We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay at the congenial Hotel Keizershof” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Keizershof

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Hotel Keizershof
Save Saved
You added Hotel Keizershof to your Saves list
Keizersgracht 618, 1017 ER Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Calgary
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay at the congenial Hotel Keizershof”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Checked out of the Hotel Keizershof this morning - my man and I stayed there three nights in the Charlie Chapline room. It was on the third floor of the hotel, overlooking the canal. The room was quite large for a European hotel - it had a small settee, two twin beds pushed together to form a king, a small table and dresser and easily still enough room to spread out a yoga mat if I'd had the inclination. The room had an ensuite shower and sink, the toilet was a shared one located in the hall adjacent to the room which i got used to with no issues. Hairdryer was this peculiar vacuum-style wall hanging apparatus which I thought must be ancient, but by the end of the stay wished I had at home - quiet and effective. The room was immaculately clean, the bed was comfy, the stairs were a good workout.

The hotel is very easy to find and is located in the best possible spot - easy walking distance to all the Amsterdam action and museums, but situated along a quiet and safe canal.

So, it's a great place to stay and I'm sure this review sounds much like all the rest. But my favorite part of the stay had little to do with the amenities or the location. The hotel is much like a B&B. The sumptuous breakfasts were held at a communal table so introverted me got a chance to meet many of the other guests, hear about their experiences and travels. Bizarre, but all the guests aside from us were American - likely fresh from reading Rick Steve's recommendation of the hotel (there's a photo of Rick visiting the hotel owners mounted in the ground floor hallway) - and there is no one more friendly than an American...with the possible exception of Hotel Keizershof's gregarious hosts. We got fabulous advice ranging from from jet lag strategies to restaurant recommendations to how to avoid Paris pick pockets.

If you're looking for a relatively quiet, extremely welcoming and sociable place to stay, I highly recommend Hotel Keizershof.

Room Tip: Quietest room will be towards the back, but with the windows closed, we weren't disturbed even i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    75
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
29
120
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
jackson, wy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

My wife and I spent five nights at Hotel Keizershof. We came to Amsterdam for the art museums and the tulips, both of which were incredible. But it was our stay at Hotel Keizershof that we both agreed was the highlight. The breakfast each morning, talking with the other guests, getting tips from the Hotel owners on what to do and where to eat, and the back yard garden made it such a wonderful experience. We loved our room - Mae West - and the view out our window, especially at night, was intoxicating. We opened a bottle of wine and soaked it in. Close to everything, we walked to everything we did.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

My fifth trip to Amsterdam and forth stay at the Hotel Keizershof on the Keizersgracht in Central city. It is convenient to everything. clean and comfortable, and reasonably priced. Several rooms have canal views, but I stayed in the room with a view of their lovely quiet garden. Best of all you have a breakfast each morning prepared by one of the family, and sit with an international group around the breakfast table. Hanneke brings you hot, fresh coffee and Mary fixes an omelet. Fresh baked bread, fresh fruit, and fresh juice. This morning I met a couple from Brazil, another from France, and a third are Italian but live in Ireland. Some are going to museums today, some to shop, all withing walking distance. Who knows who I'll meet over breakfast the next time I'm here?

Room Tip: I stayed in Roufge last night, spacious and quiet with its own bathroom. Usually I stay in Mae West...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Had some slight trouble looking for the trams from Centraal station to Keizergracht but we managed to find the hotel. Had to ring the bell a couple of times, even went to ring the door upstairs which I've found out it wasn't connected to the hotel.
Was welcomed by one of the owner. Stairs were quite steep going to our room. Room was spacious and lovely.

Had recommendations from them to try Walem for lunch which we did. Breakfast was truly sublime with a lot of food to choose from. Their omelettes are made when requested.
Will book with this hotel again should I decide to come back to visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for three nights from Sat to Mon recently. We found the hotel clean and ideally situated to access all the sights. In a quieter area of the city, but near to two different tram stops, this hotel offers everything the traveller would need.
The owners are courteous,but not over friendly, the breakfast is comprehensive with home made bread and cakes, fresh fruit salad and many varieties of cheese. You also have the option of a herb omelette, which I would recommend. You should also try the Stroop Wafels...delicious.
The rooms have everything you need and are cleaned on a daily basis. We had the room on the topmost floor overlooking the garden which was peaceful and quiet. The only downside to be aware of is the stairs, already mentioned on this site many times. It is 60 very steep and narrow stairs to the top floor, not to be undertaken by the feint hearted! It certainly helps to burn off those breakfasts!
My only issue would be the shower; hard to get any more than a drizzle from the hand held shower head, made rinsing shampoo long and tedious. Also difficult to get the water temperature right.

Room Tip: John Wayne room is on top floor (60 stairs to top) and overlooks the garden. Very spacious and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Staying at Hotel keizershof has always made our trips to Amsterdam very enjoyable.
I cant imagine staying anywhere else when i go there.
its so nice to have our Dutch family home to come home to at the end of the day.
They serve a wonderful hearty breakfast and just make you feel at home in their lovely canal side residence
Just an all around great experience!

Room Tip: they just have several good selections some face canal side. some face backyard gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gottingen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We had a lovely stay at Hotel Keizershof. Our hosts were wonderful, the breakfasts delicious - homemade bread in particular. We stayed in 2 rooms on the 3rd floor and were very comfortable. The view over the canal was fabulous. The location is very central. The room was clean and comfortably furnished. We'd recommend this hotel to any friends visiting Amsterdam.

Room Tip: We had Charlie Chaplin and Mae West - next to one another and with Canal views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Keizershof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keizershof

Address: Keizersgracht 618, 1017 ER Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Keizershof Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Keizershof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;