We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of chic&basic Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added chic&basic Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
chic&basic Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 13-19, 1015 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly "Hotel New Amsterdam")   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #194 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Croatia, Split
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Location is the best in Amsterdam - Jordan, very quite and romantic and its very close to the central station just 5 min walking and to the Dam square 10 min walking. Its new, very modern with interesting interior design and well maintained. Bad was like sleeping on the cloud.
We payed little more for the room with view of the canals and it was worth every euro.
We stayed there in December and have to say that the Christmas decorations made it a warm and welcoming place. The staff appeared to be careful, friendly and very professional.
Breakfast is included in the price, its very basic, toast with butter and jam but enough to start a day. During the day we could have tea and coffee when ever we wish for free.

Great place to stay in Amsterdam for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    199
    76
    25
    20
See reviews for
28
239
45
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We loved the hotel!

I booked a "vintage" room and I was a bit “worried" ‘cause on the website the specify that are smaller and with a really simply decoration, but the truth is that the room was just great, the decoration was the same seen in the pics gallery and it had a normal size: neither too large nor too small. If I have to find something negative, I would say that our room had no window, but neither has been a problem, nor expected to have canal views, as the rooms overlooking the canal are more expensive tad and we were traveling with budget.

Despite of being on the ground floor, next to the common area (room 001), the room was very quiet, we didn’t hear any noise from other guest.

If I have to find something negative, I would say that our room had no window, but it wasn’t a problem: we didn’t expected to have canal views, as the rooms overlooking the canal are a bit more expensive and we were traveling with budget.

The price in Booking is only accommodation, but they offer you a breakfast: toast and hot drinks. It's very basic, but it's the same we take at home, which suited us great. Also, the tea and coffee machine works 24 hours, we appreciate that.

Another thing we truly liked was the location, in the Jordaan district, just 5 minutes’ walk from the train station and really centric: you can walk basically everywhere (although Amsterdam can be visited by walk, as it is not very big).

Last but not least, I would like to congratulate the staff for the good service offered, especially the night shift guy (who speaks Spanish), although the girls in the afternoon and morning shift were great too and all the staff was very friendly at all times (including during the email conversation we had upon our arrival)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We booked this hotel for 3 nights and thought it was a good deal because we had heard nice things about other Chic & Basic hotels. Well… we were wrong. We arrived late in the evening and was not very pleased when we came in to our room. We had upgraded to get canal view, but the room was so tiny that we could´even enjoy the view. We decided though to give it a chance and stay. The bed was OK (a bit short though), but the bathroom was very inconvenient. No shower curtain, so that when we should take a shower, we had to take every towels and things out of the bathroom first - or else everything would get soaked.
There was only one chair in the room, but no table (not enough space for that).
The next morning we decided to move to another hotel, and checked out about 9.30. The receptionist called the manager who decided that we had to pay for the next night as well. If we had cancelled the night before and stayed only one night, we wouldn´t have had to pay for the second night, the receptionist told us. In other words: We shouldn´t have given the hotel a chance. Our blame, obviously…

We moved to another hotel with large and nice rooms, and had a wonderful weekend in Amsterdam. A bit more expensive, but definitely worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albania
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Location is superb - quiet street (canal) not far from the station, great view, if you got the room with the front view. Rooms are small, functionality is basic. No tables in the rooms at all. Shower is OK, heating works. So, if you there for the night or for the sightseeing / museums it is OK.
Their brekfast is just bread and jam, but coffee complimentary 24/7.

Room Tip: Ask for the canal looking room, probably it worth to pay more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Regardless of some of the bad reviews this hotel has received I'd have to give this one a two thumbs up. The rooms have an interesting and cozy decor, the beds were comfortable and the highlight was the bathroom located below the room itself. My friend and I were flying standby and had to go to and from the airport to the hotel three times and despite the fact we were checked out each morning, the front desk was courteous enough to allow us to make phone calls and even took messages from my mom overseas! Upon arriving back to the hotel they would also let us back in our room and eat breakfast at no additional cost. Thanks to the staff at C&B my friend and I caught a flight back without any further delays! Danke!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UCCLE
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Nice and not too expensive hotel in the center of Amsterdam, in a walking distance of all the attractions..
Rooms are decorated with style.
Breakfast is included, though it's only coffee and bread. That's the only down of the place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in November. The reception and overall look of the room when we went in was really good. On first going into the room, having the bathroom down a small flight of spiral stairs was a quirky plus point. But in reality, this was not very good! The stairs too tight and the bathroom ceiling was really low. I'm 5foot 7 and had to crouch to get under the shower.
The breakfast included was toast and coffee/tea. Nothing special.
We stayed in room 201 so if you're tall, have difficulty walking or dont like tight spaces then i would suggest getting a different room. But dont have 003 as this is right next to the stairs to all other rooms and i imagine that this is really loud of a night time.The rooms were quite whilst sleeping but as soon as someone walked by the door it was really noisey. And the room wasvery hot! We couldn't open the window and the tv didnt work (but to be honest they would have sorted that if we had mentioned it)

Overall it was an ok stay, nothing really to shout about. Couple of minutes walk from the central station and the main places of interest. Average hotel.

Room Tip: Ensure you ask for a room up at least one flight of stairs as the lower levels are very noisy when p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to chic&basic Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about chic&basic Amsterdam

Address: Herengracht 13-19, 1015 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly "Hotel New Amsterdam")
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — chic&basic Amsterdam 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your chic&basic Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic & Basic Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Chic And Basic Amsterdam
Chic Basic Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage chic&basic Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.