We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal For Those Not Concerned About Their Acommodation” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hoksbergen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hoksbergen to your Saves list
Hotel Hoksbergen
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 301, 1012 WH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ideal For Those Not Concerned About Their Acommodation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have just returned from my first trip to Amsterdam with myself, my partner and another couple. I had a great holiday bar the accommodation. I did not stay in the hotel itself so I do not know what that is like, I stayed in one of the apartments. Firstly the good points, the accommodation is greatly located, we stayed in apartment number 10 and it is only 3 minutes from Dam Square but you're still far away from the rush. It also was good for the price - if you are a group of lads on holiday not concerned about the place you stay, however for two couples which states it sleeps 4+ don't be fooled by this. You enter the accommodation and you have a table & kitchen, then a double bed next to sofa & chairs with a TV for a lounge. The bathroom is well sized and it does include an iron, hairdryer and towels, but not enough towels. Also we only got 1 toilet roll for the entire 4 day stay between 4. The worst part is the second bedroom, it is literally a room that is similar to a prison cell, a bunk bed which fills up the entire room so when you get down you have no space to get down really, and the length of the room is the length of the bunk bed, there is a sink and a light and a concreted in window, so it literally is like a prison cell. And also this bedroom has a glass door so their is no privacy as the double bed in the main part is right next to the door, so for couples this is not how you want to spend your stay. My other faults with this is there was blood on the mattress when we got there, and the window was broken so was wide open all night and was freezing as the heaters aren't very strong and motorbikes and people going past at night are loud, although if you get lucky and get the prison cell you can't hear it! This accommodation would be suited for a group of lads or one couple, not for two couples or even a family. There is an extra single bed right opposite the double bed that pulls out, so this apartment could sleep 5-6 if wanted. Overall my stay here was great in the daytime, when it came to the night and when we slept it was awful. I wouldn't recommend this apartment.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    92
    36
    19
    8
See reviews for
29
93
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

loved this hotel; great breakfast and delightful staff. Steep stairs as is true of these historic buildings, but help was offered for our bags! central location which made getting around easy...walked everywhere!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telavag
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have no trouble in recomending this small but very central Amsterdam hotel. People who have trouble with walking in narrow/steep stairs might consider, because there is no elevator. But GREAT service!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed three nights at Hotel Hokesberqen. Very helpful staff, especially Tony with whom we had the most contact. Excellent buffet breakfast, and one of the main reasons I selected HH in the first place. Nice hot water in the shower. Could hardly ask for a better location. Easy 20 minute walk from train station, close to lots of restaurants and attractions, yet in a quiet area on Singel canal. Only negative was small room, number 10 if I remember correctly.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There is no lift in the hotel and the stairs to the third floor were quite steep. Our room was very small and the bathroom was closet sized. The location was excellent right on the canal (we had a view) and close to the Dam Square and the King's Palace. There are many restaurants and shops in the area. Tony, the front desk clerk, was extremely helpful and gracious. The price is about what you would expect in the center of a major city. The breakfast was more than adequate by European B and B standards.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location was excellent. Close to Dam Square, museums, tours, and resturants. All in walking distance. The staff was most helpful in setting up day tours. Breakfast was included and very adequate. Our room was small but overlooked the canal. We were on the second floor so the narrow and steep stairs were not a problem. No elevator. I imagine the stairs could be a problem for those not in good health. The room was clean and tidy for the 6 days we stayed at this hotel. The price was right considering the price at neighboring hotels. I would certainly consider another stay at the Hoksbergen.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keystone Heights, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My daughter and I just spent 3 nights here. We stayed in the triple room on the first floor. The room had 3 single beds, a decent sized closet and a newly remodled bathroom. It had a great view of the canal! The room was clean, and the front desk staff was the friendliest I have ever met. Everything in Amsterdam is older, and if you want a 5* room, then book one. If you want a clean affordable room, in a nice area, then book here! We hope the rest of our hotel stays in Europe are this enjoyable. Would definitely return anytime! If the stairs are a problem, ask for a room on the first floor. Glad we chose this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor if stairs are a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Hoksbergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hoksbergen

Address: Singel 301, 1012 WH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hoksbergen 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our small hotel is situated in a beautiful canal-house that is over 300 years old, nestled on the quiet, picturesque Singel, the oldest of the four major ring canals in Amsterdam's famed inner city. Our cosy hotel offers an oasis right in the centre of town. The hustle and bustle of the shopping streets around Dam Square, the charm of the myriad canals lined with 17th-century houses and world famous sights, such as the Anne Frank House, are all literally steps away. There are also convenient trams and other public transport options to whisk you off to all of the city's many attractions. Room information: the hotel offers 13 double and single rooms and one triple room. We serve a good continental breakfast-buffet in our light and pleasant breakfast room. Rooms are ready for check in at 14.00 o'clock. If you arrive earlier we can store your luggage until then. We look forward to have you as our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Hoksbergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoksbergen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hoksbergen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.