We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too bad for the price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amsterdam Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Amsterdam Inn to your Saves list
Hotel Amsterdam Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsegracht 111, 1017 ND Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel de Lantaerne) (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #274 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sheffield
1 review
“Too bad for the price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

beacuse it was easter holiday, the price was so expensive for the service, no wifi in my room although it is in the room description , no electricity in the room at night for two days. the room is too small and there was no wordrobe, TV is not working, the room service didn't clean the room every day with no toilet rolls. the girl in the recepition was not helpful at all with no smile. maybe the best point that the hotel is 20 minutes walk to the centre of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    61
    59
    24
    113
See reviews for
29
60
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

I booked my stay here with 2 friends so we booked a triple room. We had booked the hotel before checking the reviews on Trip Adviser so when we did check them we were quite worried what we were going to find! However when we got there the receptionist was really nice and promptly checked us in. We went to our room to be pleasantly surprised, yes, it was small and basic but it was all very clean and the beds were really comfortable. The bathroom was also very clean and was quite large with a shower and a toilet. A lot of people have complained about the stairs in the hotel, they are quite steep, BUT, all buildings in amsterdam are like this so its not just the Lantaernes stairs.

The location of the hotel is amazing. It is virtually on Leidsplein square which offers a lot of bars, resteraunts and "coffee shops". It has a tram stop which is really handy for getting around the city and seeing all the great sights.

We went to a few places whilst we were there but the two i would recommend are the ice bar (amazing), and the anne frank museum!

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is higher up - yes you have to climb a few stairs but the views over the canals...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

I booked this hotel before I knew about Trip Advisor but happened to come across the reviews a few days before my trip. Naturally I was absolutely terrified after reading all of the awful reviews. However, I was really pleasantly surprised.

The location of the hotel is absolutely fantastic - a five minute walk from the Leidseplein, which is a really nice square filled with bars, restaurants, coffee shops etc. There's also a tram station there so it's really handy for catching trams to all over the city.

The room itself was very simple and basic, however, it was immaculately clean and the bathroom was clearly newly fitted. The bedding was clean and soft and the beds were comfortable.

Breakfast was 5 Euro each and was certainly worth it. Again it was a simple/basic breakfast, however you would be hard pressed to find something of the same price in a local cafe.

All in all for the price I paid it was extremely good value for money. Either they must have had some renovations since some of the previous reviews, or I was just lucky enough to stay in one of the nicer rooms (number 18). If you're looking for somewhere cheap and cheerful that's really close to all the main attractions then this hotel is perfectly fine.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Apart from the location, there is nothing else going for this place. Walls and beds were dirty. We booked an en-suite and were given a shared bathroom which was disgusting. There must be better hotels than this in Amsterdam so avoid this.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zouch
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

booked triple room and double and single room , all rooms clean but poor repair, great choice of breakfast best we found for location just off the square with plenty of bars and the argentina steak house is well recommended use this hotel if you just need a bed for the night but its not luxury but it does have the local police station opposite

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

I dont know what to say really.... if the accomadation is clean and basic... i'm happy, but this place is a joke. i had heard of the steep stairs, so i requested a ground floor room. There was four of us on a girls holiday. It took us ages to find the place.. but thats more our bad sense of direction, than there fault. there was a tram line outside our bedroom window.... it stopped at like 1 or 2 in the morning.. started again at 7 am... i was going nuts!... worst sleep ever.... Couldn't open windows.... carpet was vile.... beds were basic... This place is only for stag weekends and budget travelers. The staff were so unhelpful.. really didnt care. The breakfast of cold hard boiled eggs and cheese and bread... was edible. We had to walk outside and down the street to the reception and dining area, its in seperate building. the only plus was its central location and price..... a place i hope i never have the misfortune of staying in again...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#135 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 564 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#250 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
citizenM Amsterdam
#39 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,346 reviews
Hotel Casa 400
#60 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,599 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#104 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amsterdam Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amsterdam Inn

Address: Leidsegracht 111, 1017 ND Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel de Lantaerne)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #274 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Amsterdam Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pictures after renovation 2011environment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Amsterdam Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Lantaerne Hotel
De Lantaerne Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amsterdam Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.