We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet & Basic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of chic&basic Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added chic&basic Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
chic&basic Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 13-19, 1015 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly "Hotel New Amsterdam")   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #200 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Hoboken, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quiet & Basic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

It's pretty basic. Is it Chic? Eh, well the lobby is but our room while spacious & clean, really wasn't. But that's OK, we didn't spend a whole lot of time in our room.

The bathroom (we had our own) was nice. There was a shower but no bath. Good water pressure & temperature. Bathroom amenities were minimal: bar soap and shampoo.

The room was--as mentioned--more basic than chic. The furniture was very IKEA-esque. There were some scuff marks on the walls and one shelf appeared to be missing a part of it. There was an iron (non-steaming) & ironing board in the room. Our room had a small balcony with views of nothing in particular. As far as we could tell there was no air conditioning, but being early June that was OK for us. The beds seemed pretty comfortable.

When we stayed there was no breakfast, but there was free coffee all day and toast and marmalade in the morning. The staff was generally friendly and helpful.

Don't stay here if you don't like stairs. There are quite a few of them, and they are narrow. Getting our suitcases up and down was a bit of an adventure.

The location is excellent. It's on a quiet side street, but easy walking distance to Amsterdam Central Station and lots of other stuff. It was generally very quiet there. The lack of A/C necessitated leaving windows open while we slept, so that let in some noise, but nothing too terrible.

All in all a nice, convenient place. It's not luxurious but it's a great home base for exploring the city.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    199
    76
    25
    20
See reviews for
28
239
45
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
washington dc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

Stayed here Tuesday and Wednesday, June 1-2, 2010. We payed a little extra for a room with a canal view. It was very small, but very clean. Nice view and extremely convenient to Central Station and anywhere you would like to walk. I would definately stay here again, but be prepared for the small size.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights earlier this month.
It is an easy walk (about 5-7 minutes) from the Central station.....located in jordan....not right in the middle of the tourist ares at the same time not very far from them.The staff is welcoming and ready to answer all questions patiently. Based on the reviews here, I had booked a medium modern room and was happy with it. It was comfortable even with its very basic furniture. The bathroom had only a shower (wish it had a bath) but was spotlessly clean and the shower provided lovely hot water with good force. The toilet was separate, across the room. The bed was big and comfortable since I had booked a medium room in spite of being a solo traveller....but I found it too soft for my liking.
Breakfast only included sliced bread, butter and jam......one was welcome to use the automatic coffee machine any time during the day. Free use of internet on the computer in the lobby was a big advantage.
It was cold and rained during most of my stay and I was able to borrow an umbrella from the hotel.
This was my second trip to the city.....highlights this time included visits to the keukenhof, delft, utrecht and the hague.
For the first 2 days I assumed the piled up garbage was a result of the ever increasing tourists and other people in the city....later realised that there was a strike on and unfortunately that tainted the impression a visitor may have of the city.
Overall, I had a good trip......would not hesitate in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

Picked this hotel for its style/cost/location ratio and found it OK but hardly stylish or chic. Staff are very friendly and helpful and I appreciated being able to check in on arrival (around 11 am) rather than waiting until the 3pm advertised check-in (which is too late - hotels are pushing this time further and further out). Room and bathroom were spotless, bathroom in fact seemed newish, but the layout of the room was most peculiar - no windows, only a massive skylight that took up half the bedroom ceiling and which allowed at least 3 sets of windows from other sections of the hotel to look down into my room. A curtain could be pulled across the middle of the room, dividing the bed area from the table, tiny wardrobe and TV area, and that allowed the only privacy possible so one had to duck behind the curtain to change clothing in the narrow strip of floorspace by the bed. This curtain was also the only way to darken the room for sleeping. To cross into the bathroom at the opposite side one had to be fully clothed... a most peculiar set-up and the cute painted monkeys on the walls didn't make up for the inconvenience of this, nor justify the hotel's claim to be chic! I was tempted to ask for a room change but I was only there 3 days to catch up with friends so spent little time in the room and frankly I have never found hotels in Amsterdam to be up to much.
I had booked a double room despite travelling alone & am very glad I did as the one I got was small enough (there would never have been enough wardrobe space for 2 people to hang even one change of clothes each) and I hate to think what a single would have been like. The bed was firm enough for a decent sleep but the foam pillows and foam-type duvet filling were not very pleasant but seemed clean.
Some reviewers from a while back have mentioned breakfast but a note handed into my room after check-in advised that there is no longer a buffet breakfast available - all one gets is supermarket sliced bread, a toaster, butter pats and 3 types of jam. The DIY coffee machine makes excellent coffee however.
The location is the best part - far enough away from the really squalid parts of Amsterdam around Dam Square yet easy enough to walk to most attractions.
Would I stay there again? No. But then I rather hope I won't have to travel too often to Amsterdam in the future. This time it was suffering from a garbage strike and the piles in the streets were getting higher and higher and beginning to smell - just as well the weather was cool. But even without this problem this city is, unfortunately, getting grubbier and sadder as the years go by.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

