We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Max Brown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Max Brown Hotel to your Saves list
Max Brown Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 13-19, 1015 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly chic&basic Amsterdam)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #159 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Tadworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I love this little hotel. it's got to be the best location in Amsterdam.

The hotel is what it says it is. Chic and Basic. What more could you want. I slept well, ate well and was looked after by some very friendly staff, who seemed to be happy to work there.

Do not expect a 4* hotel but you do get cleanliness and comfort.

Definitely a hotel to return to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    217
    81
    25
    20
See reviews for
30
259
50
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We traveled to Amsterdam for part of our Honeymoon in October 2013 and found this hotel to be a great value. This hotel is walking distance to all the sights in central Amsterdam, and it is located right on the canal - very charming! The rooms were a bit small, but they were clean and well decorated. It is true that the staircases are very steep, but I believe that this is how most buildings are in Amsterdam. If you have large luggage or trouble climbing steps, you should call before booking to ensure that you can secure a room on a lower level. The breakfast was indeed very basic, but it was quite enough to get us going in the morning. The only drawback was that for web booking, I could request a canal view, and pay the highest price range just in case, (and i did mention it was our honeymoon) but there was no way to know beforehand what we would get. When we got there, in fact, there was not a canal front room available. Had I known, I would not have booked the highest price range. Since canal front rooms are such a premium in Amsterdam, it would be great if there was a separate category for this, so that guests could know for sure that their extra money was going to good use.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croatia, Split
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Location is the best in Amsterdam - Jordan, very quite and romantic and its very close to the central station just 5 min walking and to the Dam square 10 min walking. Its new, very modern with interesting interior design and well maintained. Bad was like sleeping on the cloud.
We payed little more for the room with view of the canals and it was worth every euro.
We stayed there in December and have to say that the Christmas decorations made it a warm and welcoming place. The staff appeared to be careful, friendly and very professional.
Breakfast is included in the price, its very basic, toast with butter and jam but enough to start a day. During the day we could have tea and coffee when ever we wish for free.

Great place to stay in Amsterdam for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We loved the hotel!

I booked a "vintage" room and I was a bit “worried" ‘cause on the website the specify that are smaller and with a really simply decoration, but the truth is that the room was just great, the decoration was the same seen in the pics gallery and it had a normal size: neither too large nor too small. If I have to find something negative, I would say that our room had no window, but neither has been a problem, nor expected to have canal views, as the rooms overlooking the canal are more expensive tad and we were traveling with budget.

Despite of being on the ground floor, next to the common area (room 001), the room was very quiet, we didn’t hear any noise from other guest.

If I have to find something negative, I would say that our room had no window, but it wasn’t a problem: we didn’t expected to have canal views, as the rooms overlooking the canal are a bit more expensive and we were traveling with budget.

The price in Booking is only accommodation, but they offer you a breakfast: toast and hot drinks. It's very basic, but it's the same we take at home, which suited us great. Also, the tea and coffee machine works 24 hours, we appreciate that.

Another thing we truly liked was the location, in the Jordaan district, just 5 minutes’ walk from the train station and really centric: you can walk basically everywhere (although Amsterdam can be visited by walk, as it is not very big).

Last but not least, I would like to congratulate the staff for the good service offered, especially the night shift guy (who speaks Spanish), although the girls in the afternoon and morning shift were great too and all the staff was very friendly at all times (including during the email conversation we had upon our arrival)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We booked this hotel for 3 nights and thought it was a good deal because we had heard nice things about other Chic & Basic hotels. Well… we were wrong. We arrived late in the evening and was not very pleased when we came in to our room. We had upgraded to get canal view, but the room was so tiny that we could´even enjoy the view. We decided though to give it a chance and stay. The bed was OK (a bit short though), but the bathroom was very inconvenient. No shower curtain, so that when we should take a shower, we had to take every towels and things out of the bathroom first - or else everything would get soaked.
There was only one chair in the room, but no table (not enough space for that).
The next morning we decided to move to another hotel, and checked out about 9.30. The receptionist called the manager who decided that we had to pay for the next night as well. If we had cancelled the night before and stayed only one night, we wouldn´t have had to pay for the second night, the receptionist told us. In other words: We shouldn´t have given the hotel a chance. Our blame, obviously…

We moved to another hotel with large and nice rooms, and had a wonderful weekend in Amsterdam. A bit more expensive, but definitely worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albania
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Location is superb - quiet street (canal) not far from the station, great view, if you got the room with the front view. Rooms are small, functionality is basic. No tables in the rooms at all. Shower is OK, heating works. So, if you there for the night or for the sightseeing / museums it is OK.
Their brekfast is just bread and jam, but coffee complimentary 24/7.

Room Tip: Ask for the canal looking room, probably it worth to pay more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Regardless of some of the bad reviews this hotel has received I'd have to give this one a two thumbs up. The rooms have an interesting and cozy decor, the beds were comfortable and the highlight was the bathroom located below the room itself. My friend and I were flying standby and had to go to and from the airport to the hotel three times and despite the fact we were checked out each morning, the front desk was courteous enough to allow us to make phone calls and even took messages from my mom overseas! Upon arriving back to the hotel they would also let us back in our room and eat breakfast at no additional cost. Thanks to the staff at C&B my friend and I caught a flight back without any further delays! Danke!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Max Brown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Max Brown Hotel

Address: Herengracht 13-19, 1015 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly chic&basic Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Max Brown Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Max Brown is gevestigd in drie monumentale Amsterdamse grachtenpanden met een 300-jaar oude gevel, op de hoek van Amsterdams meest beroemde grachten, de Herengracht en de Brouwersgracht. Je bent in Hipsterdam vanaf het moment dat je je incheckt bij de "ambassadors" van Amsterdam die achter de indrukwekkende bar staan. Je kan ervoor kiezen om direct naar je hippe kamer te gaan, maar natuurlijk kan je ook alvast even plaatsnemen aan de bar of onze social space om een drankje te doen met wat hapjes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Max Brown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic And Basic Amsterdam
Chic & Basic Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Chic Basic Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Max Brown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.