We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break from the 3rd to 7th April” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Keizershof

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Keizershof
Keizersgracht 618, 1017 ER Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
2 reviews
“Short break from the 3rd to 7th April”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Had seen positive reviews on here and we were certainly not disappointed. Comfortable and clean (Rita Hayworth room). People very friendly and attentive to your needs. Excellent breakfast, particularly Ernest's omlette !!

Location spot on, at the heart of everything and nice setting overlooking the canal.


Would definately stay here again - fabulous !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    73
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
29
118
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Not even trip advisor can give the inside scoop like the delightful family owned and operated B&B. Location is amazing and the view from my room was incredible. Absolutely can not go wrong if you stay here; no brainer. Rooms are large, tv (why would you need one?), comfortable beds, and the breakfast; wish that I had a dutch omelet now. Having a big breakfast saves a bunch of money each day. Rent a bike for the week and get an annual museum pass. Plus fresh home backed bread!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

If you can manage the stairs to the top floor, then it is a really nice place to stay. It's family run and homely, nothing fancy but again it's a B&B. Everyone I met was very helpful and friendly. The price is super reasonable for Amsterdam given breakfast is included (yes, omelet on request as well). It's at a very convenient location, within walking distance to many restaurants and various attractions.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

A wonderful surprise! Three nights, and ideally located in the centre of Amsterdam. The perfect hosts, a charming house, and a magical world out the back. The best of Bed & Breakfast and hotel all in one. I am looking for an excuse to return to Amsterdam just to stay here!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
167 hotel reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
394 helpful votes 394 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Hotel Keizershof and I booked without difficulty on their website. I chose this hotel, which I would describe as a B & B, after looking on TripAdvisor. I was anxious about the spiral staircase so I chose my luggage with pull-along and back pack straps rather than a suit case, which was a good call. It was a bit of a huff and puff getting it up the wooden spiral stair case to the Rita Hayworth room on the third floor. HOWEVER it was absolutely worth that small struggle to be staying in a real old canal house with so much charm in a wonderfully central location with such a warm and welcoming Dutch family as our hosts.

We only rode a tram once as it was so easy to walk everywhere; the medieval centre in one direction, the museum area in the other and the two busy dining strips just a few blocks away on either side. It cost us just over 60Euros by taxi from the airport to the front door. The current rate for the room is 120 Euros per night.

Our room was quaint, comfortable and sufficiently spacious with a wall mounted flat screen television and a view over the large beautiful garden at the rear. It had a convenient bathroom with a very spacious shower. The other two rooms on that floor shared a bathroom and toilet. Of course everything was immaculately clean. I am not obsessed with food but I really looked forward to the fabulous breakfasts that Mary prepared for us each morning in the lovely ground floor kitchen-dining room-sitting room.

As for the staircase, my advice is Toughen Up Princess and remember that most of those cosy bars and cute brown cafes that you are going to love in Amsterdam will have toilets that are either up or down a spiral staircase that is probably steeper and smaller than the one at the Hotel Keizershof. It is all worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I have just returned from 3 nights' stay at Hotel Keizershof. I was travelling alone so was looking for somewhere that wasn't impersonal - and this was perfect. the family who run it are extremely hospitable and welcoming. They are delightful people.


The hotel has a really homely feel to it. I stayed on the first floor, in a bedroom overlooking the beautiful garden. It was very quiet and comfortable. It has an en suite shower - and the loo is right next door. And breakfast was great - delicious fresh bread with a great variety of cheeses (plus fruit and cereals and yoghurts etc etc )

It is very central - and the Rijks and Van Gogh Museums are literally 5 minutes' walk away. A great location.

I highly recommend this hotel - especially if you are looking for somewhere small and homely. As someone travelling alone, it felt utterly safe.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed in the Wedgewood room which is in the back of the house, overlooking the gardens. The stairs up to the room are very steep and the toilet is outside of the room at the top of the stairs but is not shared. The room was charming and quiet. Mary, her daughter and son were all very helpful. Breakfast was huge and the omelettes cooked by Mary were delicious. The hotel is very conveniently located for walking to downtown, the Van Gough museum or just to walk along the canals.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark, Cit...
Show More
Vondelpark
Hotel Abba
Hotel Abba
#203 of 343 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Bar/Lounge, Bes...
Show More
Binnenstad
Hotel Adolesce
Hotel Adolesce
#71 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Best Value, Mus...
Show More
Museumplein
Hotel Verdi
Hotel Verdi
#171 of 343 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Free internet...
Show More
Heemskerk Suites
Heemskerk Suites
#19 of 343 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
Independent Hot...
Show More
citizenM Amsterdam
citizenM Amsterdam
#33 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keizershof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keizershof

Address: Keizersgracht 618, 1017 ER Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Keizershof Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Keizershof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Keizershof to your Saves list