We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality beyond imagination!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clemens Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clemens Hotel to your Saves list
Clemens Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuisstraat 39, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #34 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portballintrae, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hospitality beyond imagination!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

It was our 4th visit to amsterdam and this time we decided to go for something more like a budget hotel to see what the difference would be...and my god, that was a great move. Hotel is located between Prinsengracht and Keisengracht, both probably the most picuresque canals in the city, close to the Westerchurch which always tells you an accurate time so you don't have to check your watch:). Hotel is very clean and a breakfast is good too. Number of stairs gives you an opportunity to even do some simple exercise.Our room was small (budget) but deadly, with a window facing hypnotizing sunsets over an amazing, historical roof tops.The room was cozy enough with a basin and a flat tv set,although never used...But most of all we would like to emphasize incredible hospitality of the staff. Ahmed is the most benign and helpful receptionists/managers of all the various hotels we have called at during our previous visits to this dreamlike city and his persona is beyond doubt what makes this hotel stand out. We can highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a cleanliness and a home away from home.Thank you so much Ahmed and greetings to Magdalena. PEACE&LOVE.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    242
    34
    13
    17
See reviews for
70
220
107
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We had an excellent stay at the Clemens Hotel, the staff were very polite, the hotel was nicely done up, the location was excellent and they helped us with everything we needed. The breakfast was really yummy too. The room (3 bed deluxe) had 1 double bed and 1 single which were all very comfy, the bathroom was clean and we had fresh towels every day and flowers put in our room. We will hopefully be coming back near the end of the year and will definitely try and book with this hotel again, thank you very much for having us.

Room Tip: Choose this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

The staff of the Clemens are just lovely - so friendly and helpful. The hotel is central to everything being only about 500 m away from Dam Square. We stayed at the hotel twice - a few days at the start of our trip around Holland and a few days at the end. Our first room had its own bathroom and was quite spacious, the second was quite small with shared toilet and shower a few steps down the hall. Both rooms were beautifully clean and neat, complete with fresh vases of flowers. I would suggest though that with the very steep stairs to enter the hotel and very compact facilities, this would not be the best place if you are not reasonably fit! We liked it and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

The Clemens is one of a number of small hotels on the floors above an ornate arcade of shops between Dam square and the Ann Frank house. The hotel is very conveniently located, reasonably priced (central Amsterdam IS expensive) and offers a very friendly welcome. The only downsides are steep stairs, smallish rooms and a slightly cramped breakfast room.

We liked it and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed in a shared bathroom twin room. The room was very small and the beds too. But I have to say, it was confortable, and very clean. The bathroom and separated showers were really clean. The room had windwos to the street which was nice.
THe location was superb, close to everything, really really central.
The guy at the reception was very friendly, helpful and polite.
The hotel does have lots of steep stairs, so if you're in bad shape that's not a hotel for you.
Considering it was queensday weekend, we paid 80 euros per night, and any other hotel with rooms by then was much more expensive.
I certainlty would say here again, on the assumption that 80 euros is the normal price for a small room in the very centre of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clemens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clemens Hotel

Address: Raadhuisstraat 39, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Clemens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Clemens is a cosy two star hotel with a lovely service in the city centre of Amsterdam. Within walking distance you find the Dam square, the beautiful 'Jordaan area' and the famous '9 streets', Anne Frank house and the Westerchurch. The hotel is located in an amazing monumental building between the canals Herengracht and Keijzersgracht. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, T4B, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Clemens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clemens Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clemens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.