We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Keizershof

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Keizershof
Save
You added Hotel Keizershof to your Saves list
Keizersgracht 618 | Tram 16 & 24, 4th Stop, 1017 ER Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
355 reviews 355 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Top choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We selected this family run hotel from Trip Advisor reviews, and we were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived, Mary and Ernest made us feel very welcome. We had the first floor room overlooking the back garden and it was a very good sized room. Downside was the small bathroom and the small toilet outside the door, but then again you don't spend too much time in them so it didn't bother us. Built in 1672, so no lifts, just a lot of steep stairs which kept us fit. Ernest had a very good sense of humour and was a fountain of knowledge for attractions and places to dine. Hotel is in good location for sightseeing and in a safe area, just watch out for the bikes, they are everywhere. Breakfast was a delight with freshly baked breads with a large variety of toppings, plus pastries. Will certainly book here again when next in Amsterdam

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    78
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
31
126
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

I highly recommend this small, family run hotel. The DeVries family makes you feel very welcome in their home and the warmth and ambience of the kitchen and breakfast room is lovely. I had a room facing a quiet garden on the top floor. The location is perfect for museums, just steps from the Photography Museum and nestled on one of the prettiest canals in Amsterdam. Also recommend Moorland for dinner, just two blocks away. One tip, they prefer to be paid in cash, which I didn't realize until I got there.

Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Do not go to this hotel expecting a hotel experience. The family that owns and operates this hotel makes the experience feel like you are a part of the family spending the night. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The location is amazing and almost all Amsterdam locations are within walking distance. Everyone is very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

The welcome at this family run hotel was warm and friendly and certainly got our short stay off to a good start. Lovely filling breakfasts and our room was perfectly adequate for our needs (the narrow winding stairs to the third floor required some degree of fitness though). Ideally situated for seeing picturesque Amsterdam as most of the "sights" are within easy walking distance.
I would certainly stay at this hotel on subsequent visits to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Request "RITA HAYWORTH"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermitage, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Our hosts welcomed us like family. Sent us off every morning with a wonderful breakfast. Room was very nice (although at the top of three winding flights of stairs.) Location was great. Highly recommended....we'll stay there again upon our return to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Cosy hotel, beautiful views, yummy breakfast and very welcoming laid back family

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

On our first night we discovered that the room had no light bulbs. The next morning we requested light bulbs from the owner. She told us 'americans must have taken them'. What a ridiculous statement - tourists come to Amsterdam to take breakable light bulbs so that they can carry them around on the rest of their trips. And even if americans did take them, why didn't housekeeping notice the missing bulbs when they cleaned? Later that night, still no bulbs. The following morning we noticed a plastic bag hanging on coat hook near the breakfast room with light bulbs in it - they expected us to replace them and didn't even bother to tell us. When we asked for cozy nearby restaurant recommendation, she directed us to a directed to a nearby street that was nothing but restaurants. We got the general feeling that hotel guests were an annoyance to the owners and they did the minimum to get by.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Keizershof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keizershof

Address: Keizersgracht 618 | Tram 16 & 24, 4th Stop, 1017 ER Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#44 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our seventeenth century canal-house is located on the picturesque Keizersgracht in the historic heart of Amsterdam. The house was built in 1672.And is a registered monument with original features as the spiral staircase, exposed beams, monumental outside steps and original fireplaces Between 1906 and 1920 the house was frequently visited by members of the Dutch Royal family, among which our Queen,Juliana who used to play here when she was a little girl. Our hotel has free WIFI in all rooms Behind the hotel you will find our peaceful backyard with an abundance of flowers where, weather permitting, we serve you an excellent Dutch breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Keizershof Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Keizershof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.