We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hoksbergen

Save Saved
You added Hotel Hoksbergen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Hoksbergen
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 301, 1012 WH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #188 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Ideal location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The people at this hotel are very helpful and knowledgeable. They took my case up 3 flights of stairs!! Tasty breakfast and good value for money. Excellent location close to canals and museums and art galleries.

Room Tip: Ask which floor the room will be located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    64
    29
    15
    6
See reviews for
20
66
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Just come home back from. 3 night stay at the hotel Hoksbergen. We were a family of 4 ( two adults and two teenage boys 18 and 16. The pros of the apartment we stayed I were that it was large. Well located and great value for money. The negatives.... The open plan layout with the double bed in the lounge and glass panelled doors to the bunk bed bedroom and also to the bathroom gave a feeling of a lack of privacy, this probably wouldn't matter to most families with young children but as mum with two teenage boys it was a little awkward at times. We had the ground floor apartment it was lacking a bit of finesse and TLC but what would expect for such great value for money in such an amazing location so near to Dams square! Fully equipped kitchen including oven,microwave etc. Free Wifi! Also if you want peace and quiet this may not be for you... Noisy most of the night. Overall I would def stay here again as location and value for money are high on my list of priorities. PS staff were really helpful at check in.. Thanks guys for a great stay x pps sorry for the negatives!

Room Tip: Ground floor noisy fro the street and from the apartment above with floor boards. Stairs very steep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Firstly I wish Trip Advisor would allow 1/2 stars as I really wanted to give this hotel a 3 1/2 stars. Got here and was greeted warmly by the owner. Our luggage was taken up to our room while we checked in which was great because with no lifts it was 3 set of very very steep spiral stairs that we had to climb to get to our room! Seriously the steps would have been at 35% angle. For the price we paid compared to what we paid else where in our trip the room was tiny and the bathroom was incredibly small even by Europe standards. Free breakfast was included which was very reasonable and all staff were incredibly helpful. Although bringing our luggage down was a bit of a struggle. Hotel was within walking distance of attractions and easy reach to the tram.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viborg, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I stayed for three nights at the Hoksbergen Hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. The breakfast was below average which I was expecting. But my room was really bad. It was very dirty and moldy. The handle to the closet fell off as i touched it. Inside the closet there was a three centimeter thick dust layer at the bottom. On the wall next to my bed there was some sort of old brown stain that had been running down from the carpet. I had nightmares of what it originated from...
Rooms were super small, but that was expected

It will not stay there again. Nor will I recommend anybody staying there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoksbergen, Manager at Hotel Hoksbergen, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to read that despite of your bad experience, you were very happy with our staff and the location of our hotel.

We are sad to read that you had a dissapointing experience in our hotel. We are more surprised why you did not contact our reception during your 3 nights (uncomfortable) stay which even resulted in your nightmares.

We always do our very best to accommodate guests in every way we can. Our hotel might not be a modern new hotel, but we do all we can to keep it clean and well maintained. We will take your review to improve our services.

Thank you for sharing your review about our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The hotel was perfect for our visit to Amsterdam. The staff were helpful and stored our bikes securely.The location is great, 5 minutes walk from Dam Square. There are good restaurants and bars nearby. One note of caution - there is no lift and the stairs are steep. If it that doesn't put you off this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Although the conditions may perhaps be reflective of it's 2 star rating, the photos we saw online were not a fair representation of the room we were given. The stairs to the rooms are very narrow and steep, and as if to add insult to injury, we were put on the very top floor (really quite a climb!). When we asked if there were any other rooms, we were told that we were the youngest in the hotel so we could cope with it. I'm not even going to touch on the discriminatory aspects of this. The bathrooms were newly renovated (albeit small), but the rooms themselves were extremely outdated (even featuring a pink velvet headboard), and mirrored a cheap hostel. When booking, the hotel asks if you want a double or a twin room (as a preference, you can't guarantee one or the other), however, when we were given a twin room (asked for a double), we were told they only have THREE double rooms in the entire hotel. When I noticed there were at least 15 rooms, asking what your preference is at booking seems fairly irrelevant. The room wasn't particularly clean, and it looked like it hadn't been painted in decades (except for a few random paint splodges across walls). We were so disappointed with the room we actually ended up deciding to stay somewhere else, despite the room being non-refundable, choosing a slightly higher priced three star hotel chain. I would not recommend this for a couple looking to have a nice break away, it's perhaps more suited to young travelers on a budget who are literally just looking for a place to lay their head.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoksbergen, Manager at Hotel Hoksbergen, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about our hotel.
It is sad to read that you were not happy with the room you were assigned to. In the end we are just a simple budget hotel, this is also how we present ourselves and nothing more.

