We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Keizershof

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Keizershof
Save
You added Hotel Keizershof to your Saves list
Keizersgracht 618, 1017 ER Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
A TripAdvisor Member
“Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2005

This small hotel is very quaint and perfectly located. There is just something about sleeping in a canal house that was built in the 1640's! Mary and her daughter are excellent hosts. Our "Rita Hayworth" room was very clean and the breakfast each morning was great. The hotel has a definite B&B feel- it was fun eating at the breakfast table with the other guests talking about our Amsterdam experiences. Mary was particularly helpful, waiting up for us when we got lost while driving from Paris to Amsterdam and even arranging a taxi pick up for us. Amsterdam is a wonderful city- be adventurous! People in the service industry (hotels, etc.) will advise you not to rent bikes and will try to convince you that you will be run over, however, it is the ONLY way to see the city!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    78
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
31
126
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2005

A great little B&B at a convenient location on one of the main grachts in central Amsterdam. Easily accessible to Rembrandtsplein & Leidseplein w/ the Spui Centre and the Reijksmuseum a short walk too. There's a train stop right near the Hotel as well. Street parking in front was readily available, but expensive. Proprietors are very knowledgeable of the area and quick to offer suggestions on sights & restaurants.

In typical European style, rooms tend towards the smaller side, but not uncomfortably small. Prepare yourself for bringing luggage up a tight, steep corkscrew staircase. Rooms facing the rear have a view of a peaceful garden courtyard (read: very quiet at night). Last: the breakfasts are great -- don't miss the omelettes.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2005

Hosts were pleasant, and gave excellent touring advice concerning both Amsterdam and the Hague. Breakfast was quite good, and they even gave us a small bottle of wine for the evening. The stairs were quite steep, but that is simply the nature of canal houses. We had the Marlene Dietrich room -- The room was very comfortable and well-maintained.

Stayed February 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, GA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2004

We stayed a week in the Keizerhof Hotel in late April 2004 and had a truly marvelous time!!! We stayed in the Marlene Dietrich room, which had a beautiful view of the family garden below us. The DeVries family, which ran the hotel, were very warm, inviting, and accomodating. The location of the hotel is very convenient (along a canal) to the center of Amsterdam. The very modest price which they charge for the room is well worth it. We would highly recommend it. We intend to come back to this hotel next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2003

A charming family run hotel. Well located on one of the main grachts just a short walk from Rembrandtsplein, Leidseplein and Reijksmuseum.
Rather steep stairs to the rooms which are each named after film stars: John Wayne, Charlie Chaplin, Rita Hayworth etc. Excellent breakfast served in the family living room or garden (weather permitting). You are assured of a truly warm, Dutch welcome. My first choice every time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Keizershof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keizershof

Address: Keizersgracht 618, 1017 ER Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Keizershof Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Keizershof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.