We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of chic&basic Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added chic&basic Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
chic&basic Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 13-19, 1015 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly "Hotel New Amsterdam")   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #199 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Sunderland
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Comfortable and good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I was in Amsterdam on business. Found this hotel to be in a great location and was a good price. As others have mentioned, the hotel is a short walking distance (10-15 minutes) to the central station and it is located right on the canal.

At the time I arrived, there was work being done on the hotel reception. It is a typical house in Amsterdam - thin, steep staircases, small rooms. Still, the rooms are clean and well decorated: i was impressed with the quality of the bathrooms. I didn't find any of this a problem as I had an overnight bag, mind if you've large luggage it might be more of a struggle. Didn't try the breakfast as I had to be up early - but there are plenty of places that you could eat nearby.

While I found the staff were helpful and the bed comfortable, I had a problem with the room with a lack of hot water: so more of an invigorating shower than I like. I could have also done with knowing that the builders who were working on the building were going to start at 05:45. I now understand this isn't unusual in the city centre but a heads up for guests would have been appreciated.

If you're travelling in March 2014 - might be worth a check.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    198
    76
    25
    20
See reviews for
28
238
45
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This hotel is great value for money. The decor is very good for a basic hotel and the location is very central.

I stayed here with my husband last valentines weekend and we had a lovely time due to the location. The downfall is that after a day walking/bike riding around the city, the last thing that we wanted was to hike up the multiple flights of stairs to get to our room.

Room Tip: Room 111 is very high and requires good fitness to get to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had a great stay at Chic and Basic in Amsterdam. It is located very close to the main train station (10-15 min walk) and only a short walk into the city centre / red light district etc. The room was clean, the bed was super comfortable and the bathroom was clean with a good high-pressure shower. Internet was free and the wifi connection was good in our room (ground floor). We also enjoyed the free tea/coffee and light breakfast. Would definitely recommend Chic and Basic Amsterdam for couples looking for an affordable stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I love this little hotel. it's got to be the best location in Amsterdam.

The hotel is what it says it is. Chic and Basic. What more could you want. I slept well, ate well and was looked after by some very friendly staff, who seemed to be happy to work there.

Do not expect a 4* hotel but you do get cleanliness and comfort.

Definitely a hotel to return to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We traveled to Amsterdam for part of our Honeymoon in October 2013 and found this hotel to be a great value. This hotel is walking distance to all the sights in central Amsterdam, and it is located right on the canal - very charming! The rooms were a bit small, but they were clean and well decorated. It is true that the staircases are very steep, but I believe that this is how most buildings are in Amsterdam. If you have large luggage or trouble climbing steps, you should call before booking to ensure that you can secure a room on a lower level. The breakfast was indeed very basic, but it was quite enough to get us going in the morning. The only drawback was that for web booking, I could request a canal view, and pay the highest price range just in case, (and i did mention it was our honeymoon) but there was no way to know beforehand what we would get. When we got there, in fact, there was not a canal front room available. Had I known, I would not have booked the highest price range. Since canal front rooms are such a premium in Amsterdam, it would be great if there was a separate category for this, so that guests could know for sure that their extra money was going to good use.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croatia, Split
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Location is the best in Amsterdam - Jordan, very quite and romantic and its very close to the central station just 5 min walking and to the Dam square 10 min walking. Its new, very modern with interesting interior design and well maintained. Bad was like sleeping on the cloud.
We payed little more for the room with view of the canals and it was worth every euro.
We stayed there in December and have to say that the Christmas decorations made it a warm and welcoming place. The staff appeared to be careful, friendly and very professional.
Breakfast is included in the price, its very basic, toast with butter and jam but enough to start a day. During the day we could have tea and coffee when ever we wish for free.

Great place to stay in Amsterdam for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We loved the hotel!

I booked a "vintage" room and I was a bit “worried" ‘cause on the website the specify that are smaller and with a really simply decoration, but the truth is that the room was just great, the decoration was the same seen in the pics gallery and it had a normal size: neither too large nor too small. If I have to find something negative, I would say that our room had no window, but neither has been a problem, nor expected to have canal views, as the rooms overlooking the canal are more expensive tad and we were traveling with budget.

Despite of being on the ground floor, next to the common area (room 001), the room was very quiet, we didn’t hear any noise from other guest.

If I have to find something negative, I would say that our room had no window, but it wasn’t a problem: we didn’t expected to have canal views, as the rooms overlooking the canal are a bit more expensive and we were traveling with budget.

The price in Booking is only accommodation, but they offer you a breakfast: toast and hot drinks. It's very basic, but it's the same we take at home, which suited us great. Also, the tea and coffee machine works 24 hours, we appreciate that.

Another thing we truly liked was the location, in the Jordaan district, just 5 minutes’ walk from the train station and really centric: you can walk basically everywhere (although Amsterdam can be visited by walk, as it is not very big).

Last but not least, I would like to congratulate the staff for the good service offered, especially the night shift guy (who speaks Spanish), although the girls in the afternoon and morning shift were great too and all the staff was very friendly at all times (including during the email conversation we had upon our arrival)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to chic&basic Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about chic&basic Amsterdam

Address: Herengracht 13-19, 1015 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly "Hotel New Amsterdam")
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — chic&basic Amsterdam 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your chic&basic Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic & Basic Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Chic And Basic Amsterdam
Chic Basic Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage chic&basic Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.