We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clemens Hotel

Save Saved
You added Clemens Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clemens Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuisstraat 39, Amsterdam 1016 DC, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Daytona Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Perfect location and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We recently stayed at the Clemens prior to a Rhine River cruise. From the first moment, we were impressed by the two managers (who do everything from front desk to cleaning rooms to hauling suitcases up the narrow, steep stairs). The room was small but spotless, and the location could not have been better. We could see the Old Church and other lovely buildings from our balcony and were thrilled we had made the selection we did for our hotel.

Room Tip: Deluxe room with balcony well worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    195
    29
    12
    19
See reviews for
56
165
89
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I picked Hotel Clemens from the reviews read on this site and was not disappointed. The room was cozy and clean, the breakfast ample enough to keep me full until dinner, and the reception staff were so nice and helpful. The location was great, near everything.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

A very welcoming hotel in a central area of the city which meant that most of the attractions were only a few minutes walk away. Clean and comfortable room along with a good buffet breakfast selection made for a great start to the day. Would certainly have no hesitation in coming back here on my next trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggggg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

the room was very clean and comfortable.
the man at the reception desk was very polite and efficient.
ther was a little noisy from the street and the ajacent "public" shower and toilet.
the location of the hotel is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We only had a short stay in Amsterdam and thought the hotel was in a great, central location. The room is comfortable, it is not super flashy, but has everything that you need to enjoy your stay. It is just slightly away from red light district, so you can get away from the busy part of town, but it is very close to trams and still walking distance to everything you need. Anne Frank House is just around the corner and there is great restaurants in walking distance to hotel. Would recommend staying here, just beware of the very steep stair cases. We were aware of them from other reviews, so they were not a problem, just don't expect a lift or anything.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I really liked the experience of being a guest at Clemens Hotel. Clean rooms, warm reception, good breakfast, great location and good price make this small but cozy hotel my next stop any time I decide to go Amsterdam. Hotel personnel make you feel a special guest.
I strongly recommend Clemens to anyone willing to be well treated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Atmosphere and location are excellent. Ten to fifteen minute walk from Central Train Station. Breakfast and breakfast room was very nice. Amenities are simple and good with no problems or complaints. Rooms were very clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clemens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clemens Hotel

Address: Raadhuisstraat 39, Amsterdam 1016 DC, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Clemens Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Clemens is a cosy two star hotel with a lovely service in the city centre of Amsterdam. Within walking distance you find the Dam square, the beautiful 'Jordaan area' and the famous '9 streets', Anne Frank house and the Westerchurch. The hotel is located in an amazing monumental building between the canals Herengracht and Keijzersgracht. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, EasyToBook, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Clemens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clemens Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clemens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.