We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place (but pack light - killer steps)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of chic&basic Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added chic&basic Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
chic&basic Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 13-19, 1015 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly "Hotel New Amsterdam")   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #201 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fantastic place (but pack light - killer steps)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

I was in Amsterdam for 3days/2 nights and I stayed at this hotel for a couple of reasons.
a) Recommendations from fellow TA members
b) Price
c) Location

It was along Herengracht, one of the many canals in Amsterdam. Coming out from the Central Station, head west straight into the beginning of Herengracth and you will get there in less than 10 mins walk (provided you don't lose your way).

The hotel looks good even from the outside, and they have very friendly English speaking staff manning the counter most of the time I was there. It was situated right beside the canal and it is very pretty and calming, unlike the hotels in the middle of the town where traffic becomes a concern.

Because I arrived earlier and the rooms weren't ready yet, they provided left baggage service FOC.

Rooms were pretty good, my only gripe was there was no heater near the balcony door. It was pretty damn cold at night (during winter). Beds were clean, room service was provided too.
Overall it was a good stay, reasonably priced and I would love to give a well deserved praise to the hotel management for keeping up the standard.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    197
    74
    25
    20
See reviews for
28
235
45
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palermo, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

We booked a room to mounths earlier paying in advance, thanks to this we obtained a good discount. It has a great position, near the central station. The room was clean and conformed to the description of the website. The toilette was not very big, but confortable use (Per gli italiani l'unica cosa che mancava era il bidet ). The staff has been kind and polite and we loved the coffe machine everyone can use it 24/7...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

it was my third time to amsterdam so I knew a little bit about the city and its locations. the hotels' location is absolutely phenomenal. it is located in on the most beutifull canals of the city but at the same time is 10 mins walk to Dam square(central square of Amsterdam), 5 mins walk from the central station and 8 mins away from the red light district. hints:
+extremely helpfull and polite staff, +great canal view (with free upgrade in our case), +free internet in the lobby, +free coffee and tea in the room and in the lobby also, +location!!, +clean, +cozy atmosphere in classy modern style
-our door had a problem but in the end we found the solution
-too many stairs (but its the traditional dutch style)
thats it.TOTALLY RECOMMEND!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

The Chic and Basic is the 6th hotel I have stayed in within Amsterdam and I would probably rate location and cleanliness as the best I have stayed at. It is a ten Minute walk from Damrak and also in a nice quiet area and it felt very safe. The room was on the small side but Amsterdam is notorious for it's small rooms thats what you get, but it was very clean.The bathroom was ample for two of us,the bed was ok bit hard for my liking but each has their own idea of comfort so...The staff were friendly on the reception the lady doing breakfast shouldv'e been a bit more friendly in my opinion,a good morning would be nice but she was very busy doing the washing up ect.Which takes me on to the one thing I think lets this hotel down hugely.....The "breakfast". It was jam and bread-not toast-bread.This to me is not breakfast not even continental.Fair enough there was a toaster there but to wait 10-15 mins for it to turn slighlty toasted is not my idea of fun!I believe a good breakfast is needed to start your day off with all the sightseeing /cofeeshops wandering around it is imperative-it just let it down.If you have booked a room and breakfast is extra do not bother that is my advise.The coffee machine is a fab idea and comes in very handy!!
All in all I really liked the Chic and Basic and would recommend it minus Brekkie!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

Loved the look and style of the hotel, nice touches everywhere, a lot of thought has gone into it. Rooms were compact but clean and stylish. Staff helpful. Free internet PC, coffee machine and shoe shiner. Breakfast is toast and a croissant if you are lucky. Quiet location but only 5 minutes walk from the station and nightlife. All in all we thought it was great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

Stayed at this hotel in September 2009. Travelled with a firend (two girls) and stayed here for three nights. Hotel is clean, modern, bright and fresh. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Gave us a free breakfast (not sure if they meant to), looked after our bags as we arrived very early and left late. Very small room and shower room, but was enough for our needs. A rail with hangers, rather than a wardrobe and literally a bed and somewhere to put your book/keys/phone and nothing else, so suited to travellers who travel light/hand luggage only. But you are in Amsterdam! You aren't going to be in your hotel room other than to wash/sleep. Free coffee machine was a godsend. Would recommend to those who dont take everything but the kitchen sink, who dont' mind basic, but still want to feel like a grown up and not slum it. Large window looked out onto the street/canal so careful unless you are comfortable flashing Jo Public.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

I stayed here with my brother for 2 nights in October. The hotel is located very close to the train station which was convenient, especially because we arrived late in the evening. It's situated on a charming side street, right on the canals, away from the crazy tourist sections - yet it's close enough to walk to most sites should you choose. The hotel name sums it up - truly chic and basic. The lobby is very modern, bright. The people at the desk were very friendly and helpful - which was a relief as we were coming from Paris, where that is not always the case. 24 hour free coffee & tea from a very fancy machine that makes cappuccino, espresso, regular coffee. The complimentary breakfast does the trick - meats, cheese, pastries, breads. Also, yogurt & granola, hard boiled eggs. The rooms are tiny - Very Important: be sure to ask for one that has been remodeled. Not all have gone through the process yet. Ours hadn't at the time, which is why I had to give a low rating under the "rooms category". It's a tough pill to swallow knowing you're probably paying the same nightly rate as the people next to you, and they are sleeping in a remodeled room. Oh, and free wireless for our entire stay! After paying upwards of 5 euros for an hour of wireless at other hotels in Europe, this was such a treat! All in all, the hotel was a delight and great for the money.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to chic&basic Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about chic&basic Amsterdam

Address: Herengracht 13-19, 1015 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly "Hotel New Amsterdam")
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — chic&basic Amsterdam 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your chic&basic Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic & Basic Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Chic And Basic Amsterdam
Chic Basic Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage chic&basic Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.