We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Keizershof

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Keizershof
Keizersgracht 618, 1017 ER Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Perth
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a few nights however we were a little disappointed as we had very high expectations after reading the amazing reviews on Trip Advisor. Check in was very confusing… we arrived and the elderly lady who owns the BnB literally gave us a key then in broken English gave us some terrible directions. There are these tiny little windy stairs and about 5 floors of them so we lugged our 30 kilo suitcases up the stairs which was so exhausting and confusing when you don’t know where you are going. There wasn’t any help from the staff so that was a little disappointing. As others have mentioned, if you have any back or leg problems this is not the place for you as these stairs are insane. We got to the top and due to the terrible instructions we got lost and had to go back down and ask the lady again where our room was. By the time we finally got up there we were so exhausted. There were no room numbers only a different picture of celebrities on the doors which is also why we got so lost as we couldn’t understand what the lady was saying.

The location however was fantastic. Walking distance to many cafes, shops and restaurants and a short buggy ride away to the Red Light District. The other owners were very lovely and were quite concerned when I came down with a bad cold so that was nice. However at times they were a little intrusive, aka insisting we have the breakfast in the morning after we had planned to just get out and about in the morning. Another thing we were disappointed with was that it was literally freezing when we were there, like -5 etc however they wouldn’t put any heating on in the rooms so at night we really had to rug up to stay warm.

I probably wouldn’t stay again however it was an experience and the view from our room over the canals was incredible but like I said above if you have problems being mobile or are elderly this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    72
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
29
117
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Thank you to Mary and her family for a wknderful stay. We were in Rita Hayworth room, roomy and comfortable. It is on the 3rd floor with very narrow stairs. We managed just fine but could be a problem for someone with physical limitations. Mary and her son we very helpful and gracious. We would diffenately stay here again. It was also easy to access all area attractions. Mary emailed us a few days prior to our visit to let us know what tram to take which made it very easy to find. Our room was clean and replenished every day, one of best places so far on our trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

A great place to stay in Amsterdam. A small hotel of 6 room central Amsterdam with easy access to the Tram system. Run by a mother daughter who treat you like family. Great breakfast with homemade bread and eggs every morning. Be aware of a tight spiral staircase to get to the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

When I made the reservation, I saw all the comments about the stairs, but nevertheless, I was shocked by how steep they are. We managed absolutely fine with out suitcases. But honestly, we climbed many stairs like that in our visit in Amsterdam restaurants too. That is just part of the charm of the canal row houses.

I had some issues getting onto the WiFi at the hotel a few times. But saved myself a trip downstairs and instead I emailed the owner. They always promptly replied to my email and re-set the router, as required.

The owner(s) were very helpful with directions, restaurant and other tourist tips. She ordered us a taxi on our last night, which arrived on time the next morning.

Room Tip: My adult daughter and I stayed in the Charlie Chaplin room which had twin beds, a private shower and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is our second visit to this little historic hotel. The family is friendly and they make a great full breakfast. Very generous. E ating with the other guests at the big table always results in excellent travel tips too.The rooms are quiet and clean, location on Keizersgracht is near everything. The hike up the steps makes you plan your day carefully. No running up for something you forgot. We dont even mind the bath room in the hall. Reminds us of our first visits to Holland in the 1970's. Comfortable beds ( singles of course) nice garden excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

The warm greeting by Mary and her children Hanneke and Ernest set the scene for this wonderfully welcoming hotel. The hotel is full of character; in some ways it's quite quirky. Steep and narrow staircases lead to the bedrooms - ours was very comfortable although the bathroom was a bit too compact, and the en-suite toilet a little bit like an aircraft loo and located on the landing. Breakfast is served at a communal table for all guests - brilliant for meeting other guests and sharing experiences of Amsterdam - and the breakfast food itself generous and delicious. Mary and her family help make a really lovely stay - they're full of ideas and recommendations and delightful people.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We LOVED this place and the family that runs it. Hannake and her brother were so friendly and helpful, showing us where we should go and things we could do. They made us feel at home. The hotel is right on a gorgeous canal, and we enjoyed being in the 1672 Dutch house. Our room was on the 4th floor (loved the steep, winding staircase) and overlooked a cute neighborhood of houses and their amazing garden (where we loved hanging out). The breakfast every morning was amazing...tasty cheese and bread, fresh fruit, yummy cookies, coffee and juice, and even a homemade omelette.

The whole feel was cozy and truly Dutch. I'd stay here again for sure.

The only downer was that there was no AC and it was a little hot...and if we opened the windows the mosquitoes came in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Keizershof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keizershof

Address: Keizersgracht 618, 1017 ER Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Keizershof Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Keizershof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Keizershof to your Saves list