We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clemens Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clemens Hotel to your Saves list
Clemens Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuisstraat 39, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in November 2013. An absolutely great location, only minutes walk from Dam square and on a main road. Easy enough to find. The only downsides to the hotel are th staircase and the size of the rooms. When we say it was step stairs I mean really really steep. The rooms, tiny. Literally just enough room to navigate around and no more. However this is more than made up for by the location, comfort, and friendliness of the staff. We were greeted armly, and offered drinks on arrival. Throughout the stay, the staff were very frindly and helpful. The rooms are spotless clean and well nicely decorated. The breakfast rooms and balcony likewise. Overall, a hidden little gem that is well worth it if you are looking for somewhere central clean and friendly. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    178
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
74
180
79
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We arrived at approx. 1pm and were greeted with complimentary tea/coffee whilst we completed the brief registration form. We were given a map, which the receptionist talked us through and highlighted the main points of interest.

Our room was at the front with 2 large windows, space was tight with just enough room to get around the bed. Furniture was minimal but functional. There is a small built in wardrobe with complimentary safety deposit box and 7 wooden hangers, which suited us fine for our short stay. The bathroom was small but again functional with a larger than average cubical shower. The shower has both a handheld and rain shower and the water was constantly hot. Room decor was light and modern. The only thing I missed was a full length mirror. I would also add that it was my birthday the day before arrival and a card and fresh flowers were in the room on arrival, which was such a lovely touch.

Breakfast was great and constantly replenished. On the menu was boiled eggs, croissants, muffins, cold meats, cheeses, toast, bread rolls, preserves, fruit, fresh fruit juice, tea/coffee, speciality teas, cereals etc. It kept us going while lunch.

The communal areas were two large rooms making up the dining and reception areas. They were pleasant and we enjoyed sitting in there after a day exploring.

Clemens is a 5 min walk from the Anne Frank house, 5 mins from Dam Sq and 15/20 mins from the Rijkmuseum. We walked from Central Station which took us 15 mins and was great considering we only had walking directions from Google maps. On the way back it took about 10 mins. We didnt use trams at all while we were there as we felt they weren't needed and it was lovely walking around anyway. There is a large supermarket on the corner, which sells anything you may have forgotton and shops/bars/restaurants are in the immediate vicinity.

All in all a great stay and just what was expected from our 3 night stay. I wouldnt hesitate to go back. Thanks Clemens staff!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed here with my Partner a few weeks ago, absolutely gorgeous hotel on arrival, were kept waiting roughly an hour for the room to be ready as someone checked out late, & when entering the room we were shocked by how small it was, definitely not a Luxury Double! double bed shoved in with barely enough room to get down the sides, beautiful décor throughout and brilliant facilities, just a shame about the size... Anyway,

when it came to us leaving for the airport, we realised (once already in the taxi) that we'd left our camera on charge in the room, we contacted the hotel as soon as we got the chance, to be told nothing had turned up, we searched all our baggage to double check, but it was DEFINITELY left in the room! most likely an opportunist cleaner, now the expense of replacing a camera, not to mention all the photos now lost! all because of a dishonest member of staff, really put us off staying again! Would not recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

That's really excellent hotel for short trip. The rooms are not so large but clean. The staff is kind? Hospitality is everywhere. Excellent breakfast! The only one thing - the stair is high! I will stay here next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Very good indeed - with a really excellent location in the heart of the beautiful western canal belt. Very central but also calm and peaceful. From the moment we were met and offered a drink while we wound down to leaving we were impressed by the staff. Decor was modern and stylish. Breakfast excellent. Our bedroom was small - only just enough room for a double bed and a small desk - which didn't bother us but might be a downside for some. Loses a mark because the 'double' bed was in fact two singles which made for a less comfortable night's sleep. Still, I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Quivox, Ayrshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights. Bedroom & toilet were clean and well presented. Centrally located behind the Royal Palace. Good choice for breakfast. Nice balcony to eat on if weather is good. I enjoyed a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#100 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,335 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#9 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 859 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#44 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Restaurant Larende
#34 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#29 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#47 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clemens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clemens Hotel

Address: Raadhuisstraat 39, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Clemens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Clemens is a cosy two star hotel with a lovely service in the city centre of Amsterdam. Within walking distance you find the Dam square, the beautiful 'Jordaan area' and the famous '9 streets', Anne Frank house and the Westerchurch. The hotel is located in an amazing monumental building between the canals Herengracht and Keijzersgracht. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Clemens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clemens Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clemens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.