a 10 min walk to the train station, couple min to Dam Square, and pretty much 15-30 min walk to many of the sites you will want to check out in the city. If walking is not your thing, there's a bike rental downstairs, and the tram runs along the main street in front of the hotel.

One thing to take note - if you have trouble with stairs, you may want to reconsider this location. There is no lift in this hotel and the stairs are steep. Other than that, had an amazing stay here and would recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Home from home.In a fab location for exploring.Clean.Comfy beds,excellent shower.Friendly staff.generous breakfast and

teas and coffees.would definately return .stairs are a bit steep so need to be fit.Enjoyed every bit of our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

The hotel is nice, clean, well located, and the staff is very welcoming.
We asked a room on the garden side, which we had, it was very quiet, but also very small, even just for 2 (it was hard to find space for our luggage)
Beds were confortable, and bathroom was normal size.
We stayed for 2 nights, and the bedroom was not cleaned after the first night: bed not done, bedsheets unevenly folded, the bathroom was not cleaned up...so I'm not sure what was done exactly.
Breakfast is really complete, in a cosy room...but beware of the 2 peaceful hotel cats, if you are allergic of animals!
In spite of this, I would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the quiet side of the hotel, and not on the last floor(not elevator)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This little hotel more than surprises you...it is delightful. Yes, the stairs are steep, but very worth it in the charming coffee area and welcoming ways of the staff. We had a cup of coffee and a cookie while the room was being prepared. We were early because of our flight, and the desk clerk assured us that they would deliver our luggage to our room. They did do that for us which was very considerate.
The breakfast is included and was more than adequate. They also allowed us to have coffee, tea or hot chocolate at anytime we chose.
The location is just west of Dam Square and a beautiful area to walk whether day or night. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, providing one can climb stairs.

Room Tip: The garden view was quiet enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Clemens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clemens Hotel

Address: Raadhuisstraat 39, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Clemens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Clemens is a cosy two star hotel with a lovely service in the city centre of Amsterdam. Within walking distance you find the Dam square, the beautiful 'Jordaan area' and the famous '9 streets', Anne Frank house and the Westerchurch. The hotel is located in an amazing monumental building between the canals Herengracht and Keijzersgracht. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Clemens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clemens Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clemens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.