Being a little hotel in a 300-years old monumental canal house, we only have 14 little rooms. Between these 14 little rooms, we have a few single rooms, a few double rooms, a few twin rooms and a triple room. During the booking process each guest can write down a preference for the bed types, but as you noticed yourself already, this is really just a preference. When we see these kind of preferences, we do our very best to accommodate you in the right room, if not possible, we do our best to find another solution. In your case we booked a nice little twin room with two beds next to eachother WITH a canal view to please you. We are sad to read that you were not happy with this solution, but it is the best we could do.

Regarding our hotel not having an elevator, we are not even allowed to build an elevator, because our canal house is an Unesco protected monument. Because of our steep stairs, we do our best to book the right room for the right person. it is of course obvious that an elderly person will get a room on a lower floor and that younger guest will get a room on a higher floor (like you, being 22 years old), this has nothing to do with discrimination, this is just common sense.

Anyway, being a little budget hotel in an old monumental house, we still do our very best to keep our hotel clean and well maintained. We did our best to offer you another solution, but we could not stop you from your choice to move to a more stars and more expensive luxury hotel.

We hope you still had a good time in Amsterdam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I stayed here mid-May. I would have given this hotel 3 stars for its location. However, although the bathrooms were nice and clean and recently renovated, the old carpeting and chairs in the hotel room made me not want to set anything down on the floor or in the shelving of the closets! My friend and I also could not tell if they had changed the comforter cover between guests since there was no flat sheets on our beds. The staff was nice for the most part, BUT when I asked the front desk person (female with long hair) for an international postcard stamp, she charged me 1.50 euros for and old stamp that was worth 1 euro instead of the 1.05 needed to send something. Had I not went to a more legitimate hotel to get real answers, my postcards would've been tossed in the trash. Guess this hotel wants every euro cent it can get.... I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are noisy, whether you ask for a canal view (facing the street) or request a non-canal vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoksbergen, Manager at Hotel Hoksbergen, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about our hotel. We hope you had a nice holiday in Amsterdam. We are a simple budget hotel. Our furniture and carpet might not be a brand-new, but we definitely do our upper best to keep everything clean and well maintained.

Regarding our bedding we would like to clear up some matters, some hotels indeed use a flat sheet between their comforter sheet for their beds, but if they do this, the comforter sheet are not being cleaned. Our hotel is using comforter sheets which our profesionnal laundry washes for EACH new guest (and every three days during a longer stay). This is the same way 3 and 4 stars hotel operate.

Regarding your issue with the postage stamp. It is very unfair and unacceptable that you are accusing us about questionable practices. We are a little family run hotel which has been here since 1939, with a very good reputation in Amsterdam and among travelers. Why would we risk this reputation for a few Euro cents.

Clearly you are not familiar with the postage system in Holland. All of our stamps have the number "1" on it, in combination with the word "Nederland, Europa or Wereld". This means each stamp is worth "1 unit" for either "Holland, Europe or World".... 1 unit is referring to the weight of the letter or package to be sent, the heavier the letter, the more units are necessary, it is NOT the price of the stamp. Accusing us of questionable practices is VERY very offending, you should have asked for an explanation right away instead of writing a review based on assumptions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hoksbergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hoksbergen

Address: Singel 301, 1012 WH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hoksbergen 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our small hotel is situated in a beautiful canal-house that is over 300 years old, nestled on the quiet, picturesque Singel, the oldest of the four major ring canals in Amsterdam's famed inner city. Our cosy hotel offers an oasis right in the centre of town. The hustle and bustle of the shopping streets around Dam Square, the charm of the myriad canals lined with 17th-century houses and world famous sights, such as the Anne Frank House, are all literally steps away. There are also convenient trams and other public transport options to whisk you off to all of the city's many attractions. Room information: the hotel offers 13 double and single rooms and one triple room. We serve a good continental breakfast-buffet in our light and pleasant breakfast room. Rooms are ready for check in at 14.00 o'clock. If you arrive earlier we can store your luggage until then. We look forward to have you as our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, EasyToBook, HotelsNL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Hoksbergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoksbergen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hoksbergen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.