We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location, Friendly Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clemens Hotel

Save Saved
You added Clemens Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clemens Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuisstraat 39, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #37 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Convenient Location, Friendly Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I admit that I didn't read the reviews before I booked this place. So after we dragged our luggage from Central train station and after a long walk (the walk from Central Train Station is about 20 minutes), my sister and I finally buzzed for the door to be opened. We swung the door open and surprise! A very long steep steep staircase awaited us. I was a bit shocked and dreaded lugging the luggage up the narrow staircase. I saw images of the room on their website and it looked pretty decent. When I booked I used the 5% off coupon code from the site, it still wasn't the cheapest because later I looked and prices actually went down another 20% for the nights I booked. I booked Clemens for three nights.
The service was pleasant and amiable. We were placed on the "2nd floor." The rooms were newly remodeled. The rooms are quite compact. The bathroom was even smaller. You had to shift your knees to the side when using the bathroom. I guess for a budget hotel, it was decent. The location is great as it is within walking distance( less than 5 minutes away) to the Anne Frank Museum. There is a large supermarket nearby. Dam Square is also very close by. A simple breakfast was also included. The breakfast consisted of yogurt, simple ham and cheese, croissants, and an array of breads you can toast. Drinks included coffee, tea, milk, and juices. The helper was very courteous and nice. I would give Hotel Clemens above average experience. When I left, I asked the front desk to help me with the luggage. After a long day of walking, the stairs was a deterrent for me. I didn't think the price was super cheap for a two star. However, service was great.

Room Tip: My room was the first room on the 2nd floor and it didn't have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    209
    29
    11
    17
See reviews for
60
177
90
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Staffs were very helpful, always helped us to carry our luggages up and down to the steep stairs, gave us some tips to visit nice places, or just having a small chat was also nice. We really felt like home and finally extended our stay there. It was few days after my mom's birthday and even I didn't request anything though, they prepared a birthday card for her in our room and she was so happy about it. We will definitely come back to this hotel for our next trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Staff very friendly and helpful, room clean and neat, though VERY small (I stayed in a single). Breakfast was welcome each morning too. Location great, made the whole town accessible without fuss. I would be very happy to recommend this hotel to others, simply ensure you are aware that rooms are not the largest!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We were first worried that the hotel didnt have seperate bathrooms so we emailed them to double check. They responded the 2nd day saying that it was newly renovated and had seperate bathrooms so we decided to check it out. We cannot say enough good things about this hotel. Its newly renovated and CLEAN. The staff were nice and polite. The beds are comfortable and the location is Great! 5min walk from the dam square and 5min walk from the ann frank museum. 10min walk from the central station. The breakfast was simple yet fresh the bread tasted to good. The stairs are steep but for us living in a non european country we enjoyed the traditional style of the whole hotel. We cannot say enough great things about this hotel. We enjoyed every min of it. Extremly nice people. Thank you clemens hotel for making our stay a membrable one. Will 100% stay in this same hotel again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel has very friendly employers. The room is wonderful, all is brandnew and it has a clima machine! Near from the central (15-20min to walk and 5-10min with the tram) and its a real good location. And the two hotel cats are the best, very symphatic!:) we would come again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilkenny
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed in Clemens Hotel in May for my Boyfriends 30th for two nights. When I was booking a hotel I was hoping to get a 3* but was delighted with this great 2* hotel for the price.
I already knew about the stairs before we arrived so this was okay for us & the staff offered to help with our luggage on check in & check out. The staff were so nice on arrival & we got a complimentary drink which was well needed after the walk from the train (which isn't too far at all).
I was so surprised with the room when we got in as it was so new & clean looking & even the bathroom, it was more like a 4* room rather than 2*. We asked for a balcony which we received & were so thankful for.The rooms even had air conditioning (which we don't have here in Ireland or need).
The breakfast was perfect no complaints. The hotel is in a great location, 5/10 min walk to dam square.
I myself work as a receptionist in a 4* hotel in Ireland & can say I will definitely be back to stay in this hotel as i know we would be well looked after! Big thanks to all the staff.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony you may need to walk more stairs....worth it though! Not suitable for people w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The staff was very helpful and friendly. The location made it easy to get to everything. The hotel was on a busy street, yet the rooms were quiet and clean. The bread wasn't very fresh the first day, but it was better the next day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clemens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clemens Hotel

Address: Raadhuisstraat 39, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Clemens Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Clemens is a cosy two star hotel with a lovely service in the city centre of Amsterdam. Within walking distance you find the Dam square, the beautiful 'Jordaan area' and the famous '9 streets', Anne Frank house and the Westerchurch. The hotel is located in an amazing monumental building between the canals Herengracht and Keijzersgracht. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, EasyToBook, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Clemens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clemens Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clemens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.