We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest hotel of our trip; charming spacious room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Keizershof

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Keizershof
Keizersgracht 618, 1017 ER Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Denver Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendliest hotel of our trip; charming spacious room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

In spite of the very steep steps to our room, we were delighted with our choice. Our hosts were beyond friendly and even contributed food to our lunches for our train trip after we left. We like to find one-of-a-kind charming places wherever we visit and this hotel was memorable. We had a lovely view of the garden, a large room and all the usual amenities, plus helpful and charming hosts. It's location could not have been better. If you like your hotel rooms to be different from the ordinary, this hotel is for you.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    72
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
29
117
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

What a wonderful experience! It was fabulous in every way: location, genial hosts, a beautiful clean and spacious room (we stayed on the top floor overlooking the garden with a stunning view of the Rijksmuseum); and a hearty, delicious breakfast of eggs, fresh fruit and various breads and cheeses every morning. The deVries family is lovely and were a terrific resource for exploring Amsterdam. We can't say enough positive things about our stay. Negatives? Only that you need to be aware there is a very steep spiral staircase leading upstairs. It's not a chain hotel -- obviously. This is a place where you stay IN Amsterdam and are able to enjoy the city and all it has to offer. A five-star experience!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights in the 4th floor garden-side room. The good: they were really nice people, made us omelets, the bathroom was clean, the room was big and it was quiet. The house had a lot of character.

Negatives: The room smelled old and mildewy. The carpet squares and cushions on chairs were threadbare. Also woke up to multiple mosquito bites (no screen on window). It wasn't very comfortable.

I saw some other rooms (singles) that looked better, so I just wouldn't recommend this one for the 115 euro we paid.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

We had a HUGE room with a private shower, and toilet down the hall. Room, shower & bathroom were very clean. Staff very nice, much like a pension.

Could hear ALL of the street noise... Get a room on the back if you stay here.

EXCELLENT breakfast--will sometimes make eggs if they have them.

Tiny circular stair case, difficult to walk up with a back pack on.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2008

I was really please with my choice about this Hotel (more a B&B than a Hotel). We can see what a house look like in Amsterdam.. This is soo narrow :P. The room was large though but no elevator and the spiral stairs and a pain when you have big luggage, hehehe. But this is part of being in Amsterdam.

We stay in the Charlie Chaplin room on the third floor with the view on the Canal.

We stay 2 nights and we enjoy only 1 breakfast since our train was leaving at 8am for the second day. Mary did some great pie, cookies. There was a lot of thing to eat!! :P and really delicious!

  • Liked — Breakfast, to be able to see an Amsterdam house
  • Disliked — Internet access only in the dinning room. Spiral Stairs :P
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

What a hotel! What a family! What a wonderful experience. We arrived and were immediately greeted by Hannake, the daughter running the hotel. She gave us many suggestions of wonderful things to do in Amsterdam and was extremely friendly. Mary, her mother, served homemade bread and pancakes for breakfast with the most wonderful spread of food I've ever seen in europen hotels (with cold milk for all Americans not used to the warm milk idea) Be warned, they aren't kidding when they say the spiral stair case creates problems. It's very difficult to get your luggage up the stairs if you haven't packed light. However, the view, the staff and the price really sold this hotel as one of my favorites. Would definately return!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

We went on our honeymoon last year (September 2007) and felt it was necessary to write a review. Better late than never...
What can I say other than what a wonderful experience. For all the guest complaining about warm orange juice, moquitoes I feel that you need to spend the money and stay in a five star palace. People always want the most value for their money and this is the place for an inexpensive (by Amsterdam standards) authentic Dutch experience. Food, service, cleanliness and location was impeccable.
The hot breakfast was more than adequete and kept us fueled until later that day. To spend money on breakfast in Amsterdam with what you recieve you would be paying up toward 20 euros per person. Give this place a chance if you want to stay in a canal house in the heart of Amsterdam with wonderful breakfast, comfortable rooms and a true B&B experience. We loved it and I hope you will too

  • Liked — food, service, bedroom authenticity
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Keizershof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keizershof

Address: Keizersgracht 618, 1017 ER Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Keizershof Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Keizershof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Keizershof to your Saves list