We stayed at the Chic & Basic in early May.
This is a fantastic hotel. Their attitude is second to none.
Breakfast is free - There is a kitchen & you make your own coffee & toast with choice of 3 jams. Internet access is free.
Rooms are modern & clean.
The hotel is very central, you can walk to the city centre & railway station.
Nothing was too much trouble - I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

location: superb! close to city centre yet in a quiet region facing beautiful canal among well reserved netherlands old buildings. very good restaurant de belamel just right beside. 5 mins to main street w/ cafes, bars, supermarkets. very convenient.

service: manager (we didnt get his name card) was very friendly and helpful. other staffs are so so compared to this manager. we were stranded in amsterdam helpless in trying to contact the airline. their manager helped us spending so much of his time trying to call the airline and airport and searched in the relevant websites for us. he was thoughtful and put clients' needs above all. we really appreciated his help during our stay in the week we layovered.

facility: not much as it's a small hotel occupying a historical building. they provide simple breakfast (bread and jam) with coffee machine, and a small pantry where you can use. everything was fine as we were not expecting facilities like a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

Puffy Heart is such a cute way to describe this hotel because it is in such an amazing location and really stand true to the style of Amsterdam CHIC & BASIC. The hotel is literally located 5 minutes walk from Central Station right next to the Herengracht Canal. Amsterdam can look spread out on the map, but from this hotel everywhere is walkable. Around the corner of the hotel starts off with a row of coffeeshops that takes you to an alley of shops, delis, and more coffeeshops. Dam Square is walkable from Herengracht and from there you an walk to RLD, then end it in Damrack. With the hotel being close to Central Station, not only can you take a train to any parts of Europe, but shuttles to other parts of Holland, and canal tour boats to the rest of Amsterdam.

I would hightly reccomend getting the Medium Modern Hotel Room, although small, it was enough space for 2 people and 2 large luggages, good use of small furnishing, and comfortable/cozy stay in Amsterdam. Expedia has the best price for this hotel. Our room was in the top part of the hotel, the attic, since there was an extra set of stairs to get to the bedroom. The reception was great with a welcoming letter directed to the guest including a brown paper bag with soap, shampoo, and two types of water (sparkling and regular). The lobby is really comfortable and love the kitchen with the free coffee, espresso, cappucinno, tea, and water. The staff were so friendly, just like the rest of the people of Amsterdam. Now the negative, no elevator. Prior to my departure, this is what I reccomended when I filled out the review at check-out. If you look at the buildings of Amsterdam they are very narrow. Yes, the stairs were very narrow and after going up 3 floors to find another set, you gasp for more air. Hopefully one day they can build an elevator for guest to use to get to their floor.

Chic & Basic was a second choice from the Bellevue and was very glad this hotel was the winning choice. There is no doubt I would come back here again next time I go to Amsterdam based on the location, value, friendly staff, comfortable stay, and cutesy of it all. P.S. FREE WiFi! BON VOYAGE!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to chic&basic Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about chic&basic Amsterdam

Address: Herengracht 13-19, 1015 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly "Hotel New Amsterdam")
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — chic&basic Amsterdam 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your chic&basic Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic & Basic Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Chic And Basic Amsterdam
Chic Basic Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage chic&basic Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.