We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but serviceable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hoksbergen

Save Saved
You added Hotel Hoksbergen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hoksbergen
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 301, 1012 WH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #179 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
“Small but serviceable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Extremely small rooms, almost unuseably small, but the price is right considering the good service & great location. You will need to pull your knees up to your face to take a dump however. Nice breakfast too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    62
    29
    14
    5
See reviews for
19
62
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Pros: simple but good breakfast (if you like to eat sweet things you'll probably be disappointed, though, since there's only jam); the hotel is perfect to visit the city, since it's situated on the Singel canal (the closest one to Dam place).
Cons: I think it's too expensive for what you get. We paid 155 euros for two nights in November (and it wasn't a week-end) and our room was small, with a TINY bathroom (there's barely any space to move) and old furniture. It wasn't overall dirty, but it didn't give a good impression either.
We don't have many demands while travelling, but I think 100 euros would have been a fairer price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoksbergen, Manager at Hotel Hoksbergen, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for placing a review about our hotel.
Too bad that you feel that our rate was on the high side during your stay.

We think it is fair to ask €155 for TWO nights for TWO persons included breakfast, free wifi and all taxes. For the future, please contact us by email or Phone to make a direct reservation instead of booking through an online booking website, this way we can offer you an even better rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights during the 3rd week of September. We stayed in a double room with a canal view and en suite bathroom. I had never been to the city before, but my fiancé had been 3 times prior.
Hotel was an easy and short taxi ride from central station (we arrived via plane at Schripol Airport, then took the a short tram ride to central station, it was very easy to navigate to central station and a much cheaper taxi ride from there as opposed to from the airport).
Reception was always friendly and helpful. We arrived early and they held our bags, gave us a map and basic directions, and even had our room cleaned first. The stairs are Extremely narrow and steep. This is absolutely no fault of the hotel, as these stairs are sort of the norm in the buildings in Amsterdam. They even carried our bags up and down the stairs upon our arrival and departure...greatly appreciated!!
The location was perfect. It's around the back side of Dam Square, so super close to the great shopping and sights around there, 5-7 min walk from red light district, right next to the 7 streets (more really fun and quirky shopping, coffee shops, and small specialized museums) 10 min walk to museum quarter (riksmuseum, Van Gogh museum etc), 2 min walk to floating flower market, 5 min walk to Anne Frank house, 10 min walk to Jordaan area. Very close walk to lots of areas, but it's on the Singel canal, on a beautiful and quiet stretch of blocks. If you can do it, the extra for the canal view room is worth it, gorgeous huge windows with flower boxes, you can see up and down the canal, it's a wonderful setting.
The room is simple, but a decent size for Amsterdam and very clean. The bathrooms had been recently renovated and it was lovely, great shower head! It had a tv with a good handful of channels, 2 huge windows with flower boxes. True double bed (not two twins pushed together), nice and comfy :)
The breakfast was good, spread of toast, cheese, meat, butter, spreads, Nutella, fruits, hard boiled eggs, and coffee/tea.
The hotel arranged for our taxi to the train station when we left. They held our bags all day too and carried them down the stairs :)

Overall our experience at Hotel Hoksbergen, the location was absolutely amazing, the room was very clean with big windows and the renovated bathroom was beautiful. The staff was always very friendly and helpful, we will absolutely stay here again when back in Amsterdam and highly recommend staying here!! It's a great value!!

I can't speak to what the experience is like with the shared bathroom rooms, but the hotel as a whole was always very clean and tidy!! I expect they keep the shared bathrooms very clean.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with a private bathroom and a canal view. The bathroom was recently renovated a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel will have all the basics you need but not much more, but that's fine, you're there to see Amsterdam and it's a nice central location and clean and secure. The staff were VERY helpful and answered all of our questions about getting around town. They have free wifi and a decent breakfast included. Beware that all Amsterdam canal houses have the steepest stairs that you've ever seen.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Ohio
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was definitely more than I expected! The staff was so friendly, even giving us a map and circling must-see attractions, giving us directions, and even printing off our train tickets! Very close to Dam Square. The rooms are small, but what do expect from an old canal house! It was definitely worth the money and we'll come back next time we visit Amsterdam!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brier, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We rented an apartment in the neighborhood of Hotel Hoksbergen that was managed by the hotel. It was a little noisy at night, but it is Amsterdam after all. The apartment was perfect for 4 with a bathroom, sitting area, and kitchen. It was perfect for exploring the city. The desk person was very, very helpful in any questions we had for him. We couldn't get into the apartment until 2pm, but we were able to store our luggage and go about the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibbing
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Great hotel! Staff were very helpful, breakfast was great, and great location. Stairs are very steep. Canal was closed just past the hotel while they were redoing a bridge. Great Greek restaurant a couple doors down (best baklava ever).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Hoksbergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hoksbergen

Address: Singel 301, 1012 WH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hoksbergen 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our small hotel is situated in a beautiful canal-house that is over 300 years old, nestled on the quiet, picturesque Singel, the oldest of the four major ring canals in Amsterdam's famed inner city. Our cosy hotel offers an oasis right in the centre of town. The hustle and bustle of the shopping streets around Dam Square, the charm of the myriad canals lined with 17th-century houses and world famous sights, such as the Anne Frank House, are all literally steps away. There are also convenient trams and other public transport options to whisk you off to all of the city's many attractions. Room information: the hotel offers 13 double and single rooms and one triple room. We serve a good continental breakfast-buffet in our light and pleasant breakfast room. Rooms are ready for check in at 14.00 o'clock. If you arrive earlier we can store your luggage until then. We look forward to have you as our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your Hotel Hoksbergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoksbergen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hoksbergen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.