We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people, great view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hoksbergen

Save Saved
You added Hotel Hoksbergen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hoksbergen
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 301, 1012 WH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #189 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Charleston, WV
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely people, great view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our room was clean, bed was comfortable, the view out over the canal was lovely. The street was charming and nicely located -- and quiet. We were only a few blocks from shopping and transportation and interesting sights.

The hotel staff was very warm and very helpful. Consistently recommended excellent restaurants.

The halls were a bit scruffy. And the breakfast was only adequate. But all in all, we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Must ask for a room facing the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    62
    29
    15
    6
See reviews for
20
65
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
WI
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great location. Very quiet. Comfy bed & pillow. Friendly & helpful staff. Bulk toiletries in bathroom. Had washcloth & hair dryer. Free wifi. Breakfast served 8-10 AM which consisted of hard cooked eggs, breads/crackers, meats, cheese, cereal, OJ, water, excellent coffee, fresh fruit. Room is small with narrow, steep steps (but staff will help you with the luggage).Great to stay in an authentic canal house. Was able to change reservation two weeks before from refundable to non-refundable (payment in full at that time) which saved $. Stayed in room 8. Would stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for one night and would definitely stay again. Staff so friendly a buffet breakfast consisting of fresh juice, cereals bread cheese ham. I stayed in a single room quite small but this a a canal house so all original, it had everything you need great view of the canal singel. Great location not far from all the hustle and bustle but quiet enough for sleeping. I will be back next year.

Room Tip: All rooms small as canal house and listed building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked to stay here for work because there was alarge conference in town and most of my normal hotels were full. Found out I would be going on the trip, and wouldn't refund my cost because I booked it through a specfic site. Eventhough they were already sold out , and my reservation isn't for two more months (sept 2014) , I now have to eat my reservation. Avoid, don't stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoksbergen, Manager at Hotel Hoksbergen, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

We are sad to see a negative review from a guest that did not even stay at our hotel yet.

You have booked a promotional and lower priced "prepaid non-refundable reservation" through Expedia. When you entered your details on the Expedia website, you have accepted their booking conditions and you will have to respect the agreed conditions of course.

In your situation, you contacted our hotel almost a month after making your reservation that you want to cancel your booking. We have advised you to contact Expedia, because you have a booking made through Expedia.

It seems now that you were not able to get a refund and you have decided to write a bad review about our hotel, without even having stayed here. This is totally out of our control. Because you decided yourself to change your travel plans, it is not reasonable to expect other parties to do everything as you wish...

Our advice would be: in the future, ALWAYS to make your reservations with the hotel DIRECTLY (try to avoid Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com etc.). Direct hotel reservations usually have more flexible conditions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel (hoksbergen) was nice but the rooms were very small. My parents and I were in a triple room and it was pretty small. It was the largest room. It was on the canal so it had an amazing view of canal singel. The people were nice. Close to a lot of site seeing places. We stayed there for three days.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent four nights at the Hotel Hoksbergen, and were very comfortable there. The staff were very pleasant, friendly and helpful. Although our room was quite small, it was really all we needed,as we were out doing sightseeing most of the time. We loved the canal view from our window. The buffet breakfast provided a nice variety of tasty and nutritious foods to keep us going throughout the morning. Our room was close to the top of the hotel, which meant climbing a lot of stairs, but that was OK for us. We appreciated having our extra luggage stored behind the desk, and were especially grateful for the help given to carry our needed bags up and down the steep stairs to and from our room.
The central location was ideal for sightseeing - we were able to walk everywhere.
The history of the hotel is very interesting - be sure to ask the staff about it.
We will definitely plan to stay at the Hotel Hoksbergen when we return to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Book early, as it is a small hotel and was fully occupied during our stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The people at this hotel are very helpful and knowledgeable. They took my case up 3 flights of stairs!! Tasty breakfast and good value for money. Excellent location close to canals and museums and art galleries.

Room Tip: Ask which floor the room will be located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hoksbergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hoksbergen

Address: Singel 301, 1012 WH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hoksbergen 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our small hotel is situated in a beautiful canal-house that is over 300 years old, nestled on the quiet, picturesque Singel, the oldest of the four major ring canals in Amsterdam's famed inner city. Our cosy hotel offers an oasis right in the centre of town. The hustle and bustle of the shopping streets around Dam Square, the charm of the myriad canals lined with 17th-century houses and world famous sights, such as the Anne Frank House, are all literally steps away. There are also convenient trams and other public transport options to whisk you off to all of the city's many attractions. Room information: the hotel offers 13 double and single rooms and one triple room. We serve a good continental breakfast-buffet in our light and pleasant breakfast room. Rooms are ready for check in at 14.00 o'clock. If you arrive earlier we can store your luggage until then. We look forward to have you as our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, HotelsNL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Hoksbergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoksbergen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hoksbergen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.