We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a balcony room!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clemens Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clemens Hotel to your Saves list
Clemens Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuisstraat 39, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #35 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Get a balcony room!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here with the missus last week for 5 nights and we were very happy with the hotel. the first thing that greets you is a very long steep staircase (no lift so not suitable for those who struggle with stairs) but they will offer to carry your bags up, I decided to take the challenge. Only made one breakfast (Served until 10am) no complaints standard continental breakfast but get there early because the food is limited. The room was small but I was expecting it due to reviews on here. My favourite part was the balcony I spent a lot of time finding a hotel in Amsterdam with a balcony for a fair price, and this is the place. I only slept in the room the rest of the time was spent out on the balcony. I am a smoker and it makes life so much easier not going downstairs for a smoke. We spent most nights after going out for dinner/exploring drinking, smoking and playing cards on the balcony whilst watching Amsterdam go by. Be back next summer if not before.

Negatives.
No full length mirror
Stairs
two single beds pushed together instead of double and two single duvets

Positives.
Everything else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    220
    31
    12
    17
See reviews for
64
188
96
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I really had a wonderful and unforgettable stay in Amsterdam as a whole because of the superb and warm reception and excellent service of Hotel Clemens. Not to mention the cleanliness of the room, the good breakfast on the terrace and the great location of the place very accessible to all important sightseeing spots, the most that i liked most is the warm accommodation of the owner itself and all the staff especially Mr. Hassan, who is very friendly and helpful to any guest. I will surely come back and stay here again and will certainly recommend this hotel to my friends. And hope to see Mr. Hassan again welcoming me and bringing my luggage up their steep stairs which is a very minimal disadvantage compared to the super excellent cheap price and services of Hotel Clemens. You will never regret staying here...promise!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The staff were very welcoming and friendly. The newly refurbished rooms were of a high standard, clean and comfortable. The stairs are very steep but we had help with our luggage. We had an excellent breakfast sitting out on the balcony. The location is excellent, being within walking distance of many of the sights and restaurants. I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Recently refurbished to a high standard, quiet, clean and comfortable. Aircon, smart card entry, great breakfast, fantastic service (all staff especially Hassan were outstanding). 24 hour desk. Steep stairs up to hotel lobby on 2nd floor and no lift in the hotel might be a little difficult for those who struggle physically. Will come back here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I spent three nights in the Hotel Clemens and. Had an excellent stay. The staff were very welcoming, looked after my case as I arrived early and gave me a free welcome drink. The room was spotless, and well furnished, the shower room clean and modern and they also had BBC on the TV. Staff at breakfast couldn't have been more helpful, getting me fresh coffee and carrying some of my breakfast onto terrace. Great location within easy walking distance of everything and some good food spots nearby. Would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, GA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I really enjoyed Hotel Clemons, and would stay there again. The pluses are location (down the street from the Westerkirk and the Anne Frank House) , friendly and helpful English-speaking staff, excellent and varied breakfast in a lovely, open common room with balcony, clean & pleasant if tiny room. The only minus is the stairs. In common (I think) with the other budget hotels in this block, there are no elevators allowed in the historic building. The steep and narrow stairs from the street to the reception area are daunting; let the staff help you with your luggage arriving and departing! The stairs to your room are likewise. I am in my 60's and handled them without difficulty, but I might not be able to in 10 years' time!

Room Tip: My superior single on the 2nd floor faced the back of the property, into a large tree and the neighb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Great location (10-15 min. walk from Train Station). Tiny single room yet SO cozy-functional, renovated, clean & pleasant. Hotel staff were terrifically friendly & helpful....well beyond the call of duty (e.g. breakfast room staff person knew I needed earphones and offered me his own new pair). Just be prepared to enjoy lots of stairs. All this goodness for a pre-booked room at 70 euros = sweet value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clemens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clemens Hotel

Address: Raadhuisstraat 39, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Clemens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Clemens is a cosy two star hotel with a lovely service in the city centre of Amsterdam. Within walking distance you find the Dam square, the beautiful 'Jordaan area' and the famous '9 streets', Anne Frank house and the Westerchurch. The hotel is located in an amazing monumental building between the canals Herengracht and Keijzersgracht. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Clemens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clemens Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clemens